RSS Feed

Saving Mulah.

Posted on

Yesterday I decided that in order to save about $40.00 a month, to accomplish my goal of buying a new car in 2010, I am going to cancel my gym membership.  Yep.  That’s right.  Don’t freak out.  I know it sounds a little crazy, but really, it’s a smart move.  As of now, I am not allowed to run due to the intense back/hip pain that it causes and have been rocking the stationary bike at the gym ever since.  I really don’t use anything at the gym that I don’t have at home.  Last night, I realized this while pedaling my little heart away on the bike in our basement.  We’ve got a cross bow lifting machine, medicine balls, yoga mats, and free weights, along with the exercise bike all in our basement.  Who needs an expensive gym membership?!  Sure I don’t have a sauna or a pool, but who needs em?!   🙂  Not to mention, I’ll save a little pocket change each month on gas because I won’t be traveling the extra 12 miles a day.  I don’t particularly like the social aspect of the gym any way.  It’s not what I go for.  It gets really old feeling like you’re being judged by the way you look when you workout.  Pick up lines at the gym=total cheesiness.  I’ve heard some good ones, too, especially about my legs for some reason?

Anyway, when I got home from work last night, I ate a Deep Chocolate Vitatop for workout fuel and then made my way to our basement. 

Chocolate Workout Fuel

I biked for 35 miles while watching “National Treasure II” on my ipod.  I’ve found that keeping my mind occupied takes away from the longevity of the riding.  It’s hard for me to read magazines while my legs are going crazy, so a movie on the ipod was a nice alternative. 

Afterward, I showered and got ready to go with the family to our High School Boys’ basketball game.  They were playing our rivals and I didn’t want to miss it!  before I left, I heated up a somewhat boring dinner, but it was quick, easy and nutritious!  The highlight of the meal was actually something that looked disgusting coming out of the pack. 

Gorton's Classic Grilled Salmon Filets

The stats for these guys are great!  Only 100 calories, 3g of fat (.5 saturated), 16g of protein, 1g of carbs, and 410mg of Omega-3 per serving!  There are two servings in each box and they are decent sized!  What’s even more convenient is that they were perfect for nights like last night when I didn’t have much time for food prep.  They are microwaveable!  It didn’t make for such a pretty picture, but I heated it in the microwave for about 2 1/2  minutes, and then added a can of green beans (that’s right, a whole can :D) to my plate and microwaved for a minute longer.  I didn’t have time for a photo because I was in such a rush, but here’s a picture courtesy of Gorton’s! 8)

I'm pretty sure this is the lemon butter version of the salmon because mine didn't have that glazed look on the top. Still very yummy though! Just try to picture a big heaping pile of green beans instead of the rice and broccoli.

The game was fun, but the boys didn’t pan out too well.  They gave it a good go, but didn’t come out on top.  The final score was 40-57.  After the game, I came home, had some Black Currant Good Belly juice (unofficial review=AMAZING.) & a sliced banana and hit the sack. 

Black Currant Good Belly Probiotic Juice.

Sliced Nanner.

Today began with a nice little breakfast of Vanilla Oikos and Fiber One – classic.  Topped with a touch of homemade almond butter mixed with canned pumpkin (*note the orange coloring).

Crunchtastic♥

I’ve learned that my little Bella can do some amazing things…like create homemade almond butter with just a few ingredients!  I just threw some whole almonds, cinnamon, sf log cabin syrup, a splash of vanilla + milk into my baby blender and watched it create something magical:

Homemade Almond Butter

Yet another economical creation!  For a 16 oz. jar, Barney Butter can cost about $8.00!! This frugal freckled foodie is pretty proud 🙂  Can you tell? Haha.

Anyway, I hope you all have a magnificent day.

 

Oh!  And be sure to check out Danica’s Daily Blog for a “Souper” You giveaway by Progresso!  It’s SOUPER exciting!! Okay.  That was cheesy 🙂 

3 responses »

  1. I LOVE homemade almond butter – it rocks especially when you roast the nuts first….mmmm. I haven’t made any in awhile, I NEED too 🙂

    Thanks for the contest shoutout – good luck!

    Reply
    • samialyssa31

      I know! I love it. I haven’t tried the roasted version yet?! I’ll have to do that! 🙂 Thanks for the awesome contest!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The SOUPER YOUR Giveaway Winner is….. | Danica's Daily

Leave a Reply

