RSS Feed

Sunday Funday.

Posted on

The Christmas service at our church yesterday was  so awesome.  The kids program is easily my favorite every year.  The cutest things always happen when kids get in front of an audience.  Like yesterday, there were several characters in the show: Mary, Joseph, the donkey, the three wise men, the three shephards, and lots of sheep and angels.  There was a part in the skit that all the sheep were supposed to lay down and “fall asleep”, but one of them refused, and decided to stand the entire play.  It was just so cute because when people tried to get his attention to lay down, he just shook his head and smirked.  The whole church was laughing. 

Anyway, after church, we headed home and got pictures in our Christmas outfits.  Both my sisters were wearing these cute sweater dresses with leggings, but I opted for a houndstooth dress which looked like this:

I wore a tight black shirt underneath so that my entire back wasn’t out, being that we were in church, along with black nylons and pointed toe black pumps.

I’ll make sure I post a family picture that we snapped in front of our tree as soon as my Dad sends them to me.

We debated going to lunch as a family & to see the new Alvin & the Chipmunks movie yesterday, but decided to hold off until next weekend since both of the parents’ football teams had games yesterday, the Steelers & the Eagles. 

Leftovers were a good option since our fridge was packed full of them anyway due to the holiday feasts.  My plate consisted of a 1/2 a french meadow bakery sprouted grains tortilla filled with 1/2 a laughing cow light pepperjack cheese wedge, a few baby carrots, and some white turkey breast meat, and a pile of raw veggies including broccoli, cauliflower, cucumber, and carrots topped with pineapple salsa.  For dessert after lunch,  I ate a diced appled tossed in SF brown sugar cinnamon syrup & cinnamon, heated in the microwave for about 3 minutes.  It tastes like homemade warm applesauce or a tad bit like apple crisp.  Mmmm.   Warm and comforting. 

Maybe I’ll try baking this with oats sometime for a REAL apple crisp dessert!?

I really wanted to go play volleyball at LA Fitness since there’s open play from 1-4PM on Sundays, but my back really was not up to it.   It has been killing me just to walk….I’m starting to get worried that it’s not going to be healed in time for me to prepare for the next race, which is supposed to be a 6.1 miler on January 10th.  I will be SO disappointed, especially since I just got all my new running gear for Christmas! 😦

Since I wasn’t able to go to volleyball, I started a long proccess of cleaning out and rearranging my bedroom.  I wanted to get rid of all the things I don’t need, use, or want anymore, package it up, and take it to a consignment store in an economic effort to make some unexpected cash.  If a few months goes by and the store doesn’t sell your items, they donate it!  So it’s a win-win situation. 

I had a dinner planned with a friend who was picking me up at 5:30, so I worked up until about 5:00 when I decided I had to take a break.  I did my hair, got changed, and spruced up the makeup. 

We had no destination in mind, but decided on this place called Garrison’s on the way out.

It was a nice little place all decorated in garland and white lights on the inside.  I didn’t bring up the whole food blogger thing, so there are no pictures of my dinner, but we ordered an appetizer of the mixed grill to share which was a combination of grilled seasoned beef tips, scallops, and shrimp.  I had one of the scallops & one of the shrimp.  It was pretty good!  Very spicy.  For his meal, he ordered veal, potatoes d’jour, and asparagus and for my meal, I ordered the house salad (lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, & tomatoes) topped with grilled chicken and balsamic vinegar on the side.  It was a nice meal and a fun time.  I felt bad because he’s an Eagles fan and he said he didn’t mind missing the game to go out because he could DVR it, but luckily it was on the TVs in Garrison’s!  It was a fun night.

 

Leave a Reply

