RSS Feed

Dr. McDougall’s Soups

Posted on
mcdougall's
Dr. McDougall’s Ready To Eat Soups

Oh.My.Goodness.  First of all, thank you SO much to Rita from Dr McDougall’s Right Foods for sending me a sampler package!  I have never considered myself to be a “soup person”, but these ready-to-eat soups have given me a new perspective!  They come in seven delicious flavors: Lentil, Vegetable, Black Bean, Chunky Tomato, Split Pea, Minestrone, and Roasted Pepper Tomato.  My favorites were Split Pea, Lentil, and Roasted Red Pepper.  I couldn’t choose just one.  In fact, just blogging about them is making me crave some soup! 

 

“Dr. McDougall’s Roasted Pepper Tomato Soup is a delicious source of lycopene. Enjoy it with a sandwich or hot crusty bread. 80 calories and 65% Vitamin C. It is a tasty way to warm up with the wonderful flavor or roasted bell pepper and tomato soup.

Best Ingredients: FILTERED WATER, TOMATOES, ROASTED RED BELL PEPPERS, ORGANIC EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, CORN STARCH, ONION, GARLIC, SEA SALT, SPICES.”

“Dr. McDougall’s Split Pea Soup blends tasty split peas with whole grain barley. It is a delicious, hearty soup with the goodness of home, and it provides complete protein essential amino acids.

Best Ingredients: FILTERED WATER, SPLIT PEAS, VEGETABLES (ONIONS, CELERY, CARROTS, GARLIC), BARLEY, NATURAL FLAVOR (NON ANIMAL SOURCE), POTATO STARCH, YEAST EXTRACT, SEA SALT, CORN STARCH, ORGANIC EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, SPICES.”

“Dr. McDougall’s Lentil Soup blends savory lentils with brown rice and vegetables in a perfectly seasoned broth. It is a delicious, hearty soup that provides complete protein essential amino acids.

Best Ingredients: FILTERED WATER, LENTILS, VEGETABLES (ONIONS, CARROTS, CELERY, TOMATOES, GARLIC), ORGANIC BROWN RICE, ORGANIC WINE, NATURAL FLAVOR (NON ANIMAL SOURCE, YEAST EXTRACT, POTATO STARCH, SPICES, SEA SALT.”

  I also love the fact that I can pronounce everything in the ingredients list!  Wholesome ingredients if I’ve ever seen them! 

They make for great low-calorie meals, and every one of them kept me full for hours.  You don’t even need a can opener!  Talk about convenience.  They’re packaged in cartons with tear off strips for easy opening!  I actually tossed one in my suitcase for an easy lunch while we were in Florida!  Each soup had distinct flavor and was not incredibly salty like most soups tend to be.   They are also completely natural!  Another great stat to add to the excitement- These soups are vegan and gluten-free!

Depending on the variety, each serving has 70-120 calories, 0-1g of fat, 14-23g carbohydrates, 2-7g of protein, and 2-8g of fiber.  Those stats are unbeatable for soup!  And usually, with those kind of nutritional values, I don’t expect much as far as taste, but every single one of these soups were soooo tasty and left me completely satisfied.  The flavor seriously exploded on my tastebuds.

Thank you so much for sending me your soups, Mr. McDougall!  You are an amazing man for their creation 🙂  I reccommend everyone try them immediately!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Dr. McDougall’s Asian Entrée Cups « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

