RSS Feed

Don’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover.

Posted on

Maker of heaven, giver of life
You are my strength, my song in the night
My refuge, my shelter
Now and forevermore
My help comes from the Lord

When I’m broken, scarred by sin
Death gives way to life again
When I suffer, when I’m bound
In You I’m free, in You I’m found

Some of the most delicious breakfasts come in the ugliest forms.  I wish I knew how to beautify my oats the way Kath does, but so far, I’m content to just enjoy the taste.

1/3 C. rolled oats, 1/2 C. water, 1/3 C. lowfat milk, 1 tsp. chia seeds, 1 tbsp. sf vanilla Torani, 1/2 sliced peach, 1 egg white, a sprinkle of baking powder, & 3/4 scoop Vanilla Chai Amazing Meal.  Sugar free Log Cabin syrup drizzled ontop with a sprinkling of cinnamon.

I microwaved this tupperware container of glorious oats in the microwave for about 2 minutes on power level 7.  You have no idea how hard it was to wait until I got to work to break into the dish.  I think the key to successful oats is to add a hint & pinch of SEVERAL ingredients.  It was like a warm, sweet peach custard dessert.

My boss and I ran out around 12PM to grab some lunch from Simply Turkey.  I wasn’t allowed to pay, because it was my “birthday treat“.  Thanks Bosssssss :)  Speaking of boss, that’s what I ordered.  The BOSS salad-you choose whateverrrrrr toppings you want.  I chose baby spinach & spring mix as my base topped with peppers, tomato, carrots, cukes, broccoli, and chickpeas with Fat Free Tomato-Basil dressing on the side and a slice of multi-grain bread to round out the meal.  I LOVE seedy, grainy bread like that!

On the way home, I stopped at a local produce (self-serve) stand.

ALLL this for about $6=WIN.  HUGE zucchini

& sweet onion,

 

summer squash, cucumber, yellow cherry tomatoes, 3 sweet white peaches, & a red bell pepper.  The price was SO right ;)  I planned on putting them to good use for dinner.

When I got home from work, it was SO nice not to have a schedule.  After snacking on the above juicy ‘loup and some chocolate in Vitatop form.

I picked up the little seester from basketball pratice and headed home for a little Insanity action.  I am a HUGE fan of Cardio Abs.  It was a quick, yet totally effective workout.  It works ALL angles of your abs: obliques, lower abs, and upper all in about 15 minutes.  Then I hit the bike & the books.

I used the time on the stationary bike to take advantage and get ahead in class by reading The Rising Tide by Jeff ShaaraAnyone read this book?  So far it’s pretty enticing.  I love an author who knows how to use his adjectives, making it easier to feel part of the story.  I’m not one for war novels, but since it’s required, I guess I’ll deal ;)

I got hungry while biking so I took a rest to make some dinner, utilizing the goodies that I purchased earlier.

It came together quite nicely in the end.  I didn’t have lettuce/spinach for salad base, so I got creative and took a vegetable peeler to the zucchini for some long, curly strings to base the rest on.  I diced up the red pepper, cucumber, and some onion with a few cherry tomatoes in the mix and for protein, I put some sliced grilled chicken on the top.  The dressing is some hummustard (patented by heabs ;)

Afterward, I still had some reading to do, so I headed back to the basement for some extra biking & reading.

Turns out 40 minutes of reading and biking doesn’t get you all that far.  Oh well! 

A little while later, I snacked on some Finlandia Reduced Fat Swiss

Sometimes I just crave dairy like its no one’s business. 

Then I decided to brew some coffeee for refrigerating.  Although, I’m thinking we’re nearing the end of iced coffee season! 

 

Since I’m avoiding diet soda at all costs, I’ve gotta get my caffeine some way!!

Next, I showered and ate dessert

aka a Peanut Butter Chocolate Vitatop.

Annnndd that’s all folks!!  The boyyy comes home from school this weekendd and we are going rock n’ bowling with the “surrogates” :)  I can’t wait!  Also in the mix is going to be hiking & a family birthday party.

Any exciting weekend plans, bloggies?

Stay tuned & happy Friday!!!  Be sure to enter Evan’s CSN Stores giveaway! AND wish a Happy Two Year Blogiversary to Holly while entering her contest!

 

XOXO.

5 responses »

  1. DiningAndDishing

    The trick to SUPER yummy oats is to make them on the stovetop! I know it takes more time but TRUST me, it’s so worth it. Maybe you can even make them for you and your man this weekend :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  2. Love all of those fresh veggies! (Almost) nothing makes me happier than stocking up on seasonal produce.

    Reply
  3. Is it super pathetic that I have never tried a Vitatop before? I need to jump on that bandwagon I think! And oats are sooo what I am having for breakfast! I am def making them for my whole family!!

    Reply
  4. That usually happens that we see the cover page and start making different guesses about the book. But we should see the interior of everything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

