RSS Feed

When Everything Falls Apart…

Posted on

“You said, You’d never leave or forsake me
When you said, this life is gonna shake me
You said, this world is gonna bring trouble on my soul
This I know…When everything falls apart
Your arms hold me together
When everything falls apart
You’re the only hope for this heart
When everything falls apart, and my strength is gone
I find you mighty and strong, You keep holding on”

Breakfast lately has been enjoyed at my desk, while I’m enjoying YOUR wonderful comments.   Thanks so much to those of your who have decided to join the Bible Challenge with me!  It’s nice to hear your thoughts on daily scripture reading.  It’s also great that we can hold each other accountable to set aside time to do it.

base: 1/3 C. oats + 1/2 scoop AM Vanilla Chai + 1/4 C. unsweet almond breeze + 1 tsp. chia seeds + 1/2 smashed nanner; toppings: sliced nanner, 1 spoonful Better N’ PB, & 1 raw Hail Merry choco macaroon

Today’s chapter comes from the Book of James (chapter 1) and actually contains one of my VERY favorite verses.

“2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.”

4 Veggie Patch Meatless Meatballs, roasted kale, red pepper, yellow pepper, zucchini, carrots, and onions.  La Tortilla Factory wrap slathered in 1.5 tbsp. FF strawberry cream cheese for lunch dessert.

and later in verse 22…

22Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

There is SO much to learn in JUST this chapter.  It tells us a lot about what God expects of his followers, to find JOY in trials because ultimately, they will draw you closer to God, and to not only read the Bible, but to APPLY it to your life…In verses 19-21 it reminds us to be SLOW TO ANGER as well ( I REALLY need to work on this…I tend to get defensive and up in arms at the littlest things, sometimes!)

1 small chunk of Manna Organic Sunseed bread + 1 spoon BN’PB

You should know, I don’t have these posts planned ahead of time.  Call me unorganized, scatter-brained, or irresponsible, but I pray and ask that God would show me what he wants me to write about each morning and leave it all up to Him.  Sure I always incorporate my yummy eats and workouts, but they’re NOT the most important things in life.  That’s what I love about blogging…the freedom!

Sure, you’ll still see my breakfast, lunch, and dinnersand of course you’re still free to ask questions about my eats, but I get REALLY excited when you ask questions about my daily verses! ;)

I’m a little more concerned and interested in spreading the good news and sharing God’s word than I am with the shotty lighting in my foodie pictures anymore…

I still plan on writing about daily events as well, but when I feel like God is calling me to write on a certain topic, I get excited to share it with you all…As I’ve said before, it’s not about religion

What do you think?  Anyone want to share the chapter of the Bible that THEY read today?

XO

7 responses »

  1. Can I just say that I am so excited I stumbled on your blog today? Not only is that song one of my favs right now, but the book of James has to be one of my favs as well! Yay!

    Reply
  2. Yum look at those veggies! I haven’t made veggies like that in a while.

    Reply
  3. mmm i love crispy roasted kale with salads! so crunchy and delicious :)

    Reply
  4. Hey girl….

    This always gets to me….
    “23Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like”

    Guilty.As.Charged. (But I try) (0:

    And, yup! Not religion….relationship.
    ~Missy

    Reply
    • I know!! I think we are all guilty of that…it’s SO hard to keep the things we’re learning in the forefront of our minds! All we can do is TRY :) God knows our heart and He can see if we’re trying to live by His word!

      Reply
  5. I’ve been going over the book of Romans with a friend and we’ve only done the first three chapters or so but it has already taught me a lot! It always does. The Bible continues to teach even if you’ve read it a hundred times! That’s why God always says that the Bible is ALIVE!!! I love your Bible verses by the way :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

