RSS Feed

And The Winners Are…

Posted on
 
 

 

 
 

First and foremost, I’d like to say

 

 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

to my friend/running coach,

JULIAN!!! 🙂 

Hope you have a great day.

It’s the Monday before Christmas and I’ve got some great news for three lucky readers!  As promised, the winners of the Zevia Giveaway are:

Grand Prize Full Case

Allie of Live Laugh Eat

Two Runners-Up

Cheryl F. of The Lucky Lady Bug

and

Gliding Calm!

Winners, please email me your shipping information at

freckledfoodielove [at] gmail [dot] com.

Sorry I’ve been such a slacker on postings lately!  I tend to try and get out from behind my computer on weekends to make the most out of them.  I was actually out sick on Friday, so I didn’t check up on anything, but I figured what better way to come back than by announcing the giveaway winners, right?! 

Anyway, this weekend was filled with fun, food, family & friends as usual.  Saturday, I had plans with my best friend to meet up near her apartment to redeem our massage Gift Certificates, but seeing has how that was about an hour away from my house and the roads were a slushy mess, we figured we had better try to reschedule.  Instead, I ended up helping my Mom wrap Christmas presents all day and relaxing with the family.  It was disappointing that we didn’t get our massages, but nice to have some down time.  I helped my dad load this bad boy up into the Durango which was kinda a challenge 🙂

 

 
 
 
 
 

This baby weighed about 200 pounds!

To be honest, I really didn’t do much.  I tried, but he seemed to have it under control.  My grandparents on my Dad’s side moved into a townhouse closer to my Aunts about an hour from our house, and since all their landscaping would be done for them from here on out, they had no use for the snowblower and gave it to my Dad.  He was so MacGyver about getting the hunk of metal into the car.  My Dad has got to be one of the smartest men I know.  Probably the smartest.  He created a ramp out of some pieces of wood that my Grandparents had lying around the garage in order to push the snowblower up it into the car.  It worked like a charm!  I helped push it up, but I couldn’t feel much weight coming back on me, so I’m pretty sure he basically did it himself.  It was a fun father-daughter outing though.  I cherish little memories I make with my Dad like those, because its a rare occasion that we spend any time together just the two of us 🙂

Sunday, church was cancelled, which meant that the Christmas program won’t be until next week!  I will definitely try to snap some shots, especially of our Children’s Christmas program.  It’s so awesome every year!  For choir, we’re singing “I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day” and “Hark The Herald“, which are sounding better and better after each practice!  I really enjoy singing, but I hate singing alone in front of people, making solos/duets not an option 🙂  It feels so different when you’re up there with such a big group of people.   It’s almost like people won’t notice you.  At least that’s what I like to think.  Haha. 

Sunday was awesome, even though I did miss having church.  We had the family over for Christmas Cookie Baking and lunch.  Here was the spread:

Hot Dogs

Veggie Tray

Chocolate Silk Pie

Along with this spread, there were things like oreo pie, chips, pretzels, pickles, cheese, bologna, hard boiled eggs, deviled eggs, etc.  Yeah, it was a small gathering with enough food to feed an army.  Not to mention, everyone stayed and we ended up ordering ridiculous amounts of pizza for dinner.  Needless to say, I did not eat any of the above mentioned with the exception of veggies from the tray and a few hardboiled eggs (whites, only) for topping my baby spinach salad.  I did have some yummy eats, though!  For lunch, I had a baby spinach salad topped with 3 egg whites filled with hummus in place of the yolk, yellow pepper, yellow tomato, broccoli, cauliflower, and snap peas along side a La Tortilla Factory low carb high fiber wrap spread with Sonoma Jack’s Pepperjack cheese.

Then it was time to meet up with Julian for our run!  I met him at his house this time and we ran from his town to mine with a few little paths taken in between.  It totaled over 10 miles, and I was feeling good!  Untilllllll……we stopped running.  Where my hip rotates in my back was killing me.  It hurt so badly when we first stopped that I could hardly walk.  Today it feels a little bit better, but it’s still not totally up to par.  I popped some Advil and took a hot, hot shower which helped until morning, when I repeated the sequence to help me make it through work. 

For dinner, I ate leftover steamed shrimp and chinese vegetables along with some raw veggies from the veggie tray and Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa (which is freaking unbelievable).  Then, I figured I better get some more whole grains to recoop the body from the run so I spread another La Tortilla factory WW wrap with some Dannon Light N’ Fit Yogurt that I was dying to try.  It was coconut cream pie flavored and very tasty.  It hit the flavor on the head!  For dessert, I ate a cup full of sugar free black cherry jello with some cool whip free that I picked up at the grocery store when we went shopping for party foods. 

The results of the cookie baking look something like these:

 
 
 
 
 

Sand Tarts

 
 
 
 
 

Classic Chocolate Chip

Peanut Butter Blossoms

When everyone left, my sister and I finished watching “Sweet Home Alabama”, one of my faves!, which was on USA.  I just love Josh Lucas.  The perfect ending to my night 🙂

Patrick Dempsey or Josh Lucas? Sounds like a win-win situation if you ask me! 🙂

Overall, I’d say it was a pretty sweet weekend…

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Hooray I’m so excited to have won…I never win giveaways 🙂 I’m excited to try Zevia!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

