RSS Feed

Daily Archives: May 24, 2010

Lighter Living Probiotic Bars

Posted on

Another exciting product as recently entered my shop!  These yummy, snack-sized Lighter Living bars are perfectly filling, and packed with an incredible 7.5 billion CFU of probiotics !  Incase you haven’t read “Probiotics for Dummies” yet, these guys will “boost our bodies’ immunity optimizing the absorption of nutrients that feed our cells and help us to eliminate unwanted toxins.”

I am a fan of date based bars like these because they’re usually naturally sweet and keep me full for awhile due to the fiber!  In addition to the dates, these bars are made with organic apples & walnuts as well, drizzled with a lightly sweetened organic yogurt coating.

I’ve also been known to eat a ridiculous amount of sodium in a day, which is why I was glad to see that these bars only have 15g of the stuff!  Like I said, they’ve got a respectable 9g of fiber, too!  They’re a great way to get a serving of fruit in, on the run!

The three flavors are all fabulous: Chocolate, Lemon Poppyseed, & Apricot Coconut.  I’ve found that I really love to eat these after my meal when my sweet tooth starts yelling at me, “I NEED DESSERT”.  The chocolate more than sufficed and shut up that sweet tooth pretty quickly ;) 

The only vary in nutritionals from the chocolate was the Lemon Poppyseed, which only contained 130 calories

Get yourself a 15-pack in my shop!  You won’t regret it, and your belly will thank you ;)

Garlic Gold Nuggets

Posted on

Thanks to Seven Oaks Ranch, and Garlic Gold, I’ve found my new favorite condiment  :) They were added to MY SHOP immediately after trying them. 

Original Organic.

These organic, hand-craftedcrunchy delights are PERFECT for enhancing the flavors in just about any dish.  They come in a variety of four different flavors: Sea Salt, Original, Parmesan, and Italian Herb.  These little 2.1oz magical shakers completely bring to life dull vegetables, and anything else you can imagine.  The robust, rich garlicky taste compliments meats and breads as well! 

Parmesan.

From the moment I saw them on Kath’s blog, I knew I had to try them.  What can I say?  The girl has got impeccable taste! ;) They are so versatile.  The toasted little gems are almost BUTTERY tasting.

Italian Herb.

Try them on roasted veggies, in place of croutons on your favorite salad, on your homemade kale chips, in some cauliflower/potato mash, or even on pizza & sushi!

Sea Salt.

It’s amazing how something so tiny can add SO much flavor.  And seriously, what better nutritional facts could you ask for? There’s a mere 10 calories & 1g fat, .5g protein per tsp. (due to the toasting in extra virgin olive oil).

The best part?  They’re available in a four pack in my shop!

Tip Top Weekend.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.”

- Romans 12:10  

For once, the weekend didn’t feel as if the time flew by.  There was ample time to relax, balanced out with equal time to work out and enjoy fitness.  Lemme give you the low down on some highlights! Friday night started out perfectly when I tried out these babies, that the company sent me, after I got home from the gym:

1. SeaPak Salmon Burgers!

Salmon Burgers

[source]

Holy.flavor.

Salmon burger stir-fry.

  I almost don’t want to even try to describe them, in fear that I won’t do them justice.  For just 110 calories per burger, you get 680 mg of Omega-3s (3g fat, .5 saturated, 18g protein, and 1g carbs) and NO additives or preservatives.  If you ask me, those are pretty stellar stats for such a delish, smoky tasting, all-natural salmon burger!  While cooking mine with my veggies on the stove top, I made a marinade of SF Log Cabin + 1 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce. 

2.  Triple Chocolate Fudge Chickpea Pudding

mmMmMmm.

I used this to fuel my workout on Saturday morning, which consisted of 9 miles on the elliptical at levels 7-9, plus the typical circuit on the weights.  Hip adductors, hip abductors, abs, and lats.  When I got home, I STILL wasn’t hungry (usually, I’m starvin’!), and had loads of energy, so I hopped on the stationary bike and facebooked for about 30 minutes.!  Poppa FF got a FACEBOOK so he could communicate more from Nicaragua!!  The countdown until his return is exactly 6 days! :) I can’t wait to see him. 

3. My Nordik Track Elliptical!

wooohoo.

Totally excited to try this thing out!!  I know it’ll be the same as the ellipticals at the gym, but it’s going to be SO convenient if I don’t feel like making the trip or CAN’T get out of the house for some reason. 

frontal view.

My Uncle Ed was kind and brought it from Lancaster in the back of his truck on Saturday, since my Dad is a very busy man and anticipated that he may not be able to get it for a while. 

4. Runners-up!

Seester FF up to bat.

My lil’ sis and her softball team kicked some BUTT at their tournament Saturday and Sunday.  They ended up losing in the championship game by ONE RUN, but played their hearts out. 

2nd Place.

They earned a decent sized trophy and some construction-worker yellow t’s as souvenirs ;)  Afterward, you can bet ice cream & pizza was consumed by the team.

4. Fabulous Flats

Whole Grain Naan.

I probably ate my weight in this stuff over the weekend.  I just received some products from them to try out, and all have been relying on it for my source of whole grains ever since ;) 

1 serving!

The Naan is soooo fluffy and light, with a hearty texture and whole grain taste that I fell in love with!  I’ve gotta try this dipped in hummus.  The Garlic Naan is excellent, too!  Not too oniony.  The best part, is that one serving is an entire HALF of the Naan!  Just 170 calories in the whole grain and 160 in the garlic.

1/2 spread with laughing cow & 1/2 spread with sf raspberry jam.

One of the other products I got to try, was the sandwich flats from Fabulous Flats.  Again, fan-stinking-tastic.  Yes, they’re flat sandwich rolls!  I used mine like an english muffin for breakfast one morning!  They inspired me to stray from my typical “SOC” for breakfast!  You know it’s gotta be powerful ;)  Can’t wait to try the stone-baked pizza crusts!

5. LearningHow To Have The Perfect Husband”

Yes, that’s right.  This is a HIGHLIGHT.  I mean, don’t you want to know, too?  I’d like to think I’m prepping to be the best wife I can be someday :D  I went to Christian Life Assembly again this week for church, and couldn’t have been more glad to hear what Pastor Wade had to say about what men need. 

Here’s what I’ve learned.  The top five needs of men:

1. Sexual Satisfication

  • Ephesians 5:21-33 

2. An Attractive Wife

  • Not necessarily looking perfect, but making sure to take pride in your appearance. 

3. Domestic Support

  • To-do lists
  • Home maker

4. Recreational Partnership

  • An adventure buddy
  • Date nights

5. Admiration 

  • Never criticize publicly
  • Swell with pride

Apparently he did a sermon on “How To Have The Perfect Wife” the week prior before, as well.  I was curious, so I checked it out online to see what the notes looked like.  Pretty accurate if you ask me!  You can always watch the podcast if you’d like!

6.   Homemade Almond Buttah.

Almonds, sf syrup, & cinnamon!

Now I’ve got my very own stash of almond buttter to smear over those tasty sandwich flats! SO easy to do, too.  I just threw this combo into my blender and proccessed until smooth!  This stuff beats a $12 jar anyday!

  • 1 C. almonds
  • 1/4 C. SF syrup
  • a few shakes of ground cinnamon

pure heaven.

You can make it with nothing but almonds, too, a la Angela!

I like mine a little bit chunky, so I stopped blending at this point, but if you like it more smooth, you just have to leave it in the processor for a little bit longer, scraping the sizes between pulsing.

I’m sure I’m missing some other great details, but I’m too excited about GIRL’S NIGHT starting again tonight because of The Bachelorette!

Ali!

[source]

How stinkin’ cute is Ali?!  In her little converses.  That’s classy, folks ;)  I think it’ll be a good season.  I’m more excited that we’re starting the family girls’ nights back up, though!  Hope she finds a winner!

Have a great Monday, peeps & enter this giveaway for some cookware before you forget over at Healthy & Sane!

 

XO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers