RSS Feed

Beach Bums, OCNJ Style.

Posted on

We may not always have the picture perfect family relationships, but when it comes down to it, we would do anything for each other

When you live with people, there are bound to be confrontations, especially when you throw family dynamics into the mix.  Fortunately, we have beach trips like the one this weekend to give us a little break from reality and just allow us to enjoy each others’ company for a little while.

We rented a room for a night at the Tahiti Inn, just off of the Boardwalk at 9th street.

The room was decent, but I was a little disappointed that it didn’t include a microwave.  I brought along some Coach’s Oats to make for breakfasts

Basic, but clean, which in my opinion, is most important. 

The place had a few weird rules, like the fact that the pool closed at 6pm, but in the end, we didn’t spend much time there anyway.

Before we went, I did a little research to get an idea of some boardwalk food that I could cope with.  Unlike my sisters, I couldn’t stomach eating HUGE greasy pieces of pizza (although somedays it looked good!) with cheese fries everyday for lunch.

The Bashful Banana was my saving grace while we were there.  I never thought in a million years that I would be so excited for meals over the course of our stay.  Usually I’m stuck eating the same boring meal, steamed shrimp or grilled chicken & side salads.

See what I mean?  Homemade veggie burgers & hummus, turkey cheese steaks, peanut noodles, and whole grain options?  Heaven sent.

You haven’t even seen their breakfast menu!

Not to mention their delicious case of wholesome baked goods!  No worries about the microwave, because it gave me an excuse to try out their Blueberry Oat Bran, Raisin Carrot Walnut, and Banana Oat Whole Grain muffins made with no refined sugars, and low in calories & carbohydrates.  They had vegan options, too! (<–Can’t wait to go back next year and try the vegan brown rice pudding!)

One day for lunch, Momma FF even came with me!  I was excited to share the experience with her.  Out of all the yummy things SHE would’ve enjoyed on the boardwalk, she chose to try something I liked.  It really meant a lot to me (:

She chose the Mexican pizza- a white tortilla with salsa, onion, black olives, tomatoes, and cheddar cheese under the broiler with some vegetable bean soup.

 While I went with the naked veggie burger (brown rice based) served on mixed greens with tomatoes, homemade hummus, carrots, cucumbers & sprouts with watermelon & honeydew.

With chilled gazpacho soup as an appetizer, complete with celery stick & multi-grain bread (which I skipped because I wanted to save room).  I wish we had been there for more than just the weekend, so I could’ve tried more of their dishes!  Especially breakfast ;)Other highlights during the course of the trip included nights on the boardwalk.Poppa FF, Morgy, & I hit the arcade and had a blast while the kids were doing the rides in the amusement park area. We did some shopping, too.I think this may have been the first trip to the beach that I didn’t purchase a tie-dye t-shirt! Don’t ask me why, but I seem to be drawn to them.

I know, I’m kind of working backward, but I guess I posted the most exciting stuff first, but to rewind a bit, each morning began with a run & a bike ride.

I woke up at my leisure with no alarm and no schedule, which was AMAZING in itself, around 8/8:30am. The boardwalk usually wasn’t TOO busy until I was on my way back to the hotel.

One morning after my 5.5 mile run, the family decided to go on a bideride together.

We went the entire length of the boardwalk (which wasn’t too far – only about 2.5 miles) to a restaurant that Momma FF was a huge fan of.  I think my Godfather introduced her to it, so it was special.

Oves makes their very own apple cider donuts, which are apparently pretty popular.  We got to sit outside and enjoy some iced coffee together while the waitress took care of our meal orders.

Other than the iced coffee, they didn’t have much that appealed to me, and I was really craving peanut flour paste.  Knowing that restaurants don’t always have things you want to eat, you always go prepared (: 

I brought along an empty plastic tub (the little tiny ones that trident white gum comes in!), filled it with one serving of peanut flour, and mixed some at the table.  All I ordered was a banana and I whipped out a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat, low carb wrap to insert the fillings.  Everyone is used to this kind of behavior, so it was more of a joke than anything.

More important than the food was the company.  The sisters loved their cheesy omelette and chocolate chip pancakes! It was a breezy morning, so eating outside on the deck was perfectly relaxing. 

After breakfast & the bike ride back to our place, it was BEACH TIME.

Momma & Poppa FF got to spend some quality time with their goddaughter, too.  They were jumping waves and oblivious to the fact that I was snapping pictures.  Although, it’s kind of expected with the blog and all.

You can bet I wasn’t going to miss out on photo opps with Bowman, either!  His first OC, NJ experience would be fully documented ;)

Momma & baby <3

Before I knew it, lunchtime rolled around.  It was actually more like 1:30PM when I ventured out to The Bashful Banana for this divine spread.

Homemade hummus with 2 slices of whole grain toast, pita chips (which I nixed- I’d rather have the BREAD), red peppers, green peppers, cucumbers, carrots, & celery (underneath).

I’m pleased to say, my tan from the Outer Banks has FINALLY returned :D  and more than that, we had a wonderful time together overall.  I love my family and am very grateful that they included me in their trip, regardless of the frustrating posts where I vent about our disagreements, I am extremely blessed to have the family that I do.

With that, Happy Monday, bloggies <3

XO.

 

 

7 responses »

  1. Glad you had fun :)

    Reply
  2. Such a beautiful family :) Looks like a fun weekend with them! Especially the baby ;)

    P.s. the cheese I used was some swiss that I had leftover from a bbq we had. I typically use string cheese though! I buy the low fat and just pull it apart and it melts wonderfully. Its also the perfect size!!

    Reply
  3. I wish I could try Peanut Flour! Does it taste just like Peanut Butter? I love how you used an empty Trident container to hold it! :)

    Reply
    • Lol. yep! Desperate times call for desperate measures (: Peanut flour itself doesn’t taste like peanut butter, but add some sweetener (think Splenda or sugar-free syrup), and salt and you’ve got peanut butter!

      Reply
  4. what a great trip! it looks like you all had an amazing time! :)

    Reply
  5. I absolutely ADORE Ocean City, NJ! Looks like you guys had a wonderful trip! When I make it back there, the first place I’m going to check out is the bashful banana after your rave review! Thanks for all the great information as always!!!! :)

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Ode To Peanut Flour – Giveaway! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

