RSS Feed

Tofurky Jurky

Posted on

Thank you to Monica Garcia of Turtle Island Foods  for sending me some Tofurky Jurky to review for the blog!

If you’re  looking for a convenient, on-the-go protein source, but you’re limited to vegan options, Tofurky Jurky might be for you!  It’s got great nutritional stats, boasting just 100 calories per 4 piece serving, just 2g of fat (0 saturated) and 12g of protein!!

Original

Tofurky Jurky is the first vegetarian jurky to be make in a real smokehouse!  First, they marinate it in a GMO-free soy sauce, garlic, lemon juice and organic evaporated cane juice just before slowly smoking it over red hickory chips.  It comes in vaccum sealed packages and has a shelf life of up to 6 months

Peppered Jurky

It comes in two varietiesPeppered and Original.  The Peppered Jurky version was my favorite.  It had a bit of a bite back, which I really enjoyed.  The smoky taste really popped because of the peppery taste.   The Original wasn’t bad, but I found it to be a tad on the bland side.  I’m a big fan of bold flavors.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the texture, being that I’m non-vegan, I am used to real beef jerky, but other than the fact that it was a little dry, the taste wasn’t bad at all! 

What I liked best was the convenience of the product.  I could easily throw them in my purse for a low cal, high protein emergency snack.  They would make great treats for hiking or camping, too!  You can check here for a store near you that carries these products!

Monica also sent me coupons for the Tempeh products in their line, so stay tuned for reviews on that as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

