RSS Feed

Tribe Hummus

Posted on

A thankful shout out to Caitlin who sent me these FAVORITES from Tribe Hummus for review on the blog!

I have been an avid Tribe fan since the day I first tried the Roasted Red Pepper version from the grocery store, but now it’s hard to choose a favorite being that I’ve been introduced to three of the other varieties! 

For those of you hummus newbies out there, hummus, in a nut shell is a dip/spread created by combining pureed chickpeas, lemon, sesame tahini, oil, and spices like roasted garlic, red peppers, scallions, and dill.  Hummus is a very versatile food and tastes delish on just about ANYTHING.  Typically used for dipping veggies, but I also love it on baked potatoes, spread on a sandwich, stirred into savory oats, or mixed with my egg beaters!

[source]

It actually contains ZERO saturated fat, hydrogenated oils, and cholesterol, but is high in protein and fiber!  It is vegan friendly, dairy free, and certified kosher as well!

Tribe is my absolute favorite.  I have yet to try a lot of the flavors, but they come in 16 different varieties including: Spicy Chipotle, Horseradish, Roasted Eggplant, Classic, Garlic, Roasted Red Pepper, Cracked Chili Pepper, 40 Spices, Scallion, Dill, Zesty Lemon, Calamata Olive, Garden Vegetable, Jalapeno, French Onion, and Sun-Dried Tomato Basil.   Caitlin sent me the Original, Roasted Red Pepper, Garlic, and 40 Spices. 

I’ve got to say, there is officially a contender for Roasted Red Pepper hummus (my thought to be favorite) now that I’ve tried the 40 Spices version

The Roasted Red Pepper has a touch of sweetness to it that I’m smitten with, but the 40 Spices has an undeniable, exotic kick that made my tastebuds do a little dance make a little love 🙂 

The nutritionals on all of the hummus are fairly similar.  Varying from 40-50 calories each, 2.5-3.5g of fat, 1-2g of protein, and 1g of fiber per 2 tbsp. serving. 

I’d love to try the Sun-Dried Tomato Basil, French Onion, and Garden Vegetable!  Check online to see what grocery stores near you are carrying Tribe Hummus so you can try it for yourself!

2 responses »

  1. How spicy is the Forty Spices flavor? I know that depends on the person’s individual taste, but a customer service rep at Tribe said it’s VERY spicy. I like generally spicy food, but not overly spicy. I have moderate/normal tollerance I’d say. Is it spicy like eating pepper jack/jalapeno cheddar cheese or even hotter than that?

    A quick response would be appreciated. I bought the Forty Spice but am now thinking I should maybe exchange for the Red Pepper. I use hummus on pita crisp chips.

    Reply
  2. Does the forty spices hummus really have forty spices? I recently bought it for the first time and it’s great, but was really hoping I could read about what was actually in it.

    Would really appreciate it if someone could tell me if it actually has the whole lot of forty spices it claims. Don’t even need to know what they are, just want the truth. 🙂

    I’m following this comment so if you know please do tell me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

