RSS Feed

Florida!

Posted on
Well, it’s Monday again!  And I have a ton to fill you in on! I’m sorry I’m not a very good blogger.  It may seem as though I was slacking, but I had good intentions in mind when I was flying out of Baltimore, MD to go stay with my godparents in Florida last Wednesday.  I packed my laptop and all the blogging essentials, but unfortunately, the condo that we were staying in had a password protected wireless connection that we didn’t have the password to!  I thought about drafting blogs in word and then just copying them over for you guys, but then I figured, I’m only going to be here for a few days, why should I spend the valuable R&R time on my laptop instead of spending time with loved ones.  I think it was a good decision, and I knew you guys would forgive me 🙂  Thanks for that, by the way. 
seagatebalcony
My view from the balcony

Anyway, it was an amazing trip.  We were staying at the Sea Gate Condos in Indian Shores.  Wednesday when I got there, I unpacked and got my bathing suit on right away to head down to the beach!  The weather was beautiful!  A little bit windy at times, but I definitely can’t complain.  I got a little bit of a tan, but not much color.  My Nana insisted that I wear sunscreen “just incase”, so I obliged.  Wednesday we went to dinner at a place called the Conch Republic in Indian Shores.  It was magnificent.  It reminded me of a Jimmy Buffet style restaurant with outdoor seating as well as indoor, a decent sized bar area, and an islandy feel.  The menu was great too!  I ordered the Red Snapper, grilled dry (as reccommended by my TT) with steamed broccoli and a baked potato.  That fish was some of the best I have EVER had.  Ahhh if they only had such good seafood in PA…

sea-gatesign
Sea Gate Condos

Thursday morning, I woke up at 6:30 to go for a 5 mile walk with my TT on the beach and got to stick my toes in the Gulf of Mexico 🙂  On the way back we got to watch the sun rise, which was completely stunning.  I ate my breakfast of FF cottage cheese and SF strawberry jelly topped with some Fiber One, and then, we went for breakfast at a restaurant that was the daily breakfast place of choice called The Frog Pond.  I like to make my own food, so when we went out for breakfast I usually just had some coffee and fruit.  My fruit plate came with a huge portion of cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple, grapes, and a slice of orange on the top.  Usually, I just ate some of the melon and saved the rest for dessert after dinner! 

After breakfast, I let my food digest for about 1/2 hour before I took off for my 5 mile run, which I got in everyday except Wednesday.  It felt so good to run outside again as opposed to the treadmill!  Time flies by while running in a scenic setting!

seagate

The condo

My lunches while in Florida consisted of the typical lunch at home, scrumptuous broccoli slaw with a bit of soy sauce, laughing cow cheese, and chickpeas.  It’s like my go-to-dish.  It never gets old for me and keeps me full for hours! Typically I also have fruit with it so my meal is more well-rounded.  Apples are key since I’m not intaking many carbs with this dish.

By the way, there are many more photos to come of the condo and my trip!  I just haven’t gotten a chance to upload them all yet!  Also, stay tuned because there are lots of new and exciting product reviews on the way.

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: If you like Piña Coladas… « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  2. Pingback: The Sunshine State: Part IV « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

