RSS Feed

Do You Dew?

Posted on

This morning, I’m bringing you lyrics from Addison Road (another beloved group from the Word FM) that I love so much.  These thought provoking songs that I hear on the way to work, I cannot help but share with you.

“I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from Heaven
But I talked the whole time
I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all No
If You touched my face would I know You?
Looked into my eyes could I behold You?
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?”

I love the second line where it says “I tried to hear from Heaven but I talked the whole time“.  That is SO me.  I pray and pray and pray, but don’t let God talk to me!  I’m terrible at keeping up with scripture reading, so how do I expect to hear from Him?!

Anyway…on to the more trivial question of the day, revolving around this neon green drug.

Obviously, we know soda is bad for us in general, but lately I’ve been questioning just HOW bad.  SOOO many different curiosities that I’d like your opinions on!  I’ve researched a bit on my own, finding things that I’ve already known to be true such as the ridiculous amount of caffeine, aspartame (artificial sweeteners), and chemicals found in my favorite vice: Diet Mountain Dew.  But I also found that 40% of diet soda drinkers are MORE LIKELY to become obese!!! That scares me more than anything! 

Ingredients

Carbonated Water, Concentrated Orange Juice, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor, Citrus Pectin, Potassium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness)Aspartame, Potassium Citrate, Caffeine, Sodium Citrate, Acesulfame Potassium, Sucralose, Gum Arabic, Sodium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness)Calcium Disodium EDTA (to Protect Flavor)Brominated Vegetable Oil, Yellow 5.

 

It’s virtually calorie free, but that is about the only good thing I can say about it.  I’ve heard many strong opinions on the topic concerning diet soda in general, the most frequent being that it’s like “poison“.   Needless to say, I think this is a bit dramatic, and figure that with my clean eating, this minor weakness can’t kill me, right?   I mean, it’s not like I’m a “chain drinker”, chugging five of these babies a day!   

Nutrition Facts

  • Serving Size 8 fl oz
  • Servings Per Container 8
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories 0
  • % Daily Value*
  • Total Fat 0 g
  • Sodium 25 mg1%
  • Total Carbohydrate 0 g0%
  • Sugars 0 g
  • Protein 0 g0%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your Daily Values may be higher or lower depending on your calories needs.

I have decided, however, to BAN diet soda from my diet for exactly 1 month to find out whether I feel a difference or not.  This will be a SERIOUS challenge for me!  Wanna join me?!  Shoot me a message (freckledfoodielove@gmail.com)!  We’ll do it together :) 

XOXO.

9 responses »

  1. I used to be a MAJOR diet coke drinker. My mom would start drinking them at 8am and continue all day, so I picked up her habit. I heard that if you are an athlete it actually brings DOWN your performance because of the carbonation, since it is dehydrating. SO I gave it up so that I could still be as good as I could be in soccer. I very rarely drink it now. I usually have one on Sundays when I am watching football though :) Good luck girlie!!

    Reply
  2. I don’t drink soda because carbonation messes with my stomach, but honestly I don’t think it’s all that bad for you. Obviously in reg. soda theres quite a bit of calories, but I would prob drink diet soda if I could! Heck Stu drinks like a 2 liter a day of reg Coke and he’s fine lol!

    But yay for you and your 1 month challenge! Who knows maybe you will see a difference?

    Reply
  3. DiningAndDishing

    Oh, I want to join you on this!! I’m a total diet pop addict ( I drink one almost every day) and I have tried to quit a million times with no success. It would be totally helpful to have someone to do this challenge with!

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  4. good luck with your challenge girly! i would totally join you but i don’t drink soda enough to join! it gives me the burpy urpies :)

    Reply
  5. Oh Oh Oh! Have you ever heard of Virgil’s Diet Rootbeer or Cream Soda! It’s sweetened with STEVIA and has 6 calories and other really great additives…. here is a link to what’s in it:

    http://www.vitacost.com/Virgils-Diet-Root-Beer#IngredientFacts

    Oh and did I mention it’s delicious and guilt free! Seriously, scope it out!!!

    When you find it, tell me whacha think! :)

    Reply
  6. I wish diet Mountain Dew was available in Canada! I am envious! I say ‘pick your vice’; it’s diet soda. Big deal. I don’t drink, smoke, do drugs, etc. There is so much pollution in the air, the plastics etc. It’s calorie free, it tastes great, it’s fizzy- what else could I want!? lol. Let me know how you feel after 1 month!!! I’ve been loving ZEVIA (organic, stevia sweetened) or just the aspartame free splenda sweetened pops like Gingerale, Diet Crush etc.
    I am green with envy! IT’s a running joke with some of my friends (my quest for diet Grape pop, and Mountain Dew).
    XO
    B

    Reply
  7. I love how produce is so cheap!! I can walk out with TONS of stuff and only spend $20 which is amazing!! It always feels good to save some money

    Reply
  8. hi there hows it going

    Reply
  9. Hi!
    I recently came across yopur blog from another….quickly added the subscription to my reader and have just read this (my first) post of yours and…

    I must admit I am a little freaked out! In a Good way!

    I could have written that post word for word.
    Addison Road? LOve
    Word FM? Programmed in my car.
    That song? Way meaningful to me.
    That Line? Think about it and quote it often.
    Keeping up with scripture? Going to do better tomorrow.
    Diet Dew? Addicted and disgusted.
    Witness”: http://missymiller.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/versatile-blogger-award-7-nuggets-about-me/

    However…then there was this:
    Banning it with you? Um..I’ve been thinking about it but…um..maybe tomorrow I’ll decide?
    LOL. Maybe god put your post in front of me today for good reason. Hmm.

    Any…can’t wait to read on, find out what else we might have in common, and let you be my inspiration to get back on track to being healthy.

    ~Missy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

