RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 17, 2010

Adventures Of My Weekend Part III + Giveaway Winner!

Posted on

Soooo you’re catching up on your blog reading and wondering when the heck I’m going to announce the winner of the AWESOME Easy Lunch Box giveaway, right?!? Well….juuuuust be patient :)  While we’re on topic, speaking of giveawaysss, check out this yummy preserves giveaway over at Michelle’s Lucky Taste Buds!

Sunday morning started out on the right foot with my go-to breakfast of an SOC (smoothie over cereal)

in one of my fave Zak Designs bowls.

 Completely satisfying.  After breakfast, it was time ot leave for church with my family.  The sermon was really good, actually.  We broke down the verse in the comandment in the Bible not to use the Lord’s name in vain.  Our pastor brought it to our attention that the verse not only is refering to our speech, but also our lifestyles.  If we call ourselves Christians, we are to set an example of how Christ wants us to act for others.  We should practice what we preach, because if we don’t, we bring shame to His name.  

After church, around 12PM, I snacked on another light string cheese & an apple before the main course!  We were having yet another family gathering at our house for THIS cutie’s birthday:

Trey

 When everyone got there and we settled in, prayed, and socialized a bit, it was time to dig into lunch!  Menu for them?  Mashed potatoes, roast beef, corn, and stuffing.  Menu for me?  Salad, hard boiled eggs, & a light flat out spread with SF apricot preserves

salad plate!

The rest of the day, I basically grazed and snacked the rest of the day.  While the family enjoyed the cake & ice cream, I snacked on watermelon

H2O Melon.

 Tottttttally juicy & refreshing!

Later on I also had some SF Strawberry Jello.  An entire bowl, actually ;)

J-E-LL-OOOO.

We had blast outside and thoroughly enjoyed the BEAUTIFUL weather.  It was a bit breezy, but sunshiney and bright! I was on a mission to get a tan ;)

Later in the night, I had some of my SF vanilla ice cream & another salad like the one pictured above!  Handfuls of veggies from this array were eaten throughout the day, too.  Sans dip, of course.

Cukes are my fave :)

After a long day, most of the family left, we cleaned up, and I packed my lunch for Monday.

Then, my bestie, who recently found out she is PREGO, called me for a maternity clothing fashion show at her house :)  There were a bunch of yard-sale items that her Mom wanted her to go through.  We had a blast weeding out all the “NO-way’s” and the “ICk!’s” and finding some “hidden treasures” that she would soon be able to wear with her growing belly!  It was a perfect way to end my night.  Lots of laughs were had.  I really miss times like that with her!

Now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for….

The lucky winner of the Easy Lunch Box issssss…

SUSAN!

Congratulations, girl!  Please email me your address & phone number at freckledfoodielove@gmail.com so I can hook you up with your Easy Lunch Box! :)

Adventures From The Weekend Part II

Posted on

Saturday morning, I was feeling really ambitious at the gym.  I ran 11 miles on the elliptical and did extra sets of each of my floor work exercises.  Must’ve been the CHOCOLATE I ate for breakfast ;)  These awesome Chocolate Cashews fueled me through an AWESOME workout. 

Chocolate YumNuts.

I had about 1.5 servings and a handful of Not Sweet Galaxy Granola before I left. 

Instead of 3 sets of each, I did 4 :) 

  • 1-minute “Supermans”
  • 30 in-and-outs
  • 1 minute planks
  • 30 mountain climbers
  • 12 sit ups to each side on the incline bench (totaled 144)

Afterward, I headed home to shower & get ready for the day. 

By the time I was finished tidying up, I was starvin’ marvin.  I threw together this delish bowl of veggies, because I was craving something crisp & fresh.

crunch, crunch.

How gorgeous are the colors?  Yeah, I think my new camera can stay ;)  Along with my salad, I chowed down on a light string cheese.   It didn’t last long, as you can see.

cheesy.

I also wanted to make sure I ate some protein & whole grains with my meal, so I blended up a delish protein shake to make an SOC.

SOC.

This held me over for a longgggg time.  I went to get some goods with the Momma in the city that we needed for a birthday party for my cousin on Sunday.  We did a little shopping at The Children’s Place because that’s where he gets alll his clothes.   We found this outfit for him, which we thought would be perfect for the beach trip we take together as a hugeeeee family.

How shmexy is this outfit for a little man?!

And then Momma FF & I hit NY&C because she wanted some sunglasses and, well, I can shop ANYTIME, anywhere ;) She found some chic shades and I came to the register with a nice summer maxi dress, which is gold/mustard colored with embellishment on the scoop neckline.  Unfortunately I was too dumb to snap a photo, but I will if ya’ll wanna see it!

We had to get back pretty quickly because we were headed to a friend’s house for dinner!  The rest of the night was spent catching up with old friends from church, drinking coffee, laughing, and just enjoying one another’s company.

 

Adventures From The Weekend Part I.

Posted on
Friday was an exciting day as far as purchases.  My boss and I walked to the Farmer’s Market from our office during break, and I picked up awesome little guy:
Mini Garden

The mini garden came complete with six little sections: 2 cucumber, 2 tomato, 1 green pepper, and 1 eggplant!  I am SO excited to start growing my own produce!  I hope it worksAny tips on starting a mini garden?  How soon do I need to plant them?  How often do I water them?  I’m going to do some research today.

Andddddddd some of this!

Whole Wheat Flour!

I really wanted to try my hand at making these protein pancakes that I’ve been drooling over on Julie’s blog for weeks now.

The recipe:

  • 2 tbsp. ww flour
  • 1/2 scoop whey protein powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 egg whites
  • cinnamon to taste

Stats from The Daily Plate.

Anyway…when I got home from work, I had a Greek yogurt mixed with Walden Farms cal. free chocolate syrup for a snack:

snacky.

It was the night of LSFF’s (little sister freckled foodie’sfirst semi-formal dance in honor of the 8th graders to be leaving for high school when they come back from summer vaca.  She was super pumped and looked adorable!  Before she got ready, she ate some dancing fuel

Spaghetti, of course!

Then she got dressed while I freaked out about how old she looked…She also raided my jewelry box for some sparkly stuff.  What are sisters for, right? ;)

Do they not look WAY too old to be in 7th grade?! (Soon to by 8th!)

Anyway, I had this for dinner:

Veggies galore.

Steamed broccoli with reduced sugar ketchup & a raw veggie plate with sugar snap peas, orange bell pepper, cauliflower, and some green beans with homemade honeymustard for dipping.

Then MFF & I left for our “date night” together.  We went to see “Letters To Juliet” at the movie theater.

[source]

Super cute movie.  Especially for a night out with the Momma. 

When we got back, allllll of the seester’s friends were occupying the basement.  It got a little crazy (I’m pretty sure they were all amped up on some of that purple Mountain Dew), and I tried to get some sleep!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers