RSS Feed

Double Deuce.

Posted on

Gooooooood morning, loves!  This is basically a catch up post from all the festivities this weekend!  I missed you all and thank you SOOO much for the birthday wishes!

First, I’m going to give God the glory, because He deserves ALLLL the credit for my life…This is a quote from one of my favee songs by Hillsong

“Your love, oh Lord
Reaches to the heavens
Your faithfulness stretches to the sky
Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains
Your justice flows like the ocean’s tide
I will lift my voice
To worship You, my King
I will find my strength
In the shadow of your wings”

Friday night my girl Mandy & I met up for dinner at Hong Kong City for a birthday dinner.  You wouldn’t think so by looking at the outside of this place, but it actually has some amazing sushi!

She ordered some kind of delicious looking roll with cream cheese, tobiko, avocado, and fish for her meal.  And before I got there, she snacked on these.

I’m not exactly sure what they were.  I’m thinking they were like fried noodles with sweet & sour dipping sauce.  Fried stuff doesn’t agree with my belly too well, so I passed.

For my appetizer, I ordered a salmon & avocado handroll without rice.  Mmm.  Great with the wasabi, pickled ginger, & a little bit of soy sauce!

For my entree, I ordered the steamed shrimp & mixed vegetables (surprise, surprise!) with no rice & extra veggies!

Yummmm.  I love that when you order steamed vegetables from chinese restaurants, they NEVER add anything.  When I ask for them at other places, I always have to specify NO butter sauce or NO cream, but at Chinese restaurants, they know what they’re doing with those veggies ;)

This sweet girl adorned me with some unneccessary gifts, too!  One of them is a game called Quiddler, which I have been wanting for awhile now!  It’s a word card game in which each card has a letter with a point value and you do your best with your dealt hand to score high as you can.  She also gave me some ADORABLE bowls, as she knows my love for all new blogging goodies.  Thanks Mandy, girl.  I love you! :)

After dinner, we went to

One of my favorite places EVER.  We painted pottery & chatted away the entire night :)

Before:

After:

I chose a rice bowl coated in “Olive You” green and etched on the inside with Vanilla Bean overtop.

Mandy chose a mug to paint which ended up looking really neat!  I can’t wait to see what they look like after being in the kiln!

We had a great night laughing and just hanging out!  If you have never been to a paint-your-own-pottery place, I highly recommend it.  For me, it’s like therapy! Haha.

The rest of the weekend was kind of here & there as far as photos.  I decided to not freak out if I missed a “documentation” of everything, because I was enjoying the moment instead of worrying about whether or not I would miss a chance to blog about it.

You guys know what I mean!  I can say, however that this weekend was a fantastic one and I wouldn’t have wanted to spend my birthday any other way.  I was constantly surrounded by family & friends!

Each morning started with an Insanity workout with Sean T!

So far, I think the plyo cardio is my favorite! 

Saturday, my actual birthday day, Momma FF took me out for lunch at Bob Evans!

Low-fat cottage cheese, wheat toast

I LOVE this place because they serve breakfast ALL day :)

Side salad with apple cider vinegar + Splenda drizzled ontop!

I love her so much!  I seriously cherish the days we get to spend just the two of us.  She is such a blessing in my life.

There was also cantaloupe, but I must’ve forgotten a photo.

Anywho, after lunch, we hit Color-Me-Mine for another pottery-painting-therapy session :)  At this point, my camera battery was borderline dead, so you’ll just have to wait and see what I painted when I get it back on Friday! Ohhh the anticipation!

After that, we hit up Dick’s Sporting Goods to check out HR monitors, but had no success.  On the way to meet Poppa & Seester FFs for dinner, we stopped at Best Buy too.  I wanted to look into upgrading and ended up with a Samsung Captivate as part of my birthday gift from my parents!  

I am beyond excited!!  It is JUST like the Apple Iphone, only the Samsung version. 

The whole family went to Ruby Tuesday’s together for dinner.  It was my choice, and I was craving a good salad bar

Seesters & I

They’ve got all of my favorite fixin’s, so I piled my plate high!  Baby spinach, leafy greens, sliced zucchini, cucumbers, red beets, broccoli, carrots, cherry tomatoes, peas, lima beans, chickpeas, mushrooms, cottage cheese, and a few grapes ontop!

Food baby ensued.

But, that didn’t stop me from hitting round two.  All the photos were from plate #1, but they pretty much looked the same.  Just a little smaller in size.  Always drizzled with a touch of balsamic vinegar!

When we got home from dinner, we relaxed together & played my new Quiddler game!  Thennnn there was MORE gift giving.  As if the new phone wasn’t enough!?   I am so blessed and need to remember to thank God everyday for all he has given me.  I would’ve been just as happy with the time I got to spend with everyone on my birthday.  They made me feel SO loved and cherished just by the way they treated me and their attitudes toward me…THAT, I wouldn’t trade for all the gifts in the WORLD.

This gift was from my parents, too.  I was a 1,000 point scorer in basketball my senior season, and typically, people get to keep the ball that they scored it with for painting and showcasing.  My parents gave me THIS for my birthday this year and are having it hand painted with my name, number, game, & date scored!  :)  Such a neat idea

They also gave me a gift card for the campus bookstore, which will really come in handy when I have to go buy books this semester! 

They also ordered Vitacakes to sing Happy Birthday to me with! I was super excited.  How sweet are they?! 

Poppa FF even ran to the grocery store (without my knowing!) and got a box of sugar free vanilla bean ice cream!  My fave! :) 

It was truly a special day.

Sunday rolled around and I was still on a high from the weekend.  I don’t have many pictures of eats from the day, but that’s not because they didn’t happen.  It’s because I was a slacker of a blogger.  No excuses, the battery was fully charged at this point.  Just didn’t photograph.

After Insanity, I got ready for church.  Sunday is supposed to be an “off” day, but I didn’t start on the designated days so the schedule is a little different. 

After church, there was lunch.  I had some leftover grated zucchini & tomato soup (chilled) with a La Tortilla Factory rolled-up wrap for dipping and a Strawberry Chobani on the side.

You like?

After lunch, Morgy & I went to redeem our gift certificates at a local nail place called Beyond Texture. 

She went with a full set of acryllics

and I went with a pedicure.

It was convenient  because I needed to get my car serviced at Walmart, which is right next door, so we dropped the car off and went for a walk to the nail place.

The aftermath.

When we got home, I snacked on a gala apple & did some baking, laundry, and cleaning.

Nutrition First!  Not from scratch.

Not bad, not bad! 

I also added sliced banana to the top.  Why isn’t this more common?  I mean, am I the only person who loves chocolate & banana together?

Best decision EVER.  The bananas got nice and carmelized in the oven!

NOM.

And then there was a mountain of laundry.

Anddddd lunch packing.

Dinner was pretty much just a load of grazing…and some brownies.  But then, I had a bag of broccoli slaw steamed and mashed with some garlic hummus, so it all evens out, right?

Here’s to a wonderful weekend…and thanks again to all of you who made my birthday such a special one!!  Hope your weekends were great, too!

 

XO.

18 responses »

  1. just love your posts!!! look forward to them. Glad you had a great birthday!! luv ya

    Reply
  2. Good morning sweetie, so happy you had a good birthday!! Loved your pics and that brownie mix looks amazing!!! Love ya girl!!

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday Sami! Looks like you celebrated with some wonderful people, great food, and amazing memories. :)

    Reply
  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!

    Those brownies looked awesome – I happen to love banana and chocolate together as well. Mmm Mmm Mmm!!! …Where can you get that brownie mix? I’m all about making something yummy healthier!

    Reply
  5. Ohhh happy belated birthday love!! it looks like it was a BLAST. color me mine is soooo freakin fun!!! It doesn’t get the credit it deserves. Glad you had a fab day ;) you’re looking beautiful and tan as always!!

    Reply
  6. Looks like you had a great weakend! I have always wanted to go to Color Me Mine…we have one right down the street. I know there is NO WAY my bowl would ever look as cute as yours though! Omg it is adorable! I cant wait to see the final product! You got showered with so much love on your bday :) You deserve it of course!! Love all the yummy food pics!!

    Reply
  7. love it! :) looks like you had a good day!

    Reply
  8. btw.. please send me those pics! :-p

    Reply
  9. I Love the pic of you and your sisters! :) Reminds me of my sisters and me! :) Your salad looks almost identical to the one I make at Ruby’s! :) Glad you had an awesome bday! :)

    Reply
  10. happy belated bday!!!!
    fried food (other than the occasional sweet potato fries) doesn’t sit well with me either. rich, decadent bakery treats and chocolate do though :)

    love all the gifts! you have such thoughtful friends and family

    Reply
  11. awwww happy belated girl :) glad you had such a great birthday!

    rubys + sush two of my favs so just going there would make an amaze birthday!

    Reply
  12. DiningAndDishing

    Epic birthday weekend post!! Glad you enjoyed yourself so much…that’s what birthdays are all about! :)

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  13. Looks like you had a GREAT birthday weekend! Your dinner out looks like so much fun… I’m trying to get my parents to take me to Japanese tonight!

    Reply
  14. Aww happy late birthday beautiful!!

    Reply
  15. I am so happy you had a FANTASTIC BDAY! I love painting pottery/ceramics! So theraputic! You deserve all the love/presents and happiness in the world! The fact that your dad got sf/ff ice cream and VITACAKE kills me! TOO SWEET! I love the Basketball idea! The phone is AMAZING! I am truly SO happy for you!Such a great post!!!!
    XO
    B

    Reply
  16. dude! me + quiddler = love!!!!! :)

    looks like you had a great great day!

    Reply
  17. Pingback: Labor Day Weekend Recap #3 « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  18. there are sporting goods that are very cheap but the quality is not very good ::~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

