RSS Feed

Weekend Rewind

Posted on

Friday

 

After work on Friday, I met my Mom, Uncle, Cousin, Sister, and friend from church, Kimmie, to leave for my best friend’s church dinner theatre play which was about an hour or so away.  We figured it would be better than all taking different cars.  Some how I manage to get stuck in the very back of the Durango, longest legs and all 🙂  It was a fun trip.  The menu for the dinner theatre consisted of this: 

Hamburgers, french fries, apple sauce, and ice cream.

Needless to say, I came prepared 🙂  I packed some veggies and hummus, with a cheese wrap ww tortilla, along with some awesome little black cherry sugar free jello bites that I snagged when we stopped at Sheetz on the way to the play.  I ate the whole bag for just 45 calories and 0g fat! It was my dessert while everyone else was slurping down their sundaes.  The play was really cute.  It was almost like an interactive kind of thing.  We participated in things like a foam, gumdrop, & marshmellow tree decorating contest and songs throughout the night. 

 

I know I promised more photos from the NYC trip, and I finally got a chance to get them off of my camera, so here they are:

Like I said before, my Dad has the majority of the good pictures while we were there because mine died early in the day, plus he had his Cannon Rebel, while I just had my crappy little cheapo

Saturday

 

It was the day of the big race and I was sooo nervous!  I knew when I woke up that I would be running a lot more than just during the race, so I figured I better fuel up on carbs for some sustained energy.  I decided on a highly nutritious Sprouted Grains Cinnamon Raisin Bagel from the French Meadow Bakery (stay tuned for reviews to come), with an individual serving of Sun Butter slathered ontop. 

This breakfast was good going down, but really heavy on my stomach.  Definitely too heavy for before a race.   It racked up to around 470 calories!  I usually don’t even eat half that for breakfast on a typical day.  Not sure what I was thinking.  I felt sluggish at the race, which was the last thing that I wanted.  Lesson learned!  All in all, the race still went pretty well and it was for a good cause!  My time wasn’t my greatest, but I did finish 2nd in my age division and got a cute little medal along with a certificate.  My running coach actually placed 2nd overall!  He did great.  And he was even running in the freezing cold, SHIRTLESS!? What a crazy man. 🙂

 

After the race and awards cerimony, we decided to get a little extra training in.  We ran from the race site 3.7 miles to Inside Track, so I could buy some running shoes, since our team gets 15% off there, I decided to shop there first.  The salesman was very helpful and ended up talking me into getting a new Brooks sneaker, which was very light and comfortable but also had a good supportive feeling.  I’ve got wide duck feet too, so its rare that I find a shoe that doesn’t feel too tight around the widest part of my foot.  Here’s what I ended up with, and I love them so far!:

 

After we got the shoes, we ran back to the race site to put the stuff we didn’t need back in the car.  Julian was carrying the bookbag the whole time and it had to have been getting annoying.  I offered to carry it for about 30 seconds, but it was heavier than I thought!  Haha.  Anyway, from the race site, we ran about 6 more miles until we got downtown for lunch.  We decided on sushi for refueling at Miyako on 2nd.  We ordered the edamame for an appetizer for a quick protein boost to share and then we each ordered the Temaki Dinner, which consists of three handrolls, miso soup, and a house salad.   For my three handrolls, I chose the Mango Shrimp roll (mango, shrimp, lettuce, & cucumber), the Smokie roll (smoked salmon, mango, & avocado), and the Umbrella Head roll (spicy scallops, cucumber, and kiwi).  I like this sushi place because they always let me order no rice in my handrolls 🙂  All three were eaten with lots of ginger, wasabi, and lite soy sauce.  Unfortunately, we didn’t want to carry anything extra on our run, so I didn’t have my camera handy.  I can tell you though, these rolls were beautiful!  Like food art!  That was BY FAR the best meal I’ve had for a long time.  It was such a treat after a long run!  When we were finished eating, we started the running trek back to the cars in the parking lot where the race began.  We ended up running about 22 miles Saturday and it felt awesome! 

 

When I got home I couldn’t wait to shower and relax for a little bit.  I decided to go with my Mom and a few of her friends to our alumni’s basketball game.  Julian came with us too.  He seems to always be up for anything and he’s fun to hang out with.  He’s a great running coach too!  Very encouraging and also does personal training at the Train Yard Gym.  If you’re looking to get in shape and need some motivation, check it his site here!!  Our boys got their butts handed to them at the game, but it was still fun to watch.  It makes me really miss playing basketball.  They planned on eating dinner at the game which I knew meant hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, and all kinds of proccessed crap for fuel, so I packed my own.  I grabbed some veggies, salsa, strawberry Oikos, and a Sonoma Jack’s cheese wedge for consumption during halftime of the Varsity game.   

 

After the game we stopped at Walmart, since it was on the way home and everyone knows, you can’t pass up a chance to hit up Walmart for a little late night shopping!  Everyone else got Subway, as an additional meal, but I decided on some Jack Link’s Flamin’ Buffalo Chicken Nuggets for a protein kick.  The nutritionals were actually pretty good for this convenient snack!  In each bag there are about 3 servings (10z. each), and each serving has 60 calories, 1g of fat (.5 saturated), 3g carbs, and 9g of protein! They were really good, too!  Not too salty like some of the other Jack Link’s snacks I’ve tried.  The spiciness was perfectly balanced, too.

 After a full day, I was exhausted and slept like a baby.

One response »

  1. Pingback: French Meadow Bakery! « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

