RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 20, 2010

The blob.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus, so that with one heart and mouth you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

- Romans 15:5-6

Starting my day off with a word from God is the best way I can think of.  I also LOVE my daily devotional book, “Experiencing God Day By Day” by Henry Blackaby, which keeps my focus where it needs to be in my relationship with Him.  Anyone have a great devotional book that they’d like to share?  I’m in the market for a new one, seeing as how I’m almost through my current one!  Another thing I find pretty cool, is that I never get rid of my devotional books, even the ones I used as a teenager.  It amazes me that you can go through the book years later and get something new from it each time, because you’re going through different situations at different ages, yet it’s all relevant to what you read.  God is just amazing that way.

Another great way to start off your day, is with a bowl of cereal & “protein milk”, which is my next topic of choice ;)

look a bit different to you?

So, I learned something yesterday morning.  1 whole TBSP.  is entirely too much xanthan gum to add to a protein shake if you want to use it for more than just a gummy blob on top of your cereal.  As thankful as I am to JB for sending me this stuff, I probably should’ve done a little research or asked her how to use it before experimenting.  Then again, failure leads to learning too, right?

I didn’t have time to try again, so I ate it this way, regardless.  I’m thinking I should blend the protein smoothie with just water, ice, & powder and then afterward, add the gum?  Whatcha think?

Lunch was much more successful (yet, much more boring), however.  Tuna and veggies and flat outs, oh my!  [name that movie]

the goods.

Protein? Check.  Whole grains? Check.  Vegetables? Check.  Low-fat dairy? Check. 

I also packed up the last of my batch of iced Caftea birthday bake coffee to accompany my lunch.  This photo makes me wonder what I did before Easy Lunch Boxes entered my life.  :)

After work, I moseyed on home to change into my workout clothes, grab a snack, and hit the gym.

carbs & proteins are bffs.

I choose to fuel my workouts with caramel apples aka sf syrup + cinnamon + oikos smothering my gala.  Which this gal says is a good thing!  Say no to fats before a workout & yes to carbs + protein :D

The workout went like this:

  •  67 minutes on the elliptical trainer @ levels 7-9 [715 calories]

while I watched a special on interpreting dreams, what certain facial features mean, & astrology reading. I don’t believe in any of it, but it was interesting to see what the people had to say. 

[source]

  • 3 sets of 25 hip abductors (115 lbs.)
  • 3 sets of 25 hip adductors (90 lbs.)
  • 3 sets of 1 min. Supermans
  • 3 sets of 30 in-and-outs
  • 3 sets of 15 & 1 set of 12 sit-ups to each side on the incline bench
    (total: 171)
  • 3 sets of 20 lat pull downs (45 lbs.)
  • 3 sets of 30 mountain climbers

I felt fairly accomplished when I left!  I went hard because I knew I’d be taking a rest day today, so my body would have plenty of recovery time.  Maybe I’ll do a bit of light biking tonight, but that’s about it.

When I got home, I got to work on dinner, which was inspired by none other than, JB!  Haha.  I bet you can’t tell I lovee Meals & Moves ;) Sucks she’s the whole way in Utah! Speaking of some of my favorite blogs, Danica has decided to giveaway her $60 shopping spree at CSN STORES!  Check it out! 

Anyway, I combined 1/2 C. egg whites, 1 tsp. fajita seasoning (I didn’t have taco), minced onion, and hot sauce in a skillet on the stovetop until cooked through while I steamed some broccoli slaw in the microwave.  I also added some salsa & ff cottage cheese to the pan when the eggs were almost finished cooking!

For the grand finale, I threw a can of chickpeas into my blender & added 2 tbsp. (35 calories) of Light Italian dressing to the mix.  I spooned a little of the mixture onto my egg mixture for some added flavor!

This dinner was freaking yummy.  But by the end of the bowl, I was ready for course #2.  Guess that’s what a hard workout does to ya ;)

cereal & protein milk.

I just rinsed out my bowl and pretty immediately filled it with 3/4 C. Fiber Select.  Washed my blender cup from the chickpea mix & inserted water, ice, & protein powder :)

I was finally satisfied after all that.  I showered, packed lunch, and helped the Momma clean up after the softball picnic she was having in the garage.  At about 9:30, I sat down to watch Coach Carter and have dessert.

 

chocolate covered strawberries.

 

Pretty sure chocolate is the best way to end a night.  Not to mention, guilt-free chocolate. 

 

Walden Farms Calorie Free Chocolate Syrup is a neccesity in the FF pantry.  You can stop drooling now. 

Tomorrow is already Friday!  Can you believe it!!?   Plans tonight include the Robin Hood movie with friends & a cousin’s baseball game!  Anything interesting on your agenda?

XO.

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers