RSS Feed

Bolani!

Posted on
 

 

 

HELLOOOOO flavor.  Thank you to Saleem for sending some of these flavorful, unique products my way from Bolani!  I am always up for trying something new, exciting and nutritious to entertain my tastebuds and these items definitely did the trick!  

BOLANI!

If you’re like me, you’ve never heard of Bolani…TOTALLY a shame that a lot of people are unaware of it because it’s terrific!  Basically, it is traditional Afghan flatbread, stuffed with one of these four nutritionally dense ingredients: pumpkin, spinach, lentils, or red potatoes.  It’s usually served warm, but I can tell you from experience, it’s tasty any way you eat it, warm or cold! They even use healthy, all-natural, organic ingreadients with no trans fats or preservatives!

 

Spinach Bolani

Saleem was kind enough to send me each of the Bolani flavors along with some of Bolani’s Garlic Mint Cheese, Cilantro Pesto, Sun Dried Tomato Pesto, Eggplant Pesto, Lentil Curry, and Sweet Jalapeno Jam!  There are actually flavor combinations that were recommended on the site to be eaten together, but I wanted to get a real taste for each individual product on its own.  

Top row: Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus, Eggplant Pesto, Lentil Curry, Hummus / Middle Row: Cilantro Pesto, Garlic Mint Cheese / Bottom Row: Sweet & Sour Carrot, Basil Pesto, Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto, Sweet Jalapeno

Of the Bolani, I was obsessed with the Pumpkin and Spinach!   They were hands down my favorites.   The pumpkin had a subtle sweetness to it that matched the perfection of the flaky flatbread to a T.  The Spinach had a great blend of spices, and I could taste a hint of the cilantro, but it wasn’t overpowering.  The Lentil and Potato were both tasty too, but the lentil seemed a tad dry.  Taste-wise, the potato had a great oniony blend with the potato, but was a little too starch heavy for me.  

Pumpkin Bolani

Nutritionally speaking, the Spinach, had just 103 calories per serving, with 2g of fiber, 4g of protein, and 121% of your daily vitamin A!  Each package contains about 4 servings.  In case you’re not already in awe, the PUMPKIN has got even better stats!  Just 84 calories, 2g of fiber, and 2g of protein with 224% of your daily Vitamin A!  Completely delectable. I definitely made a meal out of these babies.  The Lentil is a bit higher in calories, clocking in at 140, but also contains 7g of protein and 5g of fiber per serving, in exchange! It’s also rich in iron, calcium and folic acid! The Potato contained 124 calories, 2g of fiber, and 3g of protein.   

As far as the dips and sauces go, my two favorites were the Lentil Curry and  Sweet Jalapeno Jam!  The Lentil Curry tasted really yummy on the Spinach Bolani and was perfectly spiced with just the right amounts of red lentils and sauteed onion in the mix.  I also found myself dipping random veggies in it!  VERY versatile!  I had it on a slice of whole grain bread too for a quick snack! I’m going to be seriously depressed when my stash of the Sweet Jalapeno Jam runs out, though. 

Sweet Jalapeno.

It reminded me of this stuff that my Aunt used to get to bring to family gatherings to eat on crackers.  She topped cream cheese with it and I ALWAYS crave it.   It worked just as well with Sonoma Jack’s pepperjack cheese and this stuff!  The flavor combination was OUT OF THIS WORLD.  It’s great on chicken, too! I’m dying to try it with shrimp, now… Spicy & sweet.  It’s only got 10 calories per serving

Bolani products have REALLY impressed me.  I will definitely be ordering more of the pumpkin & spinach bolani along with the lentil curry and jalapeno jam.  PHENOM.  They would make a fun appetizer as an addition to any party platter!  Even safe for vegans! Thanks again, Saleem! You guys rock.

Everyone, be sure to check out their website where you can order their products online or find them in a WHOLE FOODS Market near you!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Sami –

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the products. Thank you for such a well-written review.

    Keep up the great work with your healthy blog!

    – Saleem

    Reply

Leave a Reply

