RSS Feed

1 More Day Until 2010!

Posted on

 

Attention: Eye Candy Ahead

Last night after work I hit the gym for some more abs and arms along with a tad bit of cardio.  I finally worked up the nerve to see how my back would feel on the stationary bike.  Turns out, it was fine!  It’s kind of a relief to me knowing that there’s something I can do at the gym to not lose complete cardio shape, since the elliptical and treadmill are ruled out.  It’s kind of nice because, unlike on the treadmill, the stationary bike allows you to concentrate on other things.  I could probably even read a magazine while on one of those, where I could NEVER even attempt that on a treadmill.  I did about 4 miles on the bike, just to see how it would feel, but since I was fine I think I’ll go for 10 today 🙂   I also did 3 sets of planks/side planks, the first one being held for 3 minutes.  I know I always tell you about the “planks” I do at the gym, but incase you’re unaware of what one looks like, here’s a visual:

Front Plank

Side Plank

Nice visuals, huhh? 🙂

You can stop drooling now.

Anyway, after planks, I hit the oblique twist machine, the hip abductor, the ab crunch machine, and then went back to the mat where the free weights and medicine balls were to do some more core work.  I did 3 sets of 100 twists like this:

Oblique Twists

With a break between each set when I did 1 minute Superman holds like this:

It's a birrddd, it's a planee.... 🙂

Then, I also did some other core work like these:

Except I was holding a 5lb. weight in each hand.  I alternated sides for 3 sets of 15 each

Then I did some Oblique V-Ups on each side:

After all the core work, I did 3 sets of 10 standard pushups to get a little bit of arms in, too.

It was a fairly easy workout, but it did the trick. 

 

I went home to a full house!  It was nice to see all the family members again.  They all came over last night to help us eat up leftover Christmas food (turkey, mashed potatoes, corn, stuffing) and food from my Mom’s brunch with friends (stuffed french toast, cheesy potatoes, fruit).  I couldn’t have asked for a sweeter greeting upon my arrival home 🙂

 

I unpacked all my stuff from work, got comfy, and steamed an entire bag of frozen broccoli.  For some reason I was craving a bunch of really random foods last night, so I just went with it.

 

After steaming, it was topped with some salt & peppa along with mustard.  I know…random, right?!  This is only the beginning….Haha.

I was also hangry for some egg whites, so I boiled four eggs to perfection, sliced them open to remove and toss the yolks, and filled them with a splash of apple cider vinegar each along with pepper. 

Prior to disection 🙂

I also snacked on this while the eggs were cookin’:

Thin sliced turkey breast & grapes.

For some whole grain goodness, I chomped on this Chocolate VitaTop dunked in the most amaaaazing coffee EVER for dessert:

Chocolate is a girls' best friend 🙂

While I was out and about at the BIG Giant Foods store on Jonestown road, I stopped at the Barista stand to pick up my typical SF syrup flavors (brown sugar cinnamon & vanilla).  To my excitement, they were fully stocked with the seasonal favorites!  I quickly snatched up the SF Peppermint and have been excited to put it to use ever since.  I am now buddies with the coffee man who works there, due to the common interest being that we both get excited about new flavors.  He even gave me a deal!  I got the White Chocolate SF syrup too!!!   It made the PERFECT cup of White Peppermint Mocha coffee, which I proudly filled to the brim of my new mug that Santa brought from NYC:

Cute, right?! Santa knows best!

 Thennn, one of my favorite friends stopped by, who I’ve been sharing my healthy goods with.  Kimmy is one of the sweetest ladies I’ve ever met.  We have so many similarities, including our tastebuds 🙂  She knew I was excited to try out my new Bella Blender, so she let me make her a smoothie!

With the perfect straw for garnish 🙂

Smoothies are super easy to make and pretty much impossible to screw up.  My kind of treat!  In the mix we had:

  • 1/2 C. fat free milk
  • 4-5 ice cubes
  • 1/2 C. frozen blueberries
  • 1 Container FF peach yogurt
  • 1 Banana

I actually didn’t even measure anything out, but those approximations seem about right!  The more you cook, the better you get at being able to eye up portions.  Kimmy and I also have a date to cook together one night for both of our families!  I’m not sure what’s on the menu yet, or when it will be, but keep an eye out!  We’re on the prowl for a yummy recipe!  If you have one you’d like to share, please email me: freckledfoodielove@gmail.com!!

Have a great night, loves!

Leave a Reply

