RSS Feed

Tuesday Troubles

Posted on

One more week to enter my Zevia Giveaway!

This morning I had a vanilla Oikos topped with Fiber One for breakfast, which was a typical start to my day.  I want to start mixing up my breakfast ideas and trying new things, but I’ve got to say that’s one of my weaknesses.  I don’t have much time in the morning, so maybe I should get up an extra 10 minutes earlier in order to actually cook something?  I could see Egg Beater omelettes in the near future…We’ll see if I actually put this plan into action.  I have good intentions! It’s just so convenient to grab something out of the fridge that’s already ready.

I knew I would be eating lunch out again, because my boss and I have to run out to do the Holiday Wish shopping for a family that our section is sponsoring.  We’ve been collecting gift and monetary donations for the past few weeks for a needy family to provide Christmas presents for them this year as a voluntary program at work, and it was time to go shopping for the remaining items on the gift list!  In our family, we’re buying for a young, single mother and her two little boys, ages 3 &5.  You could tell by the lists that they made, they would be happy with anything that was given to them.  They barely listed anything.  It just read on the lists that they enjoyed “superheroes” and that they both needed sweaters and jeans.  I wish we could’ve done more!  We ended up with a bunch of toys, and everything that they needed clothing wise, along with a Weis gift card for groceries and anything else they may need at the store.  The mother was just a little older than me, and I could not imagine the kind of weight that must be on her shoulders raising two little boys on her own.

We decided on sushi/chinese for lunch at Hong Kong Ruby. 

We got the sashimi appetizer to split:

White tuna, Tuna, and Salmon with Wasabi & Ginger

My boss ordered the Dragon Roll and the Steamed Shrimp with Vegetables:

Eel, cucumber, roe, & avocado with spicy sauce.

 

And for my meal, I ordered the steamed veggies and shrimp as well.

Shrimp, broccoli, bok choy, carrots, mushrooms, baby corn, & water chesnuts.

I was stuffed by the time we left the restaurant!

For pre-ten mile fuel, I ate a mini clif bar after work, too.
Then, I hit up the salad bar after my workout at the local Giant and created a mix of chickpeas, baby spinach, black beans, 3 bean salad, beets, broccoli, cauliflower, a pickle, cucumber, carrots, imitation crab, cherry tomatoes, honey dew, and watermelon.  It was a random mix, but I wanted a little bit of everything!  I also picked up some WW tortillas to add some whole grains to my meal.  It went unpictured, because I was running short on time and had to meet my Mom at the mall for some Christmas outfit shopping, but it was really yummy!  I also downed a Coke zero.
I didn’t find much for a Christmas outfit, but I did pick up a cute red, silver, and black sweater incase I can’t find a nice dress.  It’s the official back up plan 🙂

Plan B 🙂

I did try on lots of cute party dresses, but nothing I would feel comfortable wearing to sing in front of my church in the choir.  So that posed a problem.  Anyway, hope you all had a great Tuesday!

Be sure to check out these great giveaways!  There is a Scharffen Berger Chocolate giveaway at Marla’s site which you can enter to win by December 20 (this Sunday!) and Danica is giving away a Knock, Knock prize, which is a pretty cute website if you ask me! 🙂  She’ll be choosing a winner tomorrow!

4 responses »

  1. That sweater is crazy cute!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for mentioning my chocolate giveaway here!! That sashimi platter looks so good!
    Awesome that you guys could help that single mom with 2 small boys. I am sure you will help to make their holidays so much brighter.
    Best!!

    Reply
    • You’re welcome! It’s a great giveaway!
      The sashimi was awesome! 🙂 I didn’t know you were a fellow sushi lover!
      It seems so small to us to throw in a couple bucks, but I’m hoping to them it will mean a nice Christmas! 🙂
      Hope you have a great one, yourself, Marla! Great blog, btw!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

