RSS Feed

I Wanna Be Like Mike

Posted on

Anyone remember this old song?  If I could be like Mike :)

It’s been stuck in my head since this morning for some reason.  I actually remember 8th grade, having to sing this song with my homeroom class for the entire junior high as part of our “character first program” at school.  Ohh the good old days…

Truth be told, I felt ontop of the world yesterday on my way home from basketball open gym.  It was a wonderful, endorphin releasing 2 hours of exercise and I didn’t feel like I was doing any “work” at all.  PURE fun.  Isn’t that what exercise is supposed to be?

Max heart rate: 192!!  Calories burned: 1002?!   DANG, that’s some good cardio ;)

Anyway, I was energized beforehand by one of these babies:

Blueberry Crisp Clif Bar! 

REWIND to this morning & afternoon for eats!

Lunch had its own photo shoot at my desk and was one of my faveeee meals…aka a boss salad from Simply Turkey & More.

Baby spinach & spring mix as a base, shredded carrots, broccoli, cucumbers, and cherry tomatoes with chickpeas (hidden!) with Fat-Free Tomato Basil dressing on the side

Can you see the hiding chickpeas? :)  For some whole grains, I chose the multi-grain bread to accompany my salad.  It is seedy, nutty, and delicious!

Just hours before, I had eaten breakfast at my desk as well!  I’ve been bringing it along to work in some klassy tupperware and thoroughly enjoyed.

Not exactly a gorgeous picture, but it sure was delicious!  Believe it or not, I used whole wheat couscous in place of oats!  Cooked them up in the microwave in water & sugar-free syrup, added a mashed bananner, and some fat free cottage cheese with peanut flour.  Voila!  Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Oats Couscous .

Obviously, there were more eats than just this, as I haven’t shared my dinner with you, but I’ve really got to run, so I’ll wrap it up by filling you in on some EXCITEMENT in the foodie world!

For you Northern California readers out there, Petaluma Poultry, pioneer and leader in the organic foods industry, is celebrating its 40th anniversary by offering rock bottom prices of the 1970’s. 
For one day only on Friday, September 24th (TODAY!), Rocky JR Whole Body Chicken will be $0.99 lb at ALL Northern California Whole Foods locations. Take advantage! ;)

Don’t forget to enter my Jules Jewelry giveaway for a chance to win a beautiful, handcrafted pearl bracelet!

 

And last, but certainly not least, VITALICIOUS (my BELOVED), has decided to initiate a new contest for followers of their Facebook page to win “VITAFan of the Month“.  All you have to do is post a photo of you and your Vitacreations on their Facebook page and they’ll choose one each month to win some Vitatops & Vitabrownies along with being featured on their page!!

XOXO.

 

4 responses »

  1. i need to buy this peanut flour! it’s rapidly spreading on the blogosphere so it must be tasty/healthy:)

    Reply
  2. chocolatecoveredseashells

    OH! Blueberry crisp cliff bar is one of the best =) (Next to carrot cake!)

    Reply
  3. Clif bars ROCK! They’re like a “healthy” “organic” cookie and make my life much more enjoyable. I like the oatmeal raisin best.

    Reply
  4. 192??? I bet I can get my heart rate higher than yours! :) My highest so far was 180, but starting on Thursday, I start the max interval training!!

    - Surrogate Todd

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

