RSS Feed

One Day Closer….

Posted on

…To a three day weekend!  Monday we have off work for Martin Luther King Day, and I’d like to use the day to do something fun!  I’m considering maybe taking the little sister tubing or something at Ski Roundtop?! I think that would be enjoyable! 

Doesn't this look like fun?!

 Today might be somewhat boring, but I am really going to focus on my first article for The Examiner.  I’d like to have a rough draft completed by the end of today!  You’ll have to check it out when it’s finished and posted!!

 To back things up a bit, yesterday on my lunch break I went to Giant to pick up some groceries.  I was completely out of Clear Splash (Giant brand flavored water), and I was craving some Dr. Brown’s Diet Cream Soda.  I also was sent coupons to try some Kettle Cuisine soup to review for the blog, so I grabbed the Chicken and Rice Noodles out of the organic freezer section on my way out, too.  It made for a convenient lunch option for packing today!

Looks like homestyle cookin'!

I’m excited to try it.  The nutritionals were really good too!  Only 140 calories and 3g of fat.  When packing it for my lunch, I bulked it up with some broccoli slaw to get in some veggie power 😉  Along side this broccoli-chicken noodle soup, I packed two Power of Fruit Banana Strawberry bars (27 calories each). 

 

I try to stay around 300 calories for my lunches, 200 calories for breakfast, and 400 calories for dinner.  That way there’s always room for healthy, reasonable dessert & snacks.  They say you’re not supposed to dip under 1,200 calories per day, so there’s a lot of wiggle room when I stick to that plan as far as after dinner treats, since I’m also burning about 500 calories per day on the stationary bike.   Gotta keep that metabolism movin’! 🙂

Speaking of which, I had these snacks before hitting the exercise bike when I got home from work last night:

Carrot chips, sliced apple, & a tomato. Totally UNrandom 😀

I used these goodies to fuel an 80 minute bike ride while watching a classic (Disney’s The Beauty & The Beast. HA.) on my ipod and facebooking.  Yes that’s right, facebooking.  I’ve discovered that my laptop will sit perfectly on the handlebars of the bike if I can hold it there while I’m pedlaling.  Addiction at its best, I suppose.  I prefer to think of it as multi-tasking 😀  Oh, and for those of you who don’t know, you NEVER get too old for Disney movies.  I was humming “Tale As Old As Time” the rest of the night.

Dinner last night was a can of Amy’s Organic Fat Free Split Pea Soup.

I ♥ Amy's.

I also mixed in some chickpeas after this photo was taken for extra volume:

Amy's Split Pea.

Canned chickpeas.

I could seriously just eat handfuls and handfuls of these guys plain (dangerous!!).  In fact, I think I actually ended up eating the whole can.  They are SOOO simple, but sooooo satisfying.  I think the salt in them really hit the spot too since I had worked up a sweat doing my cycling 🙂

For dessert, I had a 90 calorie Trail Mix Pop Culture Probiotics bar:

Chunks of cranberries, flaxseed, oats, and vanilla yogurt make this girl smile.

Welp, I’m off to conquer the world work on my article!  Wish me luck!

Oh, and new giveaway on the table!  Be sure to wish Brandi at http://branappetit.wordpress.com/ a happy blogiversary and enter her giveaway for a chance to win some sweet stuff!

2 responses »

  1. I’m sorry if this seems out of line but someone at your age and fitness should be eating at the very least 2000 calories a day, and really not have to worry about them at all. 1200 would hardly be enough for a sedentary senior woman. You’re young and active and enjoying life through fitness.

    Reply
    • Anon-

      I understand what you’re saying, but please understand I’m saying 1200 calories minimally accounting for the meals only. Most days I intake somewhere around 1800-2000 calories. Somedays even more! Realize that I do not snap a photo of every little morsel of food that enters my lips, and that I make sure my body gets the amount of nutrients that it needs. I appreciate the concern and thank you for the feedback! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

