RSS Feed

One Sick Puppy…

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect,”

– 1 Peter 3:15

I love this verse!  I feel like so many times, God gives us opportunities to be an example to others, but then when they confront us about our faith and where our love for Him comes from, we’re not ready with an answer.  I think it’s discouraging and frustrating when I miss a perfect chance to be a testimony to someone because my focus is not where it should be.  At the same time, I love that it tells us to “give your reason with gentleness and respect“.  I think it’s also a turn off to non-believers when faith is shoved down their throats.  I feel like the best way to show someone Christ is by example as opposed to handing out those impersonal “tracks” to strangers.  Not that I feel that those types of methods are WRONG, but not nearly as effective in my opinion.  What are your thoughts?

Anyway, I’m sorry for the lack of meal postings lately.  I’ve been sick for the past few days.  It’s just like a massive head cold.  Coughing, congestion, sneezing…you know…all the good stuff.  Monday I actually felt deaf in my right ear.  Fun times.  I’ve basically been eating sporadically throughout the day and not actual meals (other than breakfast). 

Lately, lunches have been comprised of random raw veggies such as sugar snap peas, bell peppers (yellow & orange), broccoli, carrots, cherry tomatoes, and mushrooms.  Today for my vegetable, I packed a spinach salad with mushrooms, peppers, snap peas, and carrots.  For my protein at lunch,  I’ve been packing slices of deli turkey to add to my veggies. 

[source]

Yess, that’s right.  Processed oven roasted turkey in all its glory.

Each protein & veggie lunch needs a carb to keep it company, right? Yes, I think so.  I’ve been packing Flat Out Light wraps & a Sonoma Jack’s Pepperjack cheese wedge that I mix with a packet of Splenda at lunch to create a yummy sweet cream cheese filling for my wrap.

[source]

Upon arrival home from work, I always have some kind of fruit.  Whether its an apple, peach, banana, or berries.  I ALWAYS have one before I change and jump on the bike. 

Last night after biking off about 300 calories, I made myself a snack of some Natural Banana Peanut Butter from Sunland Inc. with some baby carrots for dipping.

[source]

Oh.my.heavens. is this stuff awesome.  I can’t sing this company’s praises enough.  Seriously.  Just wait until the review 😉  Being that I’m sick, it takes a lot of flavor for me to be able to taste ANYTHING, but this stuff made me MMMMMM out loud. 

Post snackage, I got back on the bike to finish watching my online episodes of “What I Like About You”.

[source]

Such a cute show!  Amanda Bynes cracks me up on this show.  After biking, I had some more dinner from a can.

[source]

What better comfort food than chicken noodle soup when you’re sick?  It was perfect.  Yes, I ate the whole can for just 200 calories!  I actually amped it up with a 100 calorie package of broccoli slaw too.  Gotta get that veggie power for the vitamins & minerals to help me recooperate 🙂 

For dessert, I had some diet green tea with frozen raspberries, strawberries, & blueberries added from my freezer stash.  It was quite a yummy concoction if I do say so myself 🙂  The ginseng is supposed to have “healing power” so I thought maybe it would help with my cold.

And with that, I ended my night watching the Biggest Loser.

Hope you have a great hump day!

Oh yeaH!  And don’t forget to check out IGE for TWO awesome giveaways!  I’m dying to win the TOFU PRESS!

2 responses »

  1. I always thought Vince from that show was super super hot!! LOL And I eat deli meat too. 😉

    As for sharing faith, I think it is great to be really open about it and share however you can but agree that it needs to be in a respectful way. If someone feels judged or like you are forcing your beliefs on them walls will go up and it won’t be effective.

    Reply
    • I’m in total agreement about Vince!! 🙂 He is such a stud. I think on the show, what makes him even MORE attractive is his sense of humor.

      I know what you mean and I think you’re exactly right. Walls go up and from then on out, they don’t HEAR a word you’re saying…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

