RSS Feed

Tribute To Greens.

Posted on

Good morning blogosphere! 

[source]

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  In honor of the holiday, and due to my lack of time to take photos of my eats yesterday/today, I’ve decided to do a tribute post to all foods green.  I’ll apologize in advance for the sporadic postings in the next few days.  I’m leaving for Florida tonight after work, so the consistency of which you’ll hear from me is debatable. 

First and foremost, I thought it was cool that EVEN the verse of the day included GREEN!:

“The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.”- Psalm 23:1-3

Pretty cool, huh?   🙂  I thought so. 

Okay, so some of my favorite green foods include the following:

Brussel chips, green monsters, steamed broccoli, avocado, seaweed salad, cucumber, edamame, zucchini, and liquid crack aka diet mt. dew, and sugar free lime jello!

A big thanks to Angela, the creator of the GREEN MONSTER This was a huge thing for all food bloggers of the world.  She has created some AWESOME recipes branching from the original!  Here’s my fave:

IMG_7981
The beauty of a green monster.

[source]

I’m a fan of the ORIGINAL green monster.  Simple & sweet.

Ingredients:

  • 2 C. Spinach
  • 1-1.25 C. Almond Breeze
  • 1 Banana
  • Lots of ice!

Directions:

Place the ingredients into the blender in the following order: 1) spinach, 2) banana, 3) milk. The reason for this order is so the heavier ingredients weigh down the spinach and keep it from flying up around the blender and sticking to the side. Blend everything on the highest setting for 1 minute or so. Finally, add ice and blend on the ice setting. Pour into a large, fancy glass. Sit back, gulp it down, and be prepared to have endless energy!

Ange has added other things to the mix to enhance the flavors too!  She’s come up with blueberry-banana green monsters, cantaloupe-banana green monsters, pumpkin-kale-banana green monsters, and iced pineapple green monsters! She’s the MASTER 🙂 

These green monster smoothies are great for your post-workout recovery, breakfast enhancers, or snacks!  They make serious improvements to your skin & nails, too!  Once you get past the “green sludge” factor, they’re really yummy!

Once again, I’m off to Florida after work today!  Hope to catch up with you when we arrive at our destination! 🙂

3 responses »

  1. love me some GREEN protein smoothies. they are essential. have fun and safe travels! xo

    Reply
  2. Hey Guys!! Reduce your carbon foot print and Support Me in my 10 day Green Smoothie Challenge! Click on this link below for some freebies!!!
    Green smoothies are a natural way to increase your energy, lose weight, and look younger! And they’re simple and yummy to make! All you need are some fruits, veggies, and a blender. To find out how to take the FREE 3-Day Green Smoothie Mini-Course, click http://www.greensmoothiequeen.com/gogreen/0310ripplemaker and visit The Home of The Green Smoothie Queen to help spread ripples of green health!
    NAMASTE!!
    Yvonne
    http://www.yvonnebergeron.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

