RSS Feed

T.G.I.A.T.D.W.

Posted on

Thank.God.It’s.A.Three.Day.Weekend.

Just what the doctor ordered! 🙂

Last night wasn’t too strenuous, actually.  Neither was the rest of this week.  It’s just something about the long weekends that makes me excited…not to mention, there are also some awesome SURPRISES in store this weekend.  I’m pretty safe mentioning this on the blog considering my grandma has no idea how to use a computer, or cares to touch one…ever…haha. Soooo we’re having a surprise party for her on Saturday to celebrate her 70th birthday!  She’s probably the most giving, selfless person that I know, so it will be interesting to see how she reacts to a party in which SHE’s the guest of honor!   She has made so many sacrifices for our family  and she’s always there when someone needs something.  She would give the shirt off of her back for a stranger.  She also makes the best apple dumplings in the whole world 🙂  I’m going to have to figure out a way to make a healthy recipe adapted from hers….

Dried Mango

Anyway, back to last night.  I got home from work and snacked on some dried fruit, starring dried guava and mango that Oh!Nuts sent me!  It was fantastic = unofficial review.  After I ate my weight in these goodies, I jumped on the exercise bike for a good 1 1/2 hours.

Some Guys Just Can't Handle Vegas!

I’ve been learning little ways to keep myself entertained while on the bike which make the time go by really quickly.  I downloaded “The Hangover” to my ipod, watched about half, facebooked, and then finished the movie.  Before I knew it, I had biked off 500 calories.  Then it was time to shower, get ready for the high school girls’ basketball game, and eat some dinner. My Dad is an assistant coach, so I go to the games more so to support him than to watch the team.

 
 

 

Greens & veggies

For dinner, I was really craving a big bowl of raw veggies with some pineapple salsa, but I was completely out…sooo I improvised!  I had some SF orange marmalade (that I tried in my cottage cheese mixes and HATED) that I tried mixing with some kidney beans and regular salsa which turned out looking like this:

 

Kidney bean orange salsa

But on top of the salad, it was seriously awesome!  It tasted more like mango salsa than pineapple salsa, but I’m not a fruit discriminator 😉  I just wanted the sweet & spicy taste in general.  To round out the meal & get some whole grains in, I toasted a slice of 100% whole wheat bread, and topped it with a wedge of laughing cow cheese with splenda.   Just like sweet cream cheese!  Foodie success.

I didn’t feel like prepping breakfast or lunch for today at all last night, so I kept it basic with 1C. Fiber One + 1/2 banana (sliced) + 1/2C. ff milk.  For lunch, I’m thinking Simply Turkey for a Boss Salad?  They’re such a treat!  🙂

HAPPY FRIDAY!

Oh! And don’t forget to enter the Oikos Giveaway at An Apple A Day! And congrats to Shelly for hosting her first giveaway!  Looks like some awesome treats are up for grabs!

Leave a Reply

