RSS Feed

Labor Day Weekend Recap #1

Posted on

As I mentioned in the previous post, this weekend was all about the three F’s: Friends, Family, & Football!  Typical Freckled Foodie bizznazz ;)  Oh yeah, there was food too…and LOTS of it!  I considered leaving for State College on Friday after work, but after getting barely ANY rest, I figured that a night in my own bed would be best and that I could just leave for the Youngston State/Penn State football game in the morning!  After all, I still had to pack and run a bunch of errands.

Before I left at about 7:45, I ate breakfast and hit Sheetz for a fuel up.

1 C. Fiber Select + 1/2 C. low-fat milk + 1 sweet, juicy peach.

The drive wasn’t too bad.  It only takes a little over an hour to get there, but I knew there would be lots of game traffic for the season opener.

I ended up having to take a pit stop at a rest station because my bladder almost exploded.  I guess that happens when you drink about a liter of iced coffee on the drive…

When I met up with the boy and his roommate, we went to the Commons to get a bite to eat for lunch before the 12PM kickoff.

1 slice buffalo chicken breast deli meat (YUM), egg whites, blanched veggies (green beans, broccoli cauliflower, carrots, red peppers) and a side of fresh fruit!

I was really pleased with all the healthy options that the school meal options offered!

Then we walked to the stadium

See the band?

The whole atmosphere was totally exhilarating!

 It was super chilly and I was freeeeezing!  How does it go from blazing hot to crisp and cool in just ONE day? 

Hahahaha.

The whole time, he kept wanting to “put me up” when the scored a touch down.  See, we were in the student section, and each time PSU scores, they lift the girls up and “throw them” around in the crowd.  

I was too chicken…we were standing on the EDGE of the bleachers!  One bad move, and I would’ve been thrown over.  Haha.

I got to meet a bunch of the boys’ friends from school towards the end of the second quarter. 

The halftime show was pretty cool on the Penn State end of things, too.  I don’t know why, but I love watching all the figurations and listening to the music. 

With five minutes to go in the game, the score was 44-7!   The Lions were kicking some butt!

After the game, we headed back to the dorm for a little while and played Wii.  A little while later, we walked downtown to wander around in the various shops, searching out some PSU apparel :)

Ladies Hooded Sweatshirt

I ended up getting this cute grey hoodie.  I really liked the white, too, but figured it would be a lot harder to keep spotless.  I just LOVE Jansport hoodies.  The softness on the inside NEVER goes away.  It’s almost the same as the blue one that I’m wearing in the photos, but I’ve had that one for about 2 1/2 years now!

When we came back to the room, we met up with the boy’s roommate, cousin, & cousin’s girlfriend for dinner at another spot on campus.

I hit up the “build-your-own” chinese dish at the commons which I filled with broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, edamame, shrimp, and peppers (I think there was a pineapple chunk or two in the mix somewhere!) over top of brown rice.  I asked them to steam it for me and then I sprinkled on some soy sauce!  It was perfect….warm & satisfying.

After dinner, we went to Lewistown to visit with some of the boy’s family until about 9:30PM.  We came back to campus and decided to call it a night.  I left for my girl, Bekah’s apartment and he stayed in his dorm.  No funny business ;)

2 responses »

  1. You and the boy are too adorable!! And I am super impressed with the food inside the dorm! I never lived on campus so I never got to look at our food, but there was a week when the entire school was absent because of food poisoning. I mean I had like 10 people in each class that used to have 30! It was crazy!! Amen to no funny business ;)

    Reply
  2. You look do happy!!! I love that hoodie! Any cute friends of his for me? ha ha. Have a wonderful day Sami! TTYL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

