RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 14, 2010

French Meadow Bakery Celebrates National Celiac Awareness Month!

Posted on

As you may remember, French Meadow Bakery has been one of my favorites from the first time I got the chance to review their products.  In celebration of May, the National Celiac Awareness Month,  Mary and French Meadow sent me some of their fantastic gluten-free products to try out!

 According to the Mayo Clinic, 1 in every 100 people is living with Celiac Disease, 97% of whom will go undiagnosed.  Celiac Disease is a lifelong, digestive disorder that affects both children and adults.  French Meadow Bakery knows that it can be a challenge to find foods that are gluten-free in order to avoid the pains of the disease, let alone foods that are gluten-free AND enjoyable.  As an internationally recognized, gold-standard provider in the gluten-free industry, they’ve created lots of yummy treats to help provide easy options to incorporate into gluten-free diets!  

Gluten-Free Cakes

Gluten-Free Cakes

You’ve got TONS of choices!  They’ve created Gluten-Free Breads, Gluten-Free Italian Rolls, Gluten-Free Pizza Crusts, and Gluten-Free Baked Goods (Muffins, Cakes, Cupcakes, and Brownies!).  I got to trythe Gluten-Free Blueberry Muffins & the Gluten-Free Tortillas!

Muffins!

 

Neither of these two products was gluten-free detectable

The muffins were completely moist and delectable, also being peanut & lactose free!.  Bursting with flavor, the muffins were sweet, flavorful and fruity with a tender, fluffy center.    

Not bad stats for a muffin, either!

These babies are great crumbled ontop of your morning oats for a little indulgence ;)

The Gluten-Free Tortillas are SO good, you won’t even miss the wheat.  I’ve already used a few of mine to create some cinnamon sugar pita chips!  Just slice them up in triangular shapes, spray a non-stick baking sheet with some cooking spray, place the shapes on the sheet, re-spray, and sprinkle with cinnamon & splenda before baking for about 7-10 minutes at 350°!

They’re made with rice flour, so they manage to maintain their chewiness if you don’t decide to bake them!  You can use them any of the same ways that you would other tortillas!  They make perfect quesedillas, breakfast burritos, and wraps!  With ZERO grams trans fat! :)

Thanks so much, French Meadow Bakery for making options like these available for those of us living a gluten-free lifestyle!  You make it possible for people to STILL be able to enjoy their favorite foods while maintaining their health!

In addition to all this excitement, French Meadow Bakery has launched a

RECIPE CONTEST 

for a few lucky winners to receive some free products!  The contest, ending on May 31st, will be held on www.FrenchMeadow.com starting the first week in May.  Contestants are encouraged to enter two categories, sweet and savory, and two grand prizes and two 1st place prizes will be awarded.  Grand prize winners will receive a one-year supply of French Meadow gluten-free items as well as a $250 grocery gift card.  First place runner-ups will receive a $100 grocery gift card.  All contestants will receive a one-time use promotion code good for $5 off any FrenchMeadow.com purchase.

The Good Old Days.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

- Psalm 139:13-14

Anyone else out there find it completely incredible that the God of the Universe knows EVERY LITTLE THING about each of us, personally?  From how many hairs are on our head to our deepest, darkest secret!  The MOST amazing part of it all, is that he STILL loves us more than life itself.  Imperfections and all.  If that isn’t a humbling thought, I don’t know what is.  I just love starting my day out with a verse and devotional! 

Anyway, I was thinking the other day about how structured and mundane my everyday routine can be.  I was thinking about how in the younger years, our worries, fears and goals were so much different. 

For breakfast as a kid I would’ve had this:

toaster strudel!

[source]

That’s right, as a kid you don’t think about the crazy amounts of sugar, fat, and proccessed stuff in your food, you just eat what tastes good!  Icing and all ;)  Typically it was raspberry or blueberry goo on the inside!  The cream cheese ones were pretty delish, too.

Nowadays, things are much different!  I fuel my body with a healthy balance of protein & carbs in the morning for optimum nutritional value.

Here was my REAL breakfast!

SOC

Smoothies over cereal are SOO much more satisfying than typical milk and cereal.  Could it be the 25g of additional protein?  I think, maybe.  All you do is mix some Optimum Nutrition protein powder with a lil’ bit of ice + water + frozen fruit and blend until creamy.  Milkshake for breakfast, anyone?

Backstreet Boys

[source]

On the way to school work,  I jammed out to Backstreet Boys, Dream Street, N’Sync, and Britty Spears  Newsboys, Audio Adrenaline, Needtobreathe, and 33Miles while riding the bus driving.

33Miles

[source]

Around 12 PM came lunch.  

Lunchables!

[source]

These babies are an old favorite, which were considered “special treat” lunches, growing up.  Little did I know that the 330 calories in these measly lunches (with absolutely NO veggies), packed a whopping 19g fat (9g saturated!), 1100mg sodium (47%DV) and 65mg of cholesterol(22%DV)! 

NO more of that preservative packed crap for me!  These days, lunches are much more colorful & bright :)

taste the rainbowww.

Cucumber, yellow pepper, carrots, cherry tomato, broccoli, & cauliflower for the veggie power.   Homemade honeymustard with just sugar free syrup & mustard (10 calories, 0g fat, 0g sugar) for dipping, Hebrew National 97% FF hot dogs (2 @ 40 calories, 1g fat, 6g protein each), and a Light Flatout with Sonoma Jack’s cheese wedge packed with fiber and WHOLE grains.  It’s SOO much more food, too.  Completely satisfying ;)

After school work, I made my way home to have a snack

oreos & milk.

I really wanted to show a picture of Dunkaroo’s or those Cracker packs with the spreadable cheese & red stick, but I couldn’t find one!  Usually these snacks were consume while watching one of the following: Doug, Cat Dog, Saved by the Bell, or Fresh Prince ;)

Now this is a story all about how my life got flip-turned upside-down and I'd like to take a minute, just sit right there, I'll tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel-Air ;)

Needless to say, oreos and milk haven’t been on the menu for a longggg time.  Now, it looks a little more like this:

apple crisp!

A microwaved, diced apple drizzled with SF syrup & cinnamon.

anddddd maybe some of this:

Oikos + sf syrup & cinnamon.

Much more balanced & filling!! 

Annndddd my TV shows of choice have been King of Queens, Friends, and Ellen since it’s they’re always  on when I hit the gym after work in the cardio room.

I'll be there for youuuuu....

[source]

After spending an hour & 5 min. on the elliptical running about 8.7 miles, with levels from 7-10 (the everyday routine!), I burned about 710 calories and my heart rate was niccee and elevated.  I left the tv room and found a comfy spot on the floor (mat involved), and did some “Superman” holds (3 @ 1 min. each), in-and-outs (3 sets of 30), and planks/pushups.

I downed about 3- 16.9oz. water bottles while at the gym.  One thing I never have trouble with is getting in the recommended amount of water per day.  I drink two 33.8oz of Clear Splash (zero calorie sparkling water) at my desk during the day.  I’m pretty much a camel.

Dinner back in the day was almost ALWAYS some type of pasta or cheesy casserole. 

Sketties.

Momma FF always used to tell us she could eat pasta everyday for the rest of her life at dinner time and be a happy lady!  I rarely eat, or crave pasta anymore.  But, when I do, it’s gotta be Fiber Gourmet, which is pretty much ahhhhmazing.

For some reason, come dinner time I have been craving steamed broccoli lately!  I don’t know why, but it has to be the FRESH instead of the steamfresh frozen baggies.  Maybe I’m low on Iron?  And reduced sugar ketchup is a MUST.  Along with some nutritional yeast.

course #1.

And then I needed some protein to restore those muscles from the gym sesh, so I mixed together a can of light tuna, some homemade honey mustard, some fresh chopped veggies (cucumber, carrot, cherry tomatoes, orange pepper) and created some TUNA SALAD.

YUM!

It really hit the spot!

After doing the dishes, packing my lunch, and grabbing a shower (none of which I did as a child…okayy….maybe showering…but only every few days ;) haha.  I was more a fan of bubble baths (which I should re-introduce to my routine!)) I facebooked, watched CSI with my Momma and sipped on this protein shake for my dessert.

bubblyyyyy.

1 scoop Optimum Nutrition cake batter protein powder + ice + water + 4 frozen strawberries

As opposed to the classic bowl of chocolate marshmellow ice cream (probably about 2 servings!) that I used to eat as a kid.

ohh, the old days...

[source]

Just a sugar crash waiting to happen!  No thanks!  I’ll take my protein shake anyday.

What was YOUR favorite TV show as a kid?  Probably TGIF!  I loved Boy Meets World, Sabrina The Teenage Witch, and Step by Step!

Favorite childhood snack? I LOVEEEED Dunkaroo’s & Fruit by the Foot!

Happy Friday!  Today is the last day to use your coupon (GOLDTEA) for 25% off Golden Moon Tea in my shop!!

ALSO!  My giveaway of Easy Lunch Boxes will end on Monday!  Have you entered yet?!  Another awesome giveaway going on comes from IGE!  Wanna win some HEALTHIFIED Cinnamon Toast Crunch?

 

XO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers