RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 18, 2011

Thrive In 30!

Posted on

 When Krystal contacted me from Sequel Naturals to announce their awesome THRIVE IN 30 challenge, I couldn’t wait to get started!  As a fan of every single VEGA product I’ve tried, I knew that with this company endorsing, it must be pretty legit. 

Although I already eat a healthy diet, I figured any tips and tricks that I could gain from the program couldn’t hurt!  Here’s a little bit about the head man, Brendan Brazier:

Hi! I’m  Brendan Brazier and I’ll be your guide on a 30 day journey that will increase your knowledge about nutrition, provide you with an alternative to traditional fitness principles and give you a fresh approach to total body health.

For me it all began at the age of 15, when I decided to become a professional Ironman triathlete. Since Ironman competitions combine a 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile cycle, and marathon (26.2 miles of running), making a full-time career of racing clearly requires a serious approach to training. But I loved the Ironman lifestyle, so for no other reason than enjoyment, I happily pursued my goal.

Given the magnitude of my investment in preparing my body for professional competition, I knew adhering to the most effective training program possible would give me a sizable advantage, so I looked at the training programs of some of the world’s top professional Ironman athletes with the plan of mimicking their routines.

To distinguish what elevated the best athletes from the typical, I also looked at training regimens of those with respectable yet average performance. What I found surprised me: the average athlete’s program differed very little from the elite.

If training discrepancies were minimal and natural talent can only get you so far, what caused some athletes to pull out ahead of the rest of the pack? The most significant difference I found between the upper-echelon elites and the moderately-performing athlete had little to do with trainingit was almost all about recovery.

Breakthrough performances are hinged on the rate at which the body can regenerate itself after training. Realizing this, quick and complete recovery became my focus. And as I discovered, diet has the single greatest impact on recovery. In fact, food choices can account for up to 80 percent of the total recovery process.

My focus then shifted specifically to nutrition—not because I had an interest in nutrition—but simply because I knew that what I ate could very well be the difference between having a pro-career or not!

I raced Ironman triathlons professionally for seven years. But beyond racing professionally, I’ve learned that optimal nutrition is a means to a full, energetic, productive and enjoyable life—regardless of your personal goals.Simply put, premium nutrition will make any challenge you face easier.

Through trial and error, I discovered that with the perfect combination of the right foods, it was possible to achieve incredible levels of fitness that went far beyond what I could have achieved on a regular diet. This perfect combination evolved for me in the form of a whole food, plant-based diet.

You can sign up here for FREE lessons each day, plus 15% off VEGA products!

Here is a little sneak peek of what was in the first lesson:

What have you got to lose?  Are YOU UP FOR THE CHALLENGE?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers