RSS Feed

The Weekend In A Nutshell.

Posted on

Friday…

As soon as 4:00 hit on Friday, I was in complete weekend mode.  I headed home for my date with the exercise bike & my ipod.  We enjoy movies together quite often 🙂  Friday was no exception.  I watched 27 Dresses while pedaling away.   

  

James Marsden is enough to keep any girl distracted long enough to bike 30 something miles in an hour & a half…Seriously…how cute is he?!   

Anyway, I showered and got ready for the little sister’s basketball game which started at 7:00 PM.  Gotta show some support!   She has always been there throughout my career as a three sport athlete, so it’s only fair, right?!  Plus, I really enjoy watching her play.  Before I left, I made a quick dinner of roasted veggies and a salmon filet.  

Salmon, onion, broccoli, mushroom, & celery.

I also ate a golden delicious to round out my meal as a carby fruit.  

   

The game was fun, and the girls kicked butt.  Then, I went to meet Ry at The Coliseum for some competitive game playing 🙂  When I got home, I pretty much went right to bed after a brief facebooking sesh.  

Saturday & Sunday…

Saturday morning, I woke up at around 8:15AM when I brushed my teeth, put my contacts in, took my thyroid meds, and left with the Momma for our yoga class.  It’s kind of a nice mother-daughter bonding thing 🙂  I don’t think I’ll be going to yoga on Monday nights anymore though, because last week when I went, I felt  like it wasn’t nearly challenging enough.  We pay $8.00 per class, and to leave feeling like I got nothing out of it doesn’t feel too good.  It was mainly because the women there were somewhat beginners, I think, which is fine, but I don’t want to waste my time or money.  I’ll just stick to the Saturday class.   

After yoga, I went home and made myself a protein smoothie for breakfast with some Jay Robb strawberry protein, fat free milk, some frozen strawberries, and some Chocolate Amazing Grass.  Scrumdillyumptious 😀  

Tasted just like a chocolate covered strawberry!

After downing this yummy treat, I hopped on the stationary and did about 40 something miles in 2 hoursWhat can I say?! I had some extra time on my hands and got carried away with movie watching.  

After the biking, I showered and got ready for a shopping trip to Harrisburg with my good friend, Lyndsie from High School.  She was home from college for winter break and I really missed hanging out with her, so we decided to get together.  We went to the mall first, because when I bought these awesome jeans for just $12.90 at Hollister, they forgot to take the sensor off of them, which I didn’t realize until I got home:  

Cali Flare

Also, we checked out Victoria’s Secret in the mall because they’re having their semi-annual sale right now!  I had already visited this sale twice before, and so had she, so we didn’t make any purchases.  They were pretty picked out, anyway.  

Then we went to Kohl’s, where I had lots of gift cards for from Christmas.  She fell in love with this guy:  

The Lorax

So I picked him up for her as a belated Christmas gift 🙂  I also got this cute mini dress to wear with tights and boots because I’m so in love with the other one that I have.  They’re such an easy option when you’ve gotta get dressed up!  And SOOOO totally comfortable.   Plus, Lynds said that the teal really went nicely with my hair color, so I took her advice and snagged it:  

Mini dress.

From there, we went to Old Navy, one of our FAVE bargain stores.  They always have such awesome clearance sections!  I’ve bought clothing there for sooo cheap before.  For all you yoga lovers out there, Old Navy is having a HUGE yoga pants sale right now.  

We had a great time shopping, but I had to be back by 5:30 because a friend of mine was picking me up to go for sushi!  I really had a good time with him the last time we did dinner, so I figured it would be a lot of fun.  And it was!  He took me to Mikado Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar where we ordered the Sushi Boat for two which was a combination of sushi rolls and sashimi:  

Sushi feast.

I’m not a fan of the rolls, so he took care of those while I ate most of the sashimi.  After the sushi outing, he dropped me off at the 2010 PA Farm Show to meet up with Lyndsie again!  I invited him to join us, but he informed me that he was responsible for the beer provisions at his buddy’s house for the Eagles/Dallas football game, which I totally understood.  

For those of you who don’t know, the Farm Show is a huge attraction to the Central PA area in which proud owners and breeders showcase their animals in hopes of being honored with awards.  There are also lots of other competitions for things like cakes, pies, floral arrangements, and clothing designs.  I saw tons of out of state license plates in the parking lot, too!  I didn’t realize how widespread the Farm Show traditions really were!  Most people that I know go for the copious amounts of homecooked food.  Some classics on the menu at the farm show include: honey ice cream, fried vegetables, baked sweet potatoes, potato donuts, milk shakes, deep fried mozzarella cubes, pork barbeque sandwiches, apple dumplings, and chicken corn soup.  Not exactly nutritional superstars, but  everyone seems to love the food!  I didn’t get anything because I had just eaten.  It was fun to see all of the animals, competitions, and families: 

Ice sculpture.

 There were horses, cows, rabbits, goats, pigs, geese, and chickens

 

A must-see at the Farm Show for my family every year is the butter sculpture: 

The butter sculpture.

After the Farm Show, we went home and I decided to have a cup of decaf coffee while I was doing the reading that I needed to finish for Sunday School the next morning.  When completed, I tried to relax and get ready for bed, but I got seriously sick throughout the night and ended up throwing up several times 😦  I was wondering if maybe we got some bad sushi.  Anyway, I didn’t make it to church the next morning and felt achy and tired all day.  My stomach was settled by the time the family got home from church though, and my Mom made them spaghetti for lunch with meat sauce and texas toast.  I wasn’t that hungry, but I knew I should eat something, so I mixed some Sonoma Jacks light cheese with Egg Beaters in a mug along with some minced onion: 

Simply Satisfying.

Along with a slice of whole wheat toast sprayed 5X’s with Parkay: 

Toast

For some reason, I think eggs are my comfort food 🙂  They always taste good.  And they’re so simple!  I just microwaved them in a mug for about 2 minutes, added some salt & pepper, and enjoyed. 

I was really lazy Sunday, and still felt weak from the lack of sleep and excessive vomiting.  I’ll spare you the details 😉 Snacks throughout the day included a golden delicious sprinkled with cinnamon & a good belly shot:

Strawberry Probiotic & Multi Vitamin

 We pretty much laid around all day watching movies, playing games, and spending time as a family until the middle sister had to go back to school.  She had softball practice at 7:00PM, so she was going to be leaving around 5:30.  I ran to the grocery store for my Mom because the sister requested tacos for dinner and we didn’t have tomatoes, lettuce, or soft shell tortillas.  Plus, I needed some groceries for this week’s meals as well.

While Mom was prepping the family’s tacos, I was busy getting my own creation together.  What she used: 

Old El Paso Taco Shells-150 calories for three

Wrap Itz - 200 calories per tortilla

Figuring that this is 70% lean ground beef, it would provide 305 calories per serving with 20g of fat.

What I used:

Low Carb High Fiber Wrap = 80 calories

1/2 C. Black Beans = 100 calories, 0g fat

See, there are ways to make the most savory meals nutritious, too!  🙂  We both used lite sour cream, lettuce, tomato, and salsa as topping for our tacos/burritos.  I was stuffed after one, probably due to the crazy amount of fiber between the beans and the wrap! But I did munch on some of the lettuce and tomatoes. 

After dinner, we cleaned up, played “Catch Phrase”, and hung out.  The little sis and I both had ice cream for dessert.  She had Dutch chocolate, while I had sugar free, fat free vanilla.

This stuff only has 70 calories per serving along with 0g of fat and 3g of protein! 🙂

Before hitting the sack, I packed my breakfast for this morning and my lunch for work.  

Breakfast: fat free cottage cheese, sugar free blackberry jelly+fiber, frozen berries, and fiber one allll stirred together (typical).

Seriously NEVER gets old!

Lunch: egg whites, la tortilla factory wrap spread with sonoma jack’s pepperjack cheese+splenda, and cucumber, carrot, and tomato salad topped with sf raspberry syrup & balsamic.

egg whites.

 

veggies.

cheese wrap.

Anddddd that’s a wrap, folkss… 🙂

 

Have a great Monday!

5 responses »

  1. That butter sculpture is unreal!

    Reply
  2. It was! I couldn’t imagine how long it must’ve taken the designer!

    Reply
  3. Awww Sammers, I’m so glad that I got to spend Saturday with you! I’ve been reading some of your back posts and I’m hooked… keep up the awesomeness 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Lynds!! It was a blast 🙂 Can’t wait to come visit you at school!! I’m glad you enjoy the blog!

      Reply
  4. Hello, thanks so much for your info and we definitely agree that we love The La Tortilla Factory Low Carb/High Fiber Tortillas too!

    We have been faithful consumers (actually most days we have at least 2 of these wraps) of The La Tortilla Factory Low Carb/High Fiber Tortillas. These tortillas are only 80 Calories per wrap and are cholesterol-free, contain no saturated fats, trans fat or hydrogenated oils. Therefore they are perfect for the health conscious and dieters (especially people who are following a low carbohydrate, low calorie and lower glycemic index foods – such as diabetics)! 🙂

    We use the wraps for all of our meals – breakfast, lunch and dinner although can be also used for snacks (you just have to get creative).

    If you are interested, we list one of our favorite recipes (Italian Pizza) and will continue to list more on our site: http://bodyhacker.com

    Thanks and look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

