RSS Feed

‘Cause It’s Ladies Night!

Posted on

Long time, no see!    Sorry for the hiatus.  Weekends are tough for me in the blogsence.  I feel like I shouldn’t be stressing about what I’m going to journal on the blog as opposed to being out and enjoying events while they’re taking place.  I did find myself missing hearing from you all and thinking about how I wish I could’ve taken allll of you with me to the Conference

[source]

Seriously, if you’ve never been to one you NEED to get there at some point in your life.  They’re hosted ALL over the country and you can see where WOF 2011 is going to be held in a city near you, hereLife changing, I’m telling you.

Each year, the ladies in my family attend the conference together.  We go on a huge bus with Grace UMC every year, and the coordinators, Yonnie & Tina do a wonderful job of setting up the whole event. 

 This year the theme was over the top, which I found the color scheme and animal print to be totally appropriate.

We each got a cute zebra bag with hot pink accents and a black embroidered tshirt to wear, along with a nametag.  Meeting at the church at 4am wasn’t the easiest task, but it was worth it in the end. 

It was an absolutely WONDERFUL time and getting there was half the fun.  I even packed a delicious breakfast to enjoy on the trip!  Even though everyone said it looked like baby poop, I enjoyed every last bite.

Pecahy Vanilla Chai Oats

1/3 C. oats cooked in 1/2 C. water & 1/4 C. unsweet almond breeze + 1 scoop Vanilla Chai AM, 1 tsp. chia seeds, 1 mushed, juicy peach.

Anywho, this weekend was CERTAINLY not about the food.  It was about growing in faith, strengthening bonds, and walking closer to the Lord.  Although, I did come prepared with lots of yummy snacks.  I knew we weren’t “in Kansas anymore” when I woke up to this view.

Soon we arrived at our destination!

The pre-conference started at 10AM, and we got there a bit early.

Isn’t blogging wonderful for preserving memories?

I adore the women on the trip and could not imagine the conference without any single one of them.  My BEST friend even got to join us.  Where they are staying near Philly (while baby Bo is in the hospital) was fairly close to the Conference site!  Did I mention that Baby Bo is up to 2 POUNDS?!? :D  Please keep the prayers coming!

The Wells-Fargo Center (previously the Wachovia Center), in Philly is a gorgeous roomy venue with tons of seating and facility management.  The lighting and sound for the Conference was unbelievable.

Although I obviously could not record every presentation, here are a few of the speakers that we were privelaged to listen to:

Patsy Clairmont is a sweet, little firecracker who is my ultimate favorite…I’m officially a follower on Twitter, and she even replied back to my comment!

Anita Renfroe coming in a close second.  You can check out some of her newest video, here. 

Lisa Whelchel, aka Blair from the Facts of Life was a speaker as well.  I can’t even begin to tell you how honest, vulnerable, and inspiring these women are.  It’s funny how you can put people on such a pedestal, when really they’re JUST like you.  They face the same fears, disappointments, guilt, and struggles that WE do, even in their “stardom”.

[source]

Andy Andrews, a new face to the Women of Faith Conference this year, was also a fantastic listen.  His love for his family, his relationship with God, and faithfulness have truly shine through in his speaking.

 I WISH I could do a summary of all the amazing stories and lessons I learned at the conference, but there’s just TOOOOO much to tell

Lunches were of the boxed nature and provided by the conference, but I packed my own.

1 Original Brat Hans Italian chicken sausage on a La Tortilla Factory ww wrap with lettuce, tomato, mustard, and onion.

Here’s a picture of all the other stuff I brough too for breakfasts, snacks, and dinner supplements, too!  I didn’t get photos, but there were lots of apples & banaynays eaten on this trip, too, courtesy of the coordinators!

Sugar-free chocolate meringues (40 calories for 13 & 5g protein!)

Primal Strips-teriyaki & thai peanut (deeeeliciouss)

When we arrived at the hotel, I immediately checked to see if they had a workout room…call me obsessive compulsive, but I was antsy to get back into a gym…ANY gym.  Lucky for me, they did!  Then it was dinner time.

My sweet grandma enjoying dinner

We had a buffet style dinner at the hotel consisting of chicken and eggplant parmesean with spaghetti and salad.  I wasn’t really feelin’ the boxed looking dinner, but threw together something delicious anyway!

Mixed greens, cucumber, tomato, and Cedar’s Cucumber Garlic strained greek yogurt dip mixed with water (for thinning) as dressing.

Plus, a packed Primal Strip + some whole grain goodness.

Light whole grain english muffin + 1 Sonoma Jack’s Pepperjack cheese wedge & sugar free apricot jam

Off to the CONCERT we went, where we jammed out to Mandisa for the rest of the night.  RECAP OF SATURDAY coming NEXT!

2 responses »

  1. What a fantastic trip. So many women I know have been to this conference and RAVE about it. My mom and I hope to go sometime. Thanks for sharing your memories! :)

    Reply
  2. Looks like you had a fun time! :) Next time this comes around remind me. I should try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

