RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 26, 2011

The Protein Bakery Review & Giveaway!

Posted on

Being a healthy living blogger, it’s a rare occasion that you find brownies, blondies, and cookies that you can incorporate into a  “clean” eating plan and feel good about.  You all know what I mean…somehow, those “fat-free” versions that we try to replace the REAL thing with never really satisfy us…that, or they taste like the cardboard box that they come in. 

When I heard about all the hype about The Protein Bakery, I had to see for myself.  I’m a bit of a pessimist, sometimes ;) 

I mean, how can a DELICIOUS brownie, blondie or cookie have enumeration like this?

I’ll tell you how…

  • They’re wheat free, because they grind up rolled oats to bake the treats, which in turn adds dietary fiber!
  • They use HIGHEST QUALITY (the purest whey protein isolate), all-natural ingredients without preservatives or additives.
  •  They produce all of their products in SMALL batches, so they’re always sent to the customers FRESH.

The best part is, these are pretty much the ONLY baked goods that would totally fit into my THRIVE IN 30 plan

The creator himself is pretty impressive, too! 

Like he says in his intro, the Protein Bakery makes 6 different brownie flavors, 3 blondie flavors, and 12 cookie flavors! Here is where I rant and rave about my favorites :)

#1 on my list was the Coconut Walnut Blondie.

 

First and foremost, I know some of you HATE the word “moist“, but there is just no other way to describe the dense, fudgy texture of these phenomonal baked goodies.  I’m not a fan of more “cakey” and light , so these fit the bill quite well….ALMOST gooey <3 

 

Granted, there are 300 calories in each brownie, but let me tell you, if you can eat the whole thing at once, I’ll be impressed.  They are MASSIVE in size.  When sitting in my palm, the corners were OFF of my hand.  Not to mention, they’re each about an inch thick, no lie. 

#2 favorite, WICKED Mint Brownie.

Yep, I went there.  Anyone who has ever had mint chocolate chip ice cream knows what I’m talking about when I say, chocolate & mint are an exceptional combo.  This brownie takes them to a whole new level of decadence.

ALL recognizeable ingredients.  11g of protein?  In a gourmet brownie?  Believe it.

 Coming in at #3: The Colossal Trail Mix Cookie

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that anyone who claims NOT to love cookies, is a liar :)  If they’re serious, they haven’t tried The Protein Bakery’s Colossal Chocolate Cherry or Trail Mix versions.  13g of protein, to boot!

This hearty blend of whey protein, rolled oats, dried cranberries, raisins, almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, coconut, and fresh cinnamon will win your heart…if it doesn’t, these bad boys will:

Yes, you could basically classify these as a cordial cherry…only better.  Top quality chocolate chips with dried cherries in a blanket of cocoa-y cookie dough<3

9g of protein?  5g of fiber?  Mmmhmm. Forget the protein shake, and hand me a cookie.

 Now that I’ve got your drooling at your keyboard, I’ll do you a favor and fill you in on where you can pick up some Protein Bakery goods for yourself, cause you better believe I’m not sharing ;) They are primarily an online bakery, so you can have the treats shipped to you from ANYWHERE.  Just shop online, fill up your basket, and checkout.  They’ll be delivered right to your doorstep.  Orrrr they’ve got a workshop/corporate office at 20 West 20th Street (between 5th & 6th Avenues), Suite #309 NY, New York 10011. You can always swing by to pick some up there, but they recommend you call first to make sure they aren’t out on delivery.

NOW, for the FUN part.

Stephen is SO generous, and decided that he’d like to share his creations with you guys, too!  ***Here’s how to enter:

1. Comment on this post telling me which one of the Protein Bakery goods you’d like to try.

2. Become a FAN of the Protein Bakery on Facebook & leave a comment letting me know you have.

3.  Follow the Protein Bakery on Twitter and leave and comment letting me know.

4. Blog about this giveaway and link back to this post.

You’ll win an assortment of 2 brownies/blondies, 2 colossal cookies and 4 cookie 2-packs!  With shipping, the package is worth more than $45.00!

Thanks so much, Stephen for sending some of the products for me to try!  I’m a HUGE fan (:

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers