RSS Feed

Positive & Encouraging.

Posted on

That’s my new theme for 2010.  I’ve been a fan of The Word FM (88.1) and K-Love (88.5) for awhile now, and it’s about the only music I really listen to anymore.  Not because I don’t enjoy other types of music as well, but these stations always seem to be playing music with a message that “hits the spot” for me.  The Word FM is doing several things right now to aide in the Haiti relief fund with American Red Cross, Compassion International, Food For The Poor, the Samaritan’s Purse, and World Vision right now too in an effort to help the people. 

Each of the stations also has a daily encouraging word that I try to check out every morning along with doing my daily devotionals.  It’s pretty awesome, and it always starts my day off on the right foot.  Listening to these stations on my way to work puts me in a positive mindset to start the day, which honestly helps in the long run…especially when I end up sitting in traffic, or things don’t seem to be going my way. 

Anyway, to fill you in:

Lunch yesterday

is going to be the exact same as lunch today 🙂  It was a wininng combo, what can I say?!  Plus, whenever I open a can of beans I try to use it within the next few days to prevent any waste of food.  It was a combination of a little bit of each of these:

Canelli beans, diced cucumber, sugar snap peas, sliced cherry tomatoes, broccoli, and chopped carrots.

This lettuceless salad was topped with a strawberry balsamic dressing made of:

Newman's Own Organic Balsamic Vinegar + SF Strawberry Torani Syrup♥

This mixture was totally delightful!  Sweet & savory at the same time.  Hence, the same lunch today!  To round out the meal and get some whole grains in, I also packed a La Tortilla Factory wrap with a wedge of Sonoma Jacks Pepperjack cheese.  Come lunch time, I just popped this baby in the microwave to melt the cheese, sprinkle it with a packet of splenda, blend and spread over the entire wrap, and roll it up to eat!  It tastes like a sweet cream cheese danish, I tell ya.  You must try it.

The visual comparison is a little lopsided, but I promise the taste is equally decadent!

Lunch = approximately 300 calories (90 cal. wrap + 25 cal. cheese wedge= 115 + 100 cal. beans= 215 cal. + 80 cal. veggies = 295 cal. + 4 cal. splenda = 299 calories) Easy math!

Breakfast

has consisted of a wholeee bunch of greek yogurt messes lately, looking a lot like this:

 
 
 
 
 

Vanilla Oikos + Fiber One

I’m sure you can’t tell from this picture, but I actually stirred in a little bit of this too:

Sugar Free Peanut Butter Torani Syrup

It was just like a peanut butter sundae

Not to completely back track, but last night after work, I went home, got changed into my biking clothing, headed down stairs and biked for about an hour while facebooking and snacking on this:

 
 
 
 

Trail Mix 90 Calorie Probiotic Bar

   I had a date to prep for, so I couldn’t waste too much time working out.  When I had burned about 300 calories, I jumped off the bike and hit the shower.  I was meeting him at 7:00, so I figured on about an hour to get ready. 

We went to the Paxtang Grill, where we had dinner ( I forgot my camera) and I ordered the grilled chicken salad.  It was pretty basic, but the grilled chicken was really good!  Very moist and tender.  It was a bed of greens with tomatoes, croutons, and green peppers.  I omitted the croutons and had raspberry vinaigrette on the side. 

After dinner, we headed over to the bar in the restaurant for Trivia night!  His buddy runs it at the bar every Tuesday night, and we met up with two of his old friends from High School to make our team.  It was a lot of fun!  We got 3rd place.  Two teams tied for first and we were one point behind them.  I had a great night and hopefully I’ll be seeing him soon. 

On the agenda for tonight, the little sister has a basketball game at 8PM, so I’ll be going home from work, getting a bike workout in, and showering up, eating dinner, and getting ready for her game. 

Giveaways today: 

  1. Crofter’s Fruit Spread by Total Fit Girl Blog
  2. Coconut Bliss (vegan ice cream) by The Actor’s Diet Blog
  3. Annie’s Fruit Snacks by Danica at Danica’s Daily
  4. Gnu Bars (my fave!) by Meg at Befitbefull

Happy Hump Day!:)

2 responses »

  1. Peanut butter syrup! I’ve never heard of that YUM! Thanks for mentioning my giveaway!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Quick Week! « Freckled Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

