RSS Feed

Happy New Year’s Eve!

Posted on

The snow outside is nuts right now!  It’s kind of beautiful.  Just another one of God’s amazing creations.  As much as I hate driving in the snow, it was kind of pleasant this morning.  I left in plenty of time so I was able to take it slow, realizing it would be alright if I made it to work a few minutes late.  My boss is very understanding of those type of things.  The view from Peter’s Mountain with the snow coating the trees and the gentle snow falling is totally breathtaking.  It’s the little things 🙂

Anyway, rewind to last night.

I got to the gym around 4:15 and was on the stationary bike by about 4:30.  I did 12 miles in about 45 minutes at level 6, burning approximately 300 calories.  It’s not nearly as good as running as far as cardio and calorie burn are concerned, but I was grateful to be able to do anything considering the pain I’ve been feeling in my back.  Then I completed the typical set of 3 planks (3 front & 3 on each side).  After planks, I hit the oblique twist machine doing 3  sets at 60 lbs. (set 1- 100 twists each side, set 2- 50 twists on each side, set 3-35 twists on each side).  Next I hopped on the Ab Crunch machine and did 3 sets at 40lbs (set 1-100, set 2-50, set 3-50).  Then I headed back to the mats where I did 3 sets of 100 sitting twists with the 4lb. medicine ball, 1 minute superman holds between each set.  I did 3 sets of 30 v-ups next with leg/arm extensions between each holding 5 lbs. in each hand. 

I got home around 7:15 PM and decided on a quick, easy, & random (again) dinner.  Steamfresh california blend veggies with salt & pepper:

 

Broccoli, cauliflower, & carrots.

 As the veggies were steaming, I cooked up some oats on the stovetop and stirred in some Strawberry Jayy Robb protein powder!

 

Strawberry Protein Oats

 

I was in the mood for something warm for dessert, so I sliced & diced another golden delicious, for the unbeatable combo of apple tossed in SF brown sugar cinamon syrup + pumpkin pie spice.  I popped it in the microwave for about 3:00 on high, until the syrup was bubbling and the apples were cooked tenderly to perfection.  This is such a comfort food for me for some reason!

Winner everytime...

I decided to get ahead and cook my breakfast while I was on the stove top since I realized I was out of ff cottage cheese and would need to improvise for my protein.  I hard boiled 5 eggs, omitting the yolks after cooking, and topping the whites with pineapple salsa to accompany my Fiber One.  Some people get really weirded out when I tell them that I eat dry cereal on occasion.  I’m not sure why? 

I swear though, this salsa is good on ANYTHING.  Seriously.  I’ve used it for marinating chicken, topping salads, dipping cucumbers, eating from the jar, and filling egg whites.

 

Spicy & sweet.

It’s got pretty good nutritionals too!  A little high in sugar, due to the pineapple, but it’s not bad for as indulgent as it tastes (+a gram of fiber, to boot!)!

All Natural Ingredients:

Ingredients: Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste, Citric Acid), Diced Tomatoes, Crushed Pineapples, Jalapeno Peppers, Brown Sugar, Salt, Distilled Vinegar, Onions*, Natural Flavors, Allspice *Dried

Nutrition Facts:

Info: Serving Size: 2 tbsp. (32g)
Calories: 15
Total Fat: 0g
Cholest.: 0mg
Total Carb.: 3g
Sugars: 3g
Fat Cal.: 0
Sat. Fat: 0g
Sodium: 90mg
Fiber: 1g
Protein: 0g

I’m thinking this year is going to be a great start to  a new adventure.  There are several things on my goals list for this coming year:

  1. Run a marathon.
  2. Read the entire Bible.
  3. Go on a missions trip.
  4. Sing a solo in church.
  5. Save at least $200 from each paycheck.
  6. Buy a new car.
  7. Be more flexible.
  8. Start painting & photographing again.
  9. Travel outside the U.S. (Greece would be amazing!)

 

 

What are some things you’d like to accomplish in the New Year?

One response »

  1. Greece is pretty fantastic, I would highly recommend it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

