RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 20, 2011

What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday

Posted on

I know, I know…this is a food blog, so the lack of meal pictures recently is probably a bit of a let down…I promise, I’ll make it up to you with this “What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday“…here we go:

For her birthday, my friend, Mandy and I went out to her restaurant of choice, Hong Kong City. 

I hate that they call steamed shrimp with veggies “special diet food”, but I couldn’t resist ordering it.  This combo from a Chinese place simply can’t be beat. 

broccoli, shrimp, carrots, bamboo shoots, bok choy, water chestnuts, green peppers, and mushrooms with shrimp

I don’t know what makes the difference between their steaming and mine, but the shrimp always turn out to plump up SO big, and the veggies are perfect.

Too full for the cookie, but kept the fortune ;)

It was a fun night with a good friend. 

Lunches, as of late, have been dateless, but delicious.  I didn’t get to share with you all, but JARID was selected for one of the jobs he has been interviewing for!  I couldn’t be prouder (: 

Since we haven’t been going out to lunch, I’ve been throwing a hodge podge of ingredients together…all pretty healthy, might I add.

romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, navy beans, roasted green beans, mushrooms, and onions with evoo valencia orange dressing

Beet & cucumber salad with apple cider vinegar + Splenda

PIZZA QUINOA - 1/3 c. dry organic quinoa cooked in 1/4 C. light ragu + 1/2 c. water, mixed with nutritional yeast & garlic lovers hummus; steamed snap peas on the side

money shot ;)

 Annnnndddd snacks include things like apples the size of my face.I wasn’t lying.

After work, I’ve been heading to the gym for some time on the elliptical/dreadmill and an ab routine with the boy.  Sometimes, I even think ahead and make my dinner before I go so it’s waiting for me when I get home.

roasted veggie bowl: kale, cauliflower, zucchini, carrots, red pepper, broccoli & mushrooms

It’s so nice just to pop a bowl out of the fridge and nosh away, especially after a workout.

Of course, I needed something more than just vegetables for dinner, so I have been whipping up peanut butter chocolate ABOUT TIME protein shakes for a dessert-like ending to my night. 

If you want a smoothie to last longer, I recommend eating it with a spoon.  Otherwise, it’s entirely too easy to gulp it down in this heat.

1 scoop About Time chocolate peanut butter whey protein, 8 ice cubes, splash of unsweet vanilla almond milk, water to thin, and 2 handfuls of baby spinach

If you haven’t tried xanthan gum in your smoothies yet, do it now.  It makes the consistency like that of a giant, milkshake.  SO yummy.  Janetha is the one who first opened my eyes to it.  Just another reason why I love the girl!

 

That’s all for now!  I’ll leave you with today’s verse:

“Based on the gift they have received, everyone should use it to serve others, as good managers of the varied grace of God. If anyone speaks, his speech should be like the oracles of God; if anyone serves, his service should be from the strength God provides, so that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To Him belongs the glory and the power forever and ever.
-1 Peter 4:10-11

XOXO.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers