RSS Feed

Back-to-Back♥

Posted on

Last year’s college basketball team that I was apart of left some pretty big shoes to fill.  We were State runners-up, 1st place EPCC champions, and 1st seed in the tournament.

There were some trying times for me this season, but ultimately, I was praying a lot that God would help me be patient and TRUST Him.  He had it all under control all along.

The team we were playing on Sunday was a team that had beat us once, during the season, and we had beat once…both very close games.  Since we were first seed, we were able to host the tournament, which was nice so that more family members & fans could be there.

The game was physically and mentally rough.  The kind where you feel as if your team is playing against not only the other team, but the referees as well.  It was truly a test of what kind of people our team was made of.  We had nothing in our favor, except one another.  We endured everything from one of our starters fouling out,  to one of our other post players practically breaking her already weak ankle…She finished the game, unable to walk. Literally.

In the end, we prevailed and had a glorious time celebrating.

From the HACC website:

Congratulations to the HACC Women’s Basketball Team who captured the EPCC Tournament Championship by defeating Lehigh Carbon in a 69-64 down to the wire victory. Coach Michele Kieff was named EPCC Coach of the Year. Catherine “CC” Webster and Kira Jaroszewski were named to the All Tournament Team, and Sami Cox was named Conference MVP for the second year in a row. The Hawks also picked up the honor of finishing first in the EPCC this year.”


I couldn’t imagine my college basketball career ending any more wonderfully.  I’m so thankful that I got to be a part of something so special and I can’t express enough appreciation to the coaches and the girls enough for their support and friendships.  In high school, my junior & senior year, we won our league championships & senior year I was named League MVP.  Now, in my freshman & sophomore college years, we won back-to-back Conference championships and I was named EPCC MVP both years.  God is so good to me…I owe every talent, ability, victory, and success to Him. 

Along with my parents, Jarid, family & friends, I’d like to thank each and every person who has encouraged me along the way.  Your confidence in my abilities has meant the world to me, and I couldn’t have gathered the courage to maintain a college courseload, pursuing my dietetic degree, played college basketball, and kept up with my full-time job in human resources.

<3

7 responses »

  1. You deserve it sami you are a very special person …. ..i was really glad I was able to make the game luv you Aunt candy

    Reply
  2. Congrats Sami!!! How exciting and awesome!!! You have definitely worked so hard!!

    Reply
  3. yay CONGRATS!!!!!!!! :)

    Reply
  4. This is seriously awesome lady. Im so proud and excited for you! I can only imagine what an amazing feeling this is :)

    Reply
  5. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Savoring the Sweet Life

  6. Pingback: Comes and Goes. | Savoring the Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

