RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 7, 2010

Redeemed!

Posted on

Verse of the Day:  

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 

- 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 

First off, please say a prayer for Kath & her family this morning.  Last night, her grandma passed away.  

Secondly, I’d like to announce that I’ve been redeemed!  Thank you for all your suggestions about cameras on yesterday’s post!  I’ve aprreciated all the help!  For now, I will be using my Dad’s ancient digital that he bought in 2003?  Nothing spiffy, but it’ll do the trick until I get this baby in the mail somewhere around the 13th! 

Nikon Coolpix

I was going to get the camera JB recommended the (Canon digital elph 1200), because her pictures ALWAYS turn out fantastic and I trust her opinion, but this camera was on a great sale at Walmart!  From $180 down to $137!  I couldn’t find the Canon for less than $150, and the Nikon actually has 5x optical zoom as opposed to the 3x optical zoom of the Canon.  Don’t worry, I did my research ;)  The other stats are mostly the same

Now, onto the eats! 

Another SOC.

Calibowls are where it’s at, baby!Finished off with the rest of the smoothie.

all together.

Same recipe as yesterday :)  It’s so thick and creamy, I just can’t pass it up as an option in the mornings!  Not to mention, the 33g fiber and 26g protein!  All for just 250 calories, 2g fat (0.5g saturated). Optimum Nutrition & Fiber Select make a pretty sweet team!

I ran out over my lunch break before I bought my camera online to make sure I liked what I saw at Target (Walmart’s was cheaper) and then ate lunch at my desk when I returned.

Veggie tub, Flat Out Light in a snackTAXI transporter, Sonoma Jacks, & a Gardenburger veggie patty.

In the mix of veggies, I had some broccoli, cherry tomato, yellow pepper, carrots, and cucumber fries on the bottom!

snackTAXIs rock.

I loveeeee the Gardenburger Garden Vegan patties.  They are seriously some of the best.  Love the chunks of  cooked brown rice, onions, and mushrooms in the blend!  They’ve only got 80 calories, 1g of fat, but 9g protein! Thanks so much for sending me coupons, Gardenburger!

After work, I went home to change and head to the gym. I had missed my date with the elliptical for my daily cardio workout two days in a row!  (Dad’s birthday & Dad’s birthday dinner)  I guess the first day wasn’t so bad since I did get a lil bit of biking in, but it sure felt good to get back into my routine!

Before I left, I had this carby protein snack to fuel me up.

Oikos + cinnamon&sfsyrup along side a crunchy gala.

The workout was splendid, and went by quicker than I remember.  I went about 8.5 miles in an hour, burning about 700 calories.  I felt a little off though because in the cardio area, where the tvs are, I always get to watch TBS in the time slot when “King of Queens” & “Friends” is on while I get down to business.  This time, however, “Friends” was just ending and “The Office” (LAME!) was coming on?  It was the same time frame as usual, so I don’t know what the change was?  Weird, though.  Not a fan of “The Office”, sorry!

Anyway, I made a quick pit stop at the grocery store on my way home, because I wanted to do an experiment when I got home :)

the goods.

I got some more greek yogurt, some produce (bell peppers, broccoli, a persian cucumber, gala apples, & cherry tomatoes), Fiber Select, Light Flat Outs, SFApricot jam, frozen veggies (spinach for green monsters!), and a microwavable sweet tater.

THIS is when the magic happened.  I had always been curious about Crazy Camel dessert hummus, but since I’ve been trying to avoid buying it online, I figured I’d try my luck at making it myself!  With the help of these ingredients

Hershey’s Cocoa Powder – Special Dark

+

Generic Splenda packets galore

 &

Chickpeas

a beautiful food baby was born:

success!

I named her triple chocolate fudge dessert hummus, freckled foodie style ;)

Here’s the recipe!  Totally SIMPLE!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. Special Dark cocoa powder
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • Splenda to taste (I used about 8 packets)

Directions: Blend all together in a mini food proccessor or blender & enjoy!

It honestly tastes JUST like brownie batter I kid you not.

Along with my fudge for dinner, I had some steamed broccoli with reduced sugar ketchup:

what a pair. Christmas colors!

and I used my light flat outs for a little apricot jam wrap.

nom.

and thennn I packed my lunch & made some dessert:

Spinach + frozen fruit + Diet V8.

To be enjoyed while watching Final Destination after my shower.

Don’t forget Sunday is MOTHER’S DAY!!  What are you all doing for your Mommas?  I’m still at a loss, so help a sister out ;)

Usually, my sisters and I wake up early to make her breakfast in bed and have gifts for her.  This year, I’m not sure what to buy!!! HelP!

Happy Friday!

XO,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers