RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 11, 2011

Sidewalk Prophets

Posted on

This weekend may have included a bit more excitement that I had initially let on…

Although, the blueberry pie pancakes that Katie created and I made for breakfast on Saturday were delicious, they didn’t quite compare to the concert I got to attend on Sunday night after a two-hour basketball sesh with the babe.

SIDEWALK PROPHETS, one of my favorite bands ever was in town and going to be doing a $10 concert on a neighboring high school’s football field. 

For those of you who have yet to experience the awesomeness of their music, allow me to enlighten you.  Listen here, to a few of my favorite songs by the band, including Just Might Change Your Life, Words I Would Say, and You Love Me Anyway.

Believe it or not, the drummer, Justin Nace is from our area, and his younger sister & mine went to Christian school together.

In this photo, Justin is the third from the left in the grey shirt and tie.  The band was promoting something awesome that I proudly took part in to help women in the Congo.  Did you know, 40% of women there will be rapedI could not even imagine.

All you have to do is text “mysister” (all one word) to number 20222, and $10 will be put on your phone bill.  Seriously?  Think about the fact that you pay $10 for a meal…isn’t it completely worth it to, just ONCE, put money toward a cause like this that could potentially help a hurting woman through a time in her life when it feels like there is no hope? I know it wasn’t a hard decision for me.

 

It was an absolutely gorgeous night (once the BRUTAL sun went down a bit), and we thoroughly enjoyed it as a family.  Jarid said he liked the band a lot, too!  Poppa FF even treated us all to snow cones to quench our thirst.

SUGAR FREE BAHAMA MAMA <3  It was perfectly refreshing. YUM.

 

Watermelon for the boy. I think we had a little too much fun with the fact that they turned our mouths crazy shades of red.

The weekend definitely ended on a sweet note.

Ta-ta, loves <3

 

XO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers