RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 12, 2011

What Drives You?

Posted on

Today, I found the motivation I needed to wake up early in this chicky’s pancake recipe.  I would make these everyday if I had an endless supply of fresh blueberries.

I know, I know, you’re tired of hearing about how delicious they are.

Take a peek instead? :)

(1/3 C. ww flour, 2 tbsp. oat bran, 1/2 c. blueberries, 1/3 C. unsweetened coconut milk, a dash of salt, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 Splenda packet)

Yes, these were totally worth getting up an extra half hour early to make.

 Okay…this daily devotional really hit home.  You see, it isn’t easy living at home as a 22-year-old, after having lived in an apartment on your own.  Schedules conflict, bathroom time has to be shared, cooking is limited, and heads butt, but overall, I need to remember how important it is to God that I respect & honor my parents. 

After a rush of certifications to process at work in the morning, it was nearing noon quickly, and since the weather has been so gorgeous lately, I couldn’t help but want to be outside. 

After a quick stroll around the capitol, it was time to dig into the lunchbox.

Any guesses?  I’ll save you the trouble…I was reading in my new book, “Must’ve Been Something I Ate” that kelp noodles are SUPER for thyroid health. 

 So, I gave them a whirl at the beach using Elise’s avocado/pea concoction, but Monica’s thai peanut noodles sounded good, too! 

For the sauce:

  • 1/4 C. peanut flour
  • 1 tsp. siracha (depending how hot you like it)
  • 1 tbsp. maple syrup
  • a sprinkle of chili powder
  • water to thin

You just rinse the kelp noodles, microwave them for 1 min, and then add the sauce!  Mine were accompanied by steamed broccoli. Thanks for the idea, Monica (my favorite red-headed Mexican ;))

Lunch dessert was fresh watermelon (unpictured).

Getting back into my routine, means returning to my Insane Abs DVD & Ab Ripper X, but also outdoor basketball, which I couldn’t be happier about.

942 calories burned; max hr 183 – DANG.

After my little shenanigans on the basketball court, I came home to a house full of people and a grilled feast on the deck courtesy of Momma & Poppa FF.

My plate was chock full of nutrients and deliciousness.  Squash, zucchini, roasted red potatoes, yellow and red pepper, onion, mushrooms, and grilled chicken breast. 

We each made our own little foil packets and I was quite proud of mine!

Everyone had a wonderful time just hanging out and enjoying the sunshine.  To me, grilling and cookouts were made for summer.

My Momma is such a cutie pie.  I’m a little jealous of her tan, too, as mine has faded immensely since our return home from the beach!

I also made a protein shake for dessert, with the last of my ABOUT TIME protein packets *tear*.  It looked the same as all of those other green smoothies on blogs, so I’ll spare you the picture.

Two question Tuesday time:

What has been your favorite adventure this summer? 

What summer foods are your favorite?

XO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers