RSS Feed

Penny’s Low Fat Desserts

Posted on

Guilt-free baked goods?! You can count me in!   This Penny is one talented baker!  She has managed to somehow create these heavenly cookies, muffins, and muffin tops that are not only low-fat, but also fairly low in calories and high in fiber! Penny is SO sweet, she sent me a sampler package of some of everything to review!  I loved that they came in individually wrapped convenient plastic wrappers to easy grab and go breakfasts or snacks too!

Penny’s Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Muffin Top

The muffins and muffin tops come in several varieties such as Orange Cranberry, Carrot-Raisin, Apple Cinnamon, Chocolate-Chocolate Chip, and Almond Poppy.  I’m a chocolate kind of girl, and will eat it in any way imaginable, so when you tell me I can eat one of these hefty muffin tops for just 100 calories, 1.5g of fat, 5g of fiber, and 3g of protein, I am ecstatic!  When I tried the Chocolate-Chocolate Chip, as pictured, I actually heated it for 35 seconds in the microwave with the plastic wrap on.  It was sooo perfect.  It tasted like it had just been baked!  I think the wrapper staying on while microwaving retains the moisture in the muffin top to keep it tasting as yummy as possible.  I reccommend it!  The chocolate chips melted and everything!  My second favorite was the Carrot-Raisin muffin top!  It was delectable!  Tasted just like carrot cake, but without the gazillion calories!  The hunks of raisin heated perfectly creating a melt in your mouth muffin top, and the hint of nutmeg really sets it off.  There is only 110 calories, 0g of fat, 4g of fiber, and 2g of protein in each one! 

Penny’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

Now for the cookies!  These bad boys come in 7 flavorsNo Sugar Added Toffee Cinnamon Cookie, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie, No Sugar Added Chocolate Truffle Cookie, White Chocolate Cranberry Cookie, Oatmeal Raisin Cookie, Peanut Butter Cookie, and Chocolate-Chip Cookie. 

 

My favorite were a toss up between the Peanut Butter and the No Sugar Added Toffee Cinnamon cookies.  At 150 calories, the Peanut Butter cookie provides 3g of fat (1.5 saturated),  12g of whole grains, 7g of fiber, and 3g of protein.  These were so yummy!  They kind of reminded me of a warmed up Nutter Butter!  While the No Sugar Added Cinnamon Toffee provides just 100 calories, 2.5g of fat (0g saturated), 6g of fiber, and 3g of protein!  This cookie is for you if you like your baked goods to taste authentic and buttery without the guilt of real fattening ingredients.   

What amazes me about Penny’s products is that even though I stashed mine in the freezer until I was ready to enjoy them, they stayed moist.  They didn’t dry out in the slightest!  And I love that about them!  Their shelf life, if frozen, is 6 months!  You can order these products in bulk and never have to worry that they will “go bad” if you can’t finish them off in a certain amount of time…not that finishing them off would be a problem, because I could eat them alll at once!  🙂

Thanks again, Penny!  Your products are terrific!

Leave a Reply

