RSS Feed

Simply Nic’s!

Posted on

If you have a love of baked goods and enjoy wholesome, natural ingredients in your sweets, you’ve got to try Simply Nic’s creations.  Things like fresh lavendar, rosemary, honey, and ginger are used in her artisanal shortbreads.  The result?  A pure taste that is outta this world. 

What I love most about this company is the fact that it is family owned and operated.  She bakes because she has a passion and a love for it!  Creating masterpiece recipes with the help of her husband, the CTO (Chief Tasting Officer), she has put together four melt-in-your mouth varieties. 

First, we’ve got my favorite:

Pumpkin Spice!!

The moist, sweet dough blends cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, all spice, and cloves together for an unbeatable, pumpkin pie tasting shortbread that I went nuts for.  I’m not typically a shortbread fan, because I think they are always too dry for my taste, but these had a buttery softness about them that literally caused me to “MMMMM” aloud 🙂 

The three other varieties:

Cardamom Candied Ginger

 Ingredients: Unbleached unbromated wheat flour, sweet cream butter, sugar, candied ginger (ginger, cane sugar, citric acid and sulfur dioxide) honey, fresh ground cardamom, Kosher salt.

This was my second favorite!  The chunks of chewy, sweet candied ginger were all-stars!  They really caught my tastebuds’ attention!  I savored these while they were in my mouth.

 

Lavendar

 Ingredients: Unbleached unbromated wheat flour, sweet cream butter, sugar, organic lavender,* honey, Kosher salt.

The lavendar was alright too!  I’m not a fan of lavendar in foods (I prefer it as a flavor in teas), but it was subtle enough that it just added to the sweetness factor, which is totally okay in my book!

Rosemary

Ingredients: Unbleached unbromated wheat flour, sweat cream butter, sugar, rosemary,* honey, Kosher salt.

I like my treats to be sweet, so this savory combination wasn’t for me.  It didn’t taste bad, but I would’ve much rather downed an extra pumpkin spice as opposed to the rosemary 😉

I’m loving the fact that each of the ingredients lists are so short and completely identifiable!

You can find Simply Nic’s products on the Regional’s Best website, here, for ordering! Thanks for the opportunity to taste your amazing shortbreads, Nicole!  You are quite talented 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Nicole Bergman

    THANK YOU for your awesome blog review of my shortbread bars! So happy you enjoyed them – I’ve got 2 new flavors now: Winter Spice (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and vanilla bean) and Orange-Anise. So sorry–no more Pumpkin Spice as it was a seasonal variety! 😦

    Happy New Year!

    Nic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

