RSS Feed

Fantastic Weekend

Posted on

The weekend recap is going to be quite the post, just to warn you ahead of time.  It was full of fun & excitement along with LOTS of good eats! Let’s start at the beginning… 

Friday after work, I went straight to the gym to get a good sweat session in  before my date.  My workout was: 

  • 5 miles in 31.47 on the treadmill
  • 3 sets of planks (1 min. each)
  • a few core workouts from ab ripper
  • oblique exercises on machines (45lbs.)
  • hanging obliques (3 sets of 20 with 10lb. weights)
  • oblique twists with the 4 lb. medicine ball
  • 3 sets of 30 each inner and outer hip flexors with 85lbs.
  • 2 additional miles on the elliptical

After the workout, I grabbed a shower at the gym and got ready in the locker room for my date.  We had plans to meet at his place at 7:00 and dinner reservations for 7:30 at the Rock Bass Grille.  He got us a window seat and we had a beautiful view of this at dinner: 

 

It was amazinggg.  We ordered a shrimp cocktail for our appetizer and I ordered the grilled Red Snapper with a side salad (raspberry vinaigrette on the side) and a baked potato (with ketchup, mustard, salt, & peppa) and he ordered the grilled Tilapia with mac & cheese and rice with a nice white wine.  Nice and uhhh…balanced… haha.  The meal was yummy and there was a great local band playing called the Don Johnson Project. 

Don Johnson Project Band Members

After dinner we decided to go see the new Sandra Bullock movie, “The Blind Side“.  It was EXCELLENT.  I think this was her best performance yet.  The movie was totally inspiring and highly reccommended.  

 

I was pretty exhausted by the time I got home around 12:30, and I knew I had to be up pretty early in the morning around 5ish to get ready to leave for NYC, so I hit the sack!!! 

Yummy Breakfast

 

The next morning was kind of a blurr.  I remember munching on this Suncake (reviews to come!) about an hour after I woke up and took my Synthroid, but the next thing I knew I woke up on a bus with the family to a view of this out the window: 

 

I was thrilled!  I couldn’t wait to get off the bus and get the party touring started.  Our plan of attack was to first go to St. Paul’s Chapel, where they had kind of a memorial from  September 11, 2001. St. Paul’s Chapel served as a place of rest and refuge for recovery workers at the WTC site. For eight months, hundreds of volunteers worked 12 hour shifts around the clock, serving meals, making beds, counseling and praying with fire fighters, construction workers, police and others. 

St. Paul’s Chapel

The inside of this building was absolutely stunning and some of the memorial setup was so emotionally stirring.  It’s hard to believe I was standing in the shelter of the 9/11 victims… 

 

Then we went to see  Ground Zero.  There wasn’t much to look at, but it was neat to be able to say that I was there and it will definitely be an experience I won’t forget anytime soon.  At this point, it was about 11:45 and we decided to stop for lunch at Così, where Life Should Be Delicious 🙂  We each got a “duo” deal which included your choice of 2 of the following:  1/2 sandwich, soup, or 1/2 salad.  I chose the 1/2 Fire Roasted Veggie Sandwich on Wheat with 1/2 Signature Salad and a Coke Zero to drink.  

"Mixed greens tossed with red grapes, pears, pistachios, dried cranberries and Gorgonzola . Tossed with sherry shallot vinaigrette."

 

 Both were SO tasty.  It was the perfectly balanced lunch that I was hoping for while in Rome NYC.  I was really craving sushi and they did have it in the same dining area as the Cosi, but the fam. isn’t too keen on Japanese food, so I just went with it.  I can get sushi anytime!  This trip was about family. 

"A medley of seasonal vegetables: red & yellow peppers, eggplant, artichoke hearts, zucchini, squash and red onions topped with shredded romaine and served on authentic Così flatbread with a creamy feta cheese spread. "

 

 With full bellies, we headed to board the ferry for Liberty & Ellis Islands!  At this point, it was raining like mad, so we bought some umbrellas at the Rite Aide before trekking across the city to hit the Ferry.  The process for boarding that thing was a bit ridiculous.  It was like that of airplane security! The worst part was, it was freezing and we had to take our coats off to walk through the metal detectors since the zippers would’ve set them off!  

Unfortunately, my camera battery died, so the only other pictures I have are on my blackberry, but as soon as my Dad sends me the ones that he took from the trip, I’ll be sure to post them for your viewing pleasure.  🙂 

We had a blast at the Islands, even though we were soaked and freezing.  I was amazed at some of the things that immigrants had to go through at Ellis Island.  Incredible.  I thought I was going to be more jealous of the people who went on the bus trip solely to shop, but seeing all of the historical stuff was far more rewarding than blowing money could’ve ever been.  Don’t let me fool you, I did get two souveniers!  A nice warm hat (since my ears were freezin’!) and an I ♥ NY t-shirt. 

After the Islands, we took the Ferry back to Battery Park where we bought tickets for the subway to take us to the Rockefeller Center.   The Rockefeller Center was probably the most beautiful view of the entire trip.  There was an ice skating rink in front of the gigantic tree along with tons of lights and people.  It was crazy chaotic, but totally worth it. 

Here’s a preview of the other photos to come:

 When we were finished shooting pictures and enjoying the view, we decided to grab some dinner because it was about 6PM and we had to be back at the bus by 7PM to leave for home.  We were going to try to eat at a sit-down restaurant, but the places around the Rockefeller Center were all completely booked.  There were insane lines to even get on the waiting list for most places.  We settled on a little place that offered both a cafeteria style menu with a salad bar, and two other dinner options for meals.  The sisters got chicken fingers and french fries, while the parents went with roasted chicken dinner with zucchini and squash.  I of course went straight for the salad bar and also got a side of zucchini and squash (unpictured), which did NOT disappoint!  In the mix I had roasted cauliflower (AWESOME), cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, carrots, broccoli, honeydew, and some of the most flavorful, spiced tofu that I’ve ever had!

Not as visually appealing is it was in person, but it’ll do!

 I also ate the other Heart Thrive suncake that came in the package, but that too went unpictured.  Along with that, I picked up one of these guys to warm up on the bus ride home, and because I almost had to considering there was a Starbucks on every corner in NYC:

It was the Starbucks Christmas blend!  Sweet & Spicy! Mmmm.   I added SF Vanilla & SF Caramel syrup to perfect the sweetness along with a little sprinkle of cinnamon.  It really hit the spot!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Wow, 5 miles in 31 minutes is amazing! I enjoyed all the pics!

    Come check out my YouBar giveaway!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Tricia! I’ll be sure to check it out! YouBar is AWESOME.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Great Day To Be Alive « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

