RSS Feed

Quorn

Posted on

A huge thanks to Suzy and Quorn for sending me some of their premium line of all-natural, meat-free frozen foods! These meat free products are also soy-free and deliver awesome taste for one-the-go lifestyles!  They have a long shelf life due to their frozen state, too.  The protein source used in all Quorn products is called, mycoprotein, Greek for “fungi”.  Don’t let the description fool you, this mycoprotein is highly nutritious!  Check out the protein & vitamin/mineral comparison to other foods!

I think the stats speak for themselves on this protein source!  I’m an even BIGGER fan of Quorn products now!  I got to try a handful of the products including: Chick’n Cutlets, Turk’y Burgers, Turk’y Roast, and Chick’n Tenders!  There wasn’t one of these products that I didn’t like, however, just like anyone else, I definitely had my favorites. 

I think I probably could’ve eaten one of these Turk’y Burgers everyday for the rest of my life and been totally content.  Slathered with a Sonoma Jack’s pepperjack cheese wedge and plopped on a light whole wheat english muffin with a little bit of pineapple salsa….MMmM!  Deeeelish

Just 90 calories for 10g of protein, 4g of fat (.5g saturated), and 2g of fiber?!  How can you lose?! 

I also thoroughly enjoyed the Chick’n Tenders.  They are the perfect protein addition to stirfries, salads, casseroles, etc!  I love that all of the Quorn products could also be prepared using a microwave! How convenient is that?!  After microwaving for a few minutes, I tossed my Chick’n Tenders with raw coleslaw and a sauce made from melted sugar free honey + balsamic vinegar.  It was AWESOME.  It reminded me of the Asian Chicken Salad from Applebee’s!  I should’ve added some mandarin oranges to top it all off!  There’s always next time 😉

Nom, nom, nom.

Each serving was just 80 calories, 10g protein, 4g fiber, and 2g fat (.5g saturated).  It made for a quick, packable lunch for me to take along to work!

These Naked Chick’n Cutlets were exactly the same taste and texture wise as the tenders.  Just like chicken!  I tried these topped with red pepper jam and the combo was out of this world!  They are also great grilled in BBQ sauce!  Paired with a sweet potato & some steamed veggies, you’ve got yourself a balanced dinner!  I also enjoyed these for making fajitas or burritos!  All you have to do is slice them length-wise into strips, microwave, add to a Flat Out Light or La Tortilla Factory wrap with lettuce, tomato, salsa, & some greek yogurt and you’ll out-do the BEST mexican you’ve ever had! The stats were exactly the same as the tenders!

Last but not least, we’ve got the Turk’y Roast!  This product is the PERFECT option for family gatherings and holidays as a substitution for the classic “butterball turkey”.  It’s got a whopping 14g of protein packed into just 90 calories with 5g fiber and 1.5g fat (.5g saturated).  Personally, I loved it for topping salads, slicing and eating in sandwiches & pitas, or just simply shaved by itself as a protein snack!  I think my favorite was roasting it in POM juice.  You have to try it!  It reminded me of Thanksgiving with cranberry relish!  So juicy and moist!  Move over Tofurky!  This stuff is 10X better.

Now they’ve created two new products!  Southwestern Chik’n Wing (can you say HEALTHY BUFFALO CHICKEN?!) & Cranberry & Goat Cheese Chik’n Cutlet!  They also make Garlic & Herb Chik’n Cutlets, Gruyere Chik’n Cutlets, and Chick’n Nuggets!   You can find them in the freezer section at your grocery store!  Check out the store locator on their website and visit the recipe page for more creative ways to use Quorn!

Leave a Reply

