RSS Feed

Build Me Up, Buttercup.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.”

- Colossians 2:9-10

What could possibly go wrong when you start your day off with a cali bowl filled with this

1/3 C. old-fashioned oats cooked in 1 C. water and 1 tsp. chia seeds (soaked in the fridge overnight), topped with 1 peach chobani + 1 tbsp. Better n’ Peanut Butter.

and music like this on the way to work.  I simply cannot think of a better way…other than adding a THANK YOU GOD FOR THE RAIN prayer to the mix.  Things were really getting dry around here!

Lunch at the office seems to come more quickly each day.  I think it could be because I’ve been amping up my breakfasts which have keeping me fuller longer, so I’m not sitting at my desk with my belly grumbling watching the minute hand on the clock for my lunch break to come around. 

1 La Tortilla Factory whole grain wrap stuffed with sliced veggies (spring mix, cucumber, orange pepper, tomato, & onion) spread with 2 tbsp. Forty Spices Tribe hummus & a 2 egg white puff.

I also packed some veggies on the side to munch on, too.

I was kinda unsure about what to pack for fuel between work and the gym to hold me over until after class at 8PM, so I packed a couple of goodies.  At 4PM, I left work to hit the gym for an hour and 1/2 before class.

1 Thomas high fiber, light whole grain english muffin spread with 1 tsbp. Better N’ Peanut Butter & 1 tbsp. apricot sugar free Polaner

I ate 1/2 of this before my workout + a gala apple.

 

 

 

 

The cardio was fantastic, again thanks to the Cross Ramp.  I did 45 minutes at various resistance levels and ramp levels, average heart rate at 149, and burned 480 calories.  Then I took a break to do some core work with “in-and-outs” and planks.  I wanted to finish my July copy of InStyle, so I biked for about 10 minutes and finished off with another 10 min. on the Cross Ramp for a nice heart rate rise before I left to hit the showers.

Afterward, I ate the rest of my pb&j and some of these babies.

I made these kale chips the night before using this method:

Leaves picked off, sprayed with PAM, sprinkled with Garlic Gold, and baked at 350° for about 15-20 minutes.

I also packed a 2-egg white puff for protein topped with 1/2 slice of Finlandia light swiss cheese

Boring photo, but it was tasty and it did the job!  After class, my family asked me to meet them at Isaac’s for dinner at about 8PM.  My younger sister had a basketball game, and they were in the area.

I knew JUST what I wanted.  Isaac’s Deli is awesome.  They always throw together whatever I ask for.  There’s never any trouble customizing orders there.  They’ve also got some fabulous sandwiches!

I also love the pickled cauliflower, cucumber, and carrots that are set on the table for you to munch on as opposed to a bread basket.  The cauliflower is the best!

For my meal, I asked for a turkey sandwich on pumpernickel with tomato, sprouts, cucumber, mushrooms, and onion.  It was PERFECTOTwo thumbs up Isaac’s, two thumbs up.

I ate the entire sandwich sans dressing (it was so flavorful all on its own!) and left the chips for someone else.

With fresh fruit salad for dessert!

YUMM!

TellmeAboutyourself :)

 1.  Do you ever feel weird about customizing orders when you go out to eat?  I used to, but I’m over it.  If I’m going to pay someone to prepare my food for me, I want it to be something I’m going to enjoy, right?!

2.  What’s your favorite restaurant and what is their specialty in your eyes?  It’s too hard to choose a favorite for me, but I crave different dishes from different restuarants, sometimes.  I love sushi, but I could always go for Charlie Brown’s salad bar.

HAPPY FINALLY FRIDAY!  Don’t forget to enter to win yourself some Lucy’s gluten-free cookies! Like Snikiddy snacks?  Check out Katie’s giveaway here!

 

XO.

7 responses »

  1. I love the Cross Ramp! It’s my favorite machine.

    Reply
  2. DiningAndDishing

    My favorite restaurant is a place called Potenza in DC. They make the most delicious homemade Italian food I have ever eaten! Yum :).

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  3. ah! i always customize my orders and never feel embarressed about it haha it’s just what i do! my family always calls me the sally of when harry met sally of our family. and i’m always like HEY atleast i’m getting what i want right!

    how is the apricot jam?? i’ve been thinking about getting a jar of that for a while now!

    Reply
  4. Okay so I have a question that I have been wondering about kale chips. I tried making them about a month ago and they broke into little dry pieces in my mouth like paper. I did not like them at all. When you eat them, what it the texture like? When you break them, do they turn into little crumbs?

    I really want to like these and need some tips please!

    Reply
    • Hey girl!

      The kale chips have turned out differently for me sometimes! The taste is generally the same, but the texture is a different story. The longer you bake them, the crispier they get! When they’re crispy like that, they will crumble in your mouth. I’ve found that if I take them out a little sooner, they are chewy and I like them better! They crunchy ones are good dipped in ketchup, though! :)

      Hope this helps!

      XO.

      Sami

      Reply
  5. I love Isaac’s! I always customize my sandwich there. I remember a few years ago they had an incredible sandwich with hummus, roasted red peppers, feta and spinach but they got rid of it. I try to have them recreate it every time but they don’t have hummus anymore. So sad, because it was fantastic!

    Reply
  6. Yah! I am so glad that you found my blog, because it led me to yours. I love your verse at the beginning. There is definitely no matter way to start your day than with God. Awesome job on your workout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

