RSS Feed

Resolution Free.

Posted on

I don’t make resolutions.  Not because I don’t appreciate improvement,  but I feel like recognizing a need for change requires action no matter what time of year it is.  I think it’s ridiculous that people actually wait for January to roll around before they take any initiative.  I guess this year, for me, was a time of reflection, which caused a new goal-oriented mindset.  Traditionally, my ambition couldn’t have kicked in at a better time since a bunch of you guys are setting goals for this year, too :)

I’ve come up with this list of things I’d like to aim for…not just for 2012, but for the rest of my life:

1.  Spend more time in prayer.

I want to be a woman of God who is constantly “in touch” with Him.  After all, don’t we talk to those closest to us at least once a day?  It just makes sense that in order to grow a closer relationship with Him, I need to talk to him more.

2. Read more books.

[source]

Jarid & I got a few new books for Christmas that we read together like devotionals (doing a chapter or so per day).  The first book we read together was Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller.  Here’s my “to read” list:

3. Run my first marathon.

Yep, that’s right.  As soon as basketball season is over, I’m going to start training.  I started once before, but it was put on hold because of damage to my sciatic nerve.  2012 is the year!

4. Cook…I mean, really cook.

Of course, I will be maintaining my healthy lifestyle, eating lots of vegetables, etc, but I want to actually try new recipes, not just steam vegetables and throw together salads every single day.  Sure, I enjoy them, and I’ll continue to, but I want to take the time to actually make an entire, enjoyable meal.  Jarid gave me this awesome cookbook for Christmas, and I can’t wait to try out some of them!  Cooking for two is much more fun than cooking for one :)  On my “to make” list from the blogworld is:

Creamy Spinach Pasta with Tomatoes @ Broccoli Hut

Sweet Potato Chili @ Chocolate Covered Katie

sweet potato chili

who am I kidding…the list is MUCH longer than that ;)

5. Invest in people.

This is going to sound terrible, but sometimes I feel like I don’t take enough time to appreciate and care for others.  I’m never impolite, but I’d like to start going the extra mile to let people know I care about them…I think it’s part of my testimony and compassion for others is a trait of Jesus that He wants us to have too.  Whether it’s a quick text message, an email, whatever…I want to be an encouragement to people around me.

So, here we go…we’re already 6 days into 2012.  My goals are being reached for.  If you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some praying, reading, texting, emailing, cooking, and running to do (:

Any book suggestions out there?  What are your goals or resolutions for the year?

XOXO.

4 responses »

  1. My resolution for the year is to run a half-marathon (my first one ever)! Let’s hope I can do it!

    Reply
  2. Funny you should plan to run a marathon the same year I plan to run one- you know that means we should run some long runs together!

    Reply
  3. Great goals! :)
    I need to work on #1 too!

    Reply
  4. Looooove this post. So amazing things in here. My fav would have to be the invest in people one. That is hard for me because of how many times I’ve been burned, but isn’t it totally worth it? Sometimes people suprise me with their kindness and love!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

