RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 13, 2011

The Silver Lining

Posted on

I sprained my ankle at basketball.

But my sweet boyfriend gave me this adorable card

That has kept a smile on my face since the moment he showed up at my office with it yesterday afternoon

We got to eat lunch together, and I was pretty proud of my salad baby that was thrown together in the Keystone Cafe, across the street from my cubicle

baby spinach, beets, carrots, broccoli, cucumber, mushrooms, green pepper, chickpeas, tomatoes, and roasted vegetables

I don’t think it’s possible for me not to be happy when he’s around. 

Sure it’s a little post, but it’s the little things that matter the most (:

 

Let’s Get Personal

Posted on

Breakfast: Kashi 7 grain waffle, 1/2 mashed banana, fat-free cottage cheese, cinnamon, & sugar-free syrup

Isn’t it cool how daily devotionals seem to be JUST what you need to hear sometimes?  I love how God does that.  It makes me feel like He’s really close (even though I know He always is). 

Lunch salad: shredded romaine, tomato, snap peas, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumber, & turkey breast lunchmeat, with homemade honey mustard on the side

Truth be told, I’ve been feeling a little defeated recently.  Things at home seem to be slipping downhill slowly, and I’m not sure how to deal with it.  I will be paying rent, starting next month, and I almost feel like I would rather be staying somewhere else (where I can shower when I want, workout when I want, & come/go as I please) if I’m going to be paying.  Not that I don’t love every single person in my family, but it can be frustrating when I get a lecture for spending all my time working out, for a streak left on the countertop after I clean something up, or for not closing my lips around my toothbrush when I brush my teeth.  Yes, this is a reality at 22 years-old

fresh watermelon snack

As much as I appreciate the fact that my parents put a roof over my head and would do anything for me if I asked, I can only handle so much micromanaging at this point in my life.  For the most part, I have my own schedule, but I feel like they don’t respect me at all as an adult.  In fact, I’ve been told that my job is “a joke”, I don’t “have any real responsibilities”, and I “am very dependant” on them.  I thought about things realistically, and I guess they’re right.  I feel like nothing I do, in their eyes is respectable.

snack #2: peanut flour paste & baby carrots

-I bought my own car & make payments every month
-I’m on my own car insurance plan & have monthly payments
-I’m paying my way through school (although, Poppa FF did pay for my first two books as a special treat)
-I am on my own cell phone plan which I pay monthly (both sisters and my grandparents are on my parents’)
-I work a full-time job & took full-time classese last semester so I could play college basketball
-I’m taking part-time classes over the summer

Dinner: grilled vegetables (squash, zucchini, peppers, onions, mushrooms) in Free Zesty Italian dressing, grilled chicken

My wonderful boyfriend was the one who brought most of these things to my attention when I was venting to him last night.  He is easily the only thing keeping me sane right now, and the parents are actually quite charming while he is around.

Dessert- strawberries mixed with vanilla Oikos greek yogurt

What would you do in my situation?  Are you a twenty some-thing living at home?  Do you pay rent? I’m not sure what to think or feel, so any opinion is welcomed (: 

 

XO.

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers