RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 12, 2010

Ole Ray’s Sauces!

Posted on

Lots of thanks to the awesome folks at Ole Ray’s sauces for sending me some of their Gourmet Sauces & Seasonings to review for you guys!  Ray & Susan have been in the “sauce” business for about six years now, creating award-winning blends, which are eaten all over the US!

First Place at the National BBQ Fest in 2006!

I got to try all of the BBQ varieties, including the newest addition to the Ole Ray’s family, Apple Bourbon Sauce, which is very quite possibly my favorite!! 

Along with the Apple Bourbon, they make Apple Cinnamon Barbeque Sauce, Kentucky Gold Bourbon, Kentucky Red Bourbon, Peach-a-licious Barbeque Sauce, Pork-o-licious Barbeque Sauce, Classic Gold Barbecue & Cooking Sauce, and Blackberry Wine Barbecue & Cooking Sauce.  They also sell a dry rub and marinade! Each one has won SOME type of award

These tasty, lip-smacking condiments are absolutely fantastic for grilling, marinating, or dipping!  The apple varieties had a cinnamony sweetness to them that was subtle, not overwhelming, with a perfect balance of smoky-tasting old-fashioned barbeque.  The taste rocked my socks off! 

The Blackberry Wine Barbeque sauce was another fave of mine!  The fruity twist made it truly unique!  Like a mix between Balsamic Raspberry Vinegar & BBQ sauce!  I could NOT get enough of this stuff on my plate! 

Personally, I like my BBQ sauces best with chicken, but I can only imagine how much they would spice up things like pulled pork, baked beans, beef brisket, and glazed ham!  MMmmmm. 

Be sure to check out their website to see all the ways you can get creative with Ole Ray’s sauces!  This man is totally talented!  You can even order a bottle or two online so you can experience the BLAST of flavor for yourself!  :)

 

It’s here, it’s here!

Posted on

Verse of the DAY:

“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:”

- Proverbs 31:10, 27-28

Imagine my excitement when I came home to find my camera had come in the mail!!!  I went a little crazy experimenting with all the different settings, but was a little limited on time, considering I had THIS beast of a mess to tackle when I got home from work.

transition from winter/cold to spring/warm clothes!

See, when I do “spring cleaning” in my bedroom, it’s an all or nothing kind of thing.  Something that rarely gets completely finished in just one night.

I tore EVERYthing out of my closet in order to re-arrange.

Tooooo many sweaters, coats, and winter goods taking up precious closet space!

I was pretty proud of the result, but it still isn’t quite finished. 

clean closet! you can see the floor.

 There’s a lot of organizing to be done.  Anyone have suggestions what they do with their shoes to keep them out of the way, but in an organized manner that makes them easily accessible??

Anyway, for dinner, I whipped up some veggies & shiritaki noodles.

veggies & noodles.

I’m not sure how the amazing shiritaki noodles manage to contain just 40 calories per package, but I’m not complaining, that’s for sure!  I melted in a Sonoma Jack’s cheese wedge & topped it off with 1 tbsp. nutritional yeast powder

yeasty. haha.

The veggies were just steamed in the microwave.  In the mix, there’s green beans, broccoli, red pepper, onions, and mushrooms.  The sauce I used for veggie dipping was just some reduced sodium soy sauce mixed with SF syrup & chili powder.

steamfreshh.

OH!  Before I forget, I wanted to show you what I got to play with on Sunday night that I forgot about until I was browsing through my pictures:

we just met.

 I was a little shy when she first started snuggling up to me, but eventually we became friends :)

her name is Lucy.

She was a Ball Python, named Lucy after Lucille Ball…get it?

Anyway, back to the story…

After dinner, I got changed from my grunge cleaning clothes into my jeans & a cute black top to go to the little sister’s band concert at our high school.  She can’t wait to quit band.  She’s getting to the point where the only people in band are “losers” and she swears this was her last year, even though my parents would tell you differently. 

Isn’t she a cutie?

she plays the flute!

She looks entirely too grown up to be 13 years old though, am I right?  I don’t like it.  Not one bit. 

cutest out of the bunch! maybe I'm bias...

Post concert, I went home to a basement full of college kids.  My sister was supposed to be having a campfire at our house before she left for Regionals with the Messiah Softball team, but decided against it since the weather wasn’t really cooperative.  I didn’t want to crash the party, so I kept my distance, finishing up cleaning my room & packing my lunch for today.

I love how easy this Easy Lunch Box System is! Don’t forget to enter my giveaway to win your very own!

veggies, fat free hot dogs, homemade honey mustard & a flat out with sonoma jacks. TYPICAL.

Okay, so maybe my lunch is getting a little redundant…but I LOVE it and look forward to it everyday at my desk…I know I need to start mixing it up, but it’s got the perfect balance of veggies, protein, whole grains, and low fat dairy :)  It’s a hard habit to kick!  I guess it could be worse?!

Lemme break it down:

packed!

Veggies: Broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, cucumber, yellow pepper, cherry tomato.

Protein: 97% Fat Free Hebrew National hot dogs (2 @ 40 calories each & 6g protein, 1g fat)

Whole Grains: Light Flat Out (90 calories, 9g fiber, 9g protein, 2.5g fat)

Low Fat Dairy: Sonoma Jack’s Cheese (25 calories, 1.5g fat, 2g protein)

Dip: 1/8C. SF syrup (10 calories, 0g fat) + French’s mustard (0 calories, 0g fat)

Totals? Approx. 300 calories, 6g fat, 23g protein, 15g fiber

You don’t mess with perfection, folks ;)

I did miss my workout tonight, but I’ll bet I burned some calories running around like a mad person trying to finish my room!  Oh, and I also did 3 sets of 30 “in-and-outs” for my abs, which isn’t much but something is better than nothing, correct?

I treated myself to a Green Monster in a bowl before bed for a job well done.

spinach, diet v8 splash, & some frozen cantaloupe, honeydew, & peaches.

In the words of porky pig….

That’s all, folks!
XO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers