RSS Feed

Good Old Monday Morning

Posted on
Hiya, everyone.  Hope you all had a great weekend!  Mine was pretty fantastic.  Let’s start at the beginning.  Friday night after going to work out at the gym, I headed home to shower and get ready to see the Twilight: New Moon movie with the sisters and the Momma.  Overall, I’d say we had a good time!  The movie was excellent.  Usually by that time of night (it didn’t start until 10:30), I’m exhausted.  Especially after a full day of work and then a hard workout at the gym…don’t even say it! I know, I’m such a grandma for being only 21 years old 🙂  What can I say?! I need my sleep.  I did get a quick nap in between showering and getting ready, so I was held over for a little while.  I also drank a coffee before we left for an extra caffeine boost.  After all, the movie was 2 hours and 1 minute long!  Don’t worry, the movie is so good, the time FLIES by.  Anyway, we got home around 1:15AM, and I’m pretty sure I was out like a light as soon as my head hit the pillow. 

I knew I wanted to get a fairly early start (for the weekend) on Saturday because I was taking a day trip to Lancaster to visit my Aunt, Uncle, and cousins on my Dad’s side of the family.  She’s a freckly lady too!  In fact, everyone thinks that we look like sisters.  She’s also one of my very best friends. 

I woke up Saturday around 8:30, jumped in the shower, cleaned up a little bit, got some gas, and I was on my way!  I got down there around 11:15AM and was thrilled to see everyone.  Around 12ish, we started to make lunch.  My Aunt makes the BEST grilled chicken salads in the world !  I’m not sure why they always taste SO good when she makes them up for me, and why I can’t seem to achieve the same taste at home.  It just consisted of a few chicken tenderloins cooked on the stovetop with spices, lettuce, cucumbers, carrot chips, and salsa!  So simple, but so tastey!  I also had an apple on the side.  After lunch, she took me to this adorable jewelry & consignment store called Deja Vu.  I LOVE consignment shopping!  I ended up with two tops and a pair of starfish earrings, that I had been wanting since my trip to Florida, but I refused to pay the outrageous $60 for a pair down there.  I found ones almost identical at this jewelry store for a mere $14.  Aren’t they cute?!

Starfish Earrings

  After that, we went grocery shopping!  Many of you probably think this is so lame, but I could entertain myself for hours in the grocery store.  Looking at different products, checking out nutritionals, and seeing what’s new on the market!  This particular grocery store was really neat.  It reminded me of a mix between a grocery store and a farmer’s market.  For those of  your who have ever been at a Stouffer’s, you know what I’m sayin’.  They had allllll kinds of fresh produce, which I’m pretty sure came from local farmers?  And almost any kind of organics you could want.  Considering our Giant doesn’t even HAVE an organics section, that was amazing to me!  My aunt introduced me to a calorie free drink while we were there too!  IT was YUMMY.  I love cream soda though, so maybe that’s why I was so infatuated.  It’s called Waist Watchers. Here are the nutritionals and ingredients:

Diet Vanilla Creme Waist Watchers

 After we got all the goods at the grocery store/market, we left for home to watch the Penn State game! 

2009 Lions

They ended up beating Michigan State in their last game 42-14!  I actually didn’t sit and watch most of the game, because I was out running around at Old Navy, where I heard there were some pretty good sales going on!  I came back with this adorable cardigan that I bought on sale:

It’s actually a lot cuter in person, but ya get the picture…literally 🙂

 

When the game was over, we popped in Bride Wars with Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway (two of my all-time favorites!) and ate Chinese food, which I picked up on my way back from Old Navy.    I got the steamed shrimp & broccoli with the sauce on the side and left my rice for them.

It was definitely a chick flick, but a really good one, none-the-less!  Kate realllllly looked like her Momma in this one for some reason!  I have never seen a movie that she looked more like Goldie than this one.

It was a nice and relaxing evening, but before I knew it, it was already getting kind of late.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t had to drive an hour to get home, but I knew that if I had any chance of getting up early to be in at church for choir practice before Sunday School, I’d better get my butt home.  The nice thing about the drive is that it’s almost entirely highway, so it’s not hard to get to and from. 

 

Sunday morning came wayyyy too early, though.  I made it in to choir practice and then  went to Sunday School, which I was actually looking forward to.  I haven’t had a Sunday School class for awhile because there aren’t many other people in my age group at our church anymore.  Ya know, the 20 somethings.  We recently started a women’s study, which consists of 5 women, including myself.  We are reading through this book and talking about what God has been showing us through it:

 

I’ve already been learning a lot. 

After church, I went to the grocery store to stock up on some Clear Splash and Skinny Water (my new obsession).  Reviews to follow!  When I got home, I unloaded the groceries, ate lunch (roasted turkey, green & wax beans, baby carrots, and a wheat roll), and got changed for volleyball, which started at 1.  I was at the gym playing until about 3:30PM and then I did some ab stuff before I left.  When I got home, I ate a roasted turkey salad for dinner which consisted of baby spinach, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, snap peas, and a few raisins.  The star of the salad, however was this bad boy:

Newman’s Own Organic Balsamic Vinegar

Twas the perfect addition!

 

After eating dinner, I left for praise and worship night at the church, where the choir sang two numbers.   It was a great time of fellowship, testimonies, and worship.  After a long day and weekend, I was ready to hit the sack when I got home.

Leave a Reply

