RSS Feed

Merry Christmas!!

Posted on

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!
Christmas fun! Pretending to eat the ruined gingerbread house.

 

This Christmas season there were several moments that didn’t get to be blogged due to business.  This post is a recap of everything recent and from the past few weeks that deserve to be highlited but weren’t.  Above, is a picture from the night my sisters and I decided to try and construct a gingerbread house out of the gingerbread house kit that I bought on Black Friday from Michael’s craft store.  It was fun, but the gingerbread house kept falling apart, so we decided to ditch the idea and just have fun with the icing and pieces of gingerbread. 

Right before it fell...

There were lots of good eats throughout this time as well that remained unmentioned….likkkkkkeeee these:

Pumpkin Pie Cottage Cheese-Breakfast
Shiritaki noodles with laughing cow cheese, steamed veggies & barbeque tofu.
Pumpkin fluff-canned pumpkin, cool whip free, sf brown sugar syrup, and cinnamon.
Lunch- broccoli slaw, laughing cow cheese, and canelli beans.
Dinner- raw veggies (cauliflower, carrots, snap peas, broccoli), pineapple salsa, and canelli beans.
Sweet potato mash-SF syrup & cinnamon added.

Wednesday was my chiropractor appointment.  He reccommended that I not go for any long runs until after Christmas, so tomorrow morning will be my first run since Tuesday.  Anyway, I feel gross because I haven’t been able to work out for those few days.  But anyway, Wednesday night while my Mom was out playing cards with her friends, I decided to help her out by prepping some of the food for Thursday (Christmas Eve) at my Grandma’s house for dinner.  She wanted to make baked beans and corn flake candies, so I did the corn flake candies which turned out pretty good from the reviews I heard!  Here’s what they looked like:

It’s actually a really easy recipe.  Not healthy, but easy.  Needless to say, I didn’t eat any, but the family eats them like candy! 

Ingredients:

1 Pint Light Corn Syrup

1 1/3 C. Granulated Sugar

1 Box Corn Flakes

2C. Peanut Butter

2 Tbsp. Butter

Directions:

Bring corn syrup and sugar to a boil on the stove.

Add peanut butter and butter.  Stir until combined.

Remove from heat.

Add corn flakes and mix.

Spoon out onto wax paper to cool.

It literally took me about 10 minutes total.  EASY peasy. 

Thursday was a really easy day at work, and I was thankful to be let out at 12:30.  I was able to meet my family at the East Mall in order to go as a group to my grandparents.  I really didn’t want to drive seperately, but I didn’t think I was going to have a choice.  We got to my Grandparents at about 2:00, since they were still doing some last minute shopping when I got to the Mall, but we arrived to lots of yummy looking appetizers!

Here’s the spread:

Baked beans, assorted crackers, cheese plate, pumpernickel bread & olive dip, veggie tray, fruit tray, cookies, and black bean and corn dip (AMAZING)!

 For our dinner, there was turkey, ham, peas, corn, candied sweet potatoes, and wheat/white rolls.

Sweet potatoes, peas, corn.

For my dinner I concocted this beastly salad with basically every fruit & veggie I could find in the place.  It was like a “kitchen sink salad” from Iowa Girl :):

It contained greens, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumber, carrots, pineapple, orange, watermelon, cherry tomatoes, corn & black bean salsa, cantaloupe, grapes, a little bit of turkey, & topped with peas!

It was a fun night filled with laughs & hugs from family.  What could be better?

Theeennnn this morningggg, we woke up around 8:30 AM to see what SANTA brought!  Haha.

The seesters♥

We had a blast giving each other presents and opening together.  There will be more details posted later, but for now I’ll leave you with pictures from our brunch! 

The set up.

It was awesome.  My Mom made breakfast casserole, like she does every year with eggs, hashbrowns, cheese, and ham.

She's a great cook!

I made my own, because she used full fat everything.  Don’t worry, it was JUST as awesome as this dish.  I combine chopped onion, broccoli, egg beaters, and ff swiss cheese to create a yummy scramble, to eat along side of a slice of French Meadow Seeded Rye bread with strawberry sf jam & a little dish of pureed frozen fruit.  It was perfectly sweet & salty combo for brunch:

My plate 🙂

The rest of the morning, we spent showering and getting ready for tonight when the rest of the family would be coming over for dinner!  Details to come. 

HAVE A MERRY CHRISTMAS and try to remember that JESUS is the reason for the season. 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Three 4 Three. « Freckled Foodie's Blog

  2. Pingback: More Recapping From The Weekend! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

