RSS Feed

Sunday Morning, Rain Is Fallin’

Posted on

Sunday morning was tough.  I knew I wanted to get up early enough to make it to City Island to watch my boyy run the Harrisburg Half Marathon.

I scrounged up a quick and filling breakfast and headed out into the rainy weather.

1 slice Manna Organic Bakery Rye Bread + 1/2 banana smooshed ontop, with a drizzle of sugar-free syrup alongside a vanilla Chobani

I checked out the map to see where I’d be able to catch him throughout the race.

With a quick kiss & a “good luck“, he was off!  I probably would’ve run it with him, had I known about it ahead of time, and had the Women of Faith Conference not been this weekend.  I was beat when we got home around 12:30PM and my 6:30AM wakeup call did not come easy.

I was trying to maintain body heat while watching for him throughout the race, but I definitely wanted to see the finish.  It was really chilly outside, and the misting rain didn’t help!  In the below picture, he’s in the white long sleeved t-shirt.

He did an awesome job, and ended with a time of 2:04!  Pretty great for his first race if you ask me!  So proud, babe ;)

He’d kill me if he saw this picture.  Haha.  I couldn’t resist, though…  He was a trooper…gatorade stained shirt and all ;)

I did miss church, so I headed home and fell asleep for a little bit, but then it was time to shower and get ready for the Bowman Reunion, which started at 1PM for lunch.

Feta salad, sliced peppers, cucumbers, broccoli, tomatoes, baby carrots, and black bean and corn salsa

Babe came with, thankfully, since he had to go back to school again at 4:30.  We got to spend a little time together before he left.  After the reunion, we went back to his house to watch some of the Steelers’ game with his Mom & Dad, and snuck in a movie, too.  By movie, I mean CASSETTE tape.

[source]

House Party 4? Haha….not sure what inspired this choice, but it was funny and I had never even heard of it before.  Anyone else love old school movies?

By the time the movie finished, it was time for FFBF to head back to State College…besides, I had a visit to make to a special friend at The Manor

I told Herb that I would come and visit him at the Independant Living community that he was apart of.  I really had an itch to take his picture for you, but I didn’t want him to feel like he was part of some kind of “project” or whatever, so I refrained. 

Herb showed me around the place, introduced me as his “girlfriend” to a bunch of his buddies.  Haha.  He mentioned that most of his friends at The Manor were girls, and that the guys didn’t want to have much to do with him, but when he brought “pretty girls” around, they made time for him ;)

He showed me the library, the dining room, his apartment, and allll the gazillion activities that the place offered.  He told me about how he speaks about history on Thursday nights in one of the rooms and how excited he gets to share his experiences with anyone who is willing to listen.

Apparently it was Grandparents’ Day!  I had NO idea, and was unprepared with no card, no nothing!  Although, I think he was just GLAD for the company, I desperately wish I had known.  In fact, I’m going to get him a card, I think, and give it to him before class on Tuesday!

When we got back to his apartment, we split a Diet Coke (yes, I broke the “no soda” rule) and chatted about anything under the sun.  I listened to stories about his grandkids, who he rarely sees anymore, but helped put through college, and his wife, who he missed dearly.  He even shared a poem he wrote with me!  He said that he only had shown two other people before that.  It was amazing!  Later, he walked me to my car, kissed the inside & outside of my hand, and told me to “be safe”.

1 Whole grain light english muffin with fat free strawberry cream cheese

On my way home, I thought about how much the time with Herb meant to him AND I.  I can’t tell you how many times he thanked me for coming to visit him.  Its been a long time since I’ve felt so appreciated!  He was just as much a blessing to me as I was to him, I’m sure of it.  Pretty sure I will be visiting again!

Dinner was served when I got home.

1 C. canned pumpkin + 1 C. chickpeas + sugar-free vanilla syrup + pumpkin pie spice = Pumpkin Protein Pudding!

Big old bowl of steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, & carrots) sprinkled with Garlic Gold Nuggets

And the rest of the night was spent packin’ lunch and getting ready to take on the week!

How did you end your weekend?

XOX.

11 responses »

  1. Ahh, you are the sweetest. I’m sure you made his day just by being there even without the card. The fact that his grandchildren don’t come is very sad.

    Reply
    • Hehe. Thanks Aunt Candy! I had so much fun with you all this weekend :) I’m glad you were there!! It’s crazy to think that some families just AREN’T like ours…MOST families aren’t like ours…unfortunately! He’s such a sweet man!

      Reply
  2. Nice job on the running boy! Thats awesome that you went to see Herb. He sounds like such a genuine sweet old man. :)

    Reply
  3. Awww congrats to your boy!! That’s so awesome that he went out and ran like that! My hubby wouldnt be caught dead in a race, I think its cause his dad was a track star…too much competition! lol

    And honey, you are such a sweetheart. That is so great that you went and visited that man. I know so many people who would have just held on to that special memory of meeting and never tried to further the relationship. The elderly don’t get enough attention, and I can only imagine how much you brightened his day. Good for you love :)

    Reply
  4. AHH I had no idea your man ran the harrisburg 1/2!!! This was my first 1/2 marathon and I was bummed I couldn’t do it this year but with my race coming up in a few weeks, I didn’t want to push 2 1/2 marathons back to back. If I would have known, I would have met you there to cheer him on! Good for him! :)

    Reply
  5. Oh my goodness! I used to have a bagel with the fat free strawberry cream cheese every.single.morning last year. Not lying! It’s totally addicting. The strawberry cream cheese tastes like dessert!

    Reply
  6. good share.. keep on posting

    Reply
  7. DiningAndDishing

    Congrats to your boyfriend!! He totally beat me in timing – hahahaha :).

    And you are seriously the sweetest for going to see Herb. Reading about your kindness is truly inspiring!

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  8. You are SO appreciated Sami! Don’t ever believe otherwise! I know family-wise it is hard. But I appreciate you so much. You have been more a friend to me, than anyone I can think of in this past year! You are amazing!
    Do you think God put Herb in your life for a reason?
    Congrats to your bf! What an endeavour!!
    Barbara

    Reply
    • Thank you, darling! I really appreciate your friendship as well! I know, I know…I tell you all the time! But having a constant reminder never hurt anyone, right? ;) I definitely think God put Herb in my life for a reason…his experiences, friendship, and appreciation are God sent for sure. I think he needs someone, too! It’s ashame that ANYONE go through the later part of their life alone, so if I can help him by subsiding that lonliness just a little bit, I’ve done my job. Loving others is so important to God, so it’s important to me! Hehe. Love ya girl! Hope your week is STRESSS FREE!

      XO. Sami

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

