RSS Feed

It’s Gotta Be More Like Falling In Love

Posted on

“Give me words, I’ll misuse them
Obligations, I’ll misplace them
‘Cause all religion ever made of me
Was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet
It never set me free, it’s gotta be
More like falling in love than something to believe in
More like losing my heart than giving my allegiance
Caught up, called out, come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling, oh
It’s like I’m falling in love,
Deeper and deeper
It was love that made me a believer
In more than a name, a faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me”

-Jason Gray 

½ C. pumpkin, ½ C. fat free cottage cheese, ¼ C. oats, ¼ C. sugar-free syrup 

So many people think that “religion” is just a set of rules that we have to live by; making us “slaves” to our faith, but what they don’t understand is how freeing having a relationship with our heavenly Father really is.  It’s the total opposite of what nonbelievers think, in reality. 

Jesus FREES us from our sins; He doesn’t tie us to them.  He took our punishment so that we wouldn’t have to perish!  No one except a perfect Son of God could’ve done that for us.

The only reason God gives us guidelines and things to live by is for our OWN benefit.  Realizing the He works for the GOOD of those who LOVE Him, it only makes sense that the things He writes to us in His word will enhance our lives, not prevent us from living them.  It’s all about losing our hearts to Jesus, the only one that we can ALWAYS count on in this life.  He will never leave us or forsake us

½ C. chickpeas, ½ chopped cucumber, ½ diced tomato, 2 baby bell peppers, 2 tbsp. avocado hummus, atop a bed of roasted kale 

He loves us more than anyone can even imagine.  Who else do you know of that would die for a complete stranger on the cross?  Do you know that even if it were JUST YOU that needed saving, Jesus STILL would’ve died.  He loves you THAT much.

Religion in general also gets a bad rap because many Christians are thought of as hypocrites.  And believe me; I know that it isn’t uncommon. 

La Tortilla Factory ww wrap with 1 tbsp. Better N’ PB

But guys, we’re ALL sinners.  Holding our Christian friends accountable for their actions ISN’T wrong or hypocritical.  It doesn’t mean that we won’t probably screw up too. 

I know that God is merciful and loves us unconditionally.  That means He KNOWS we’re going to continue to make mistakes and sin against Him…that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do our absolute BEST not to, though. 

1 ripe, sweet peach

This song was playing on the radio this morning on my way to work, and I just felt like I needed to share it.  The lyrics really spoke to my heart, and I hope they can get to you in a similar way.  It’s so easy to make praising God and living for Him routine, but our relationship with Him should be about so much more than that.  It SHOULD be like falling in love

 

1 Deep Chocolate Vitatop

I should be able to call Jesus my best friend.  Think about the person that you spend the most time with, know the most about, and enjoy their company the most…isn’t it amazing to think that that person COULD be the God of the Universe?  After all, if God is for us, who could be against us? 

Roasting vegetables (red pepper, yellow squash, red onion, zucchini, and eggplant) coated and tossed in a zip lock baggie with sugar-free syrup & reduced sodium soy sauce + chili powder

One thing that I really need to work on is my dedication to reading God’s word.  I used to have daily devotionals that I did every single day, to set aside time just for me and God.  I feel like I’m so far away from Him sometimes, and I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I don’t make it nearly as much of a priority as I used to. 

Sure I could tell you tons of stories from the Bible, but I would love to be able to quote scripture the way some people can.  The only way to do that is to keep reading and continue to grow closer to the Lord. 

 

Things seem so much clearer and in perspective when you’re in a close walk with Him.  Not to mention, I want to regain my passion for Him.  I want to be totally on FIRE for my Savior.  I’m challenging myself to read just ONE chapter of the Bible per day.  I know that I’m insanely busy, but I’ve come to the conclusion that having a 6-pack isn’t going to get me anywhere in Heaven ;) 

 Tanka Bar

This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop working out, or that I’m going to end my love affair with nutritious foods that I love to conjure up by any means.  It just means I need to refocus again on what’s important.  What my goals are in life, and what kind of person I want to be, shining like a light for God.

Want to join me in the Bible challenge?

XOXO.

 

6 responses »

  1. Wow. Those lyrics blew me away. I will have to listen to the song later (no speakers right now) and your post was right on.

    I want to join your bible challenge!
    Whats the haps?

    ~Missy

    Reply
  2. I’ll join the challenge for sure!! It is really unfortunate, but living for Christ has really secluded me from my “friends”. I have lost many best friends and people close to me because I chose and still choose everyday to make Christ my number 1 priority. But I know God will bring others into my life who will show me what real friendship is! He is so faithful and good, I know he will provide for my hubby and I :)

    Reply
    • Thanks, girly! I think it will really be a blessing in our lives! God WANTS to share EVERYTHING with us and the only way to learn more about him is through His word. I know what you mean about being secluded…it IS unfortunate, but then again God is probably protecting you from the things that could bring you down…I know it’s hard to see it, but IRON SHARPENS IRON and maybe those “friends” aren’t the best for your walk with Him. He won’t let anything stand in the way of that. You have a GREAT view on this too…He IS SOOOOO GOOD. Chin up, love! Let me know how your challenge is going, too! I’ll be sharing mine, of course ;) XO. Sami

      Reply
  3. Pingback: My God>Murphy & his law :) « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  4. Pingback: When Everything Falls Apart… « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  5. Pingback: Making Headway. « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

