RSS Feed

Rain, Rain, Go Away…

Posted on

And don’t come back another day…

REMINDER!  Don’t forget to enter my AURORAE YOGA MAT GIVEAWAY!  Contest ends Friday!  A winner will be announced at 3PM! 🙂

I was a little depressed when I got home from work yesterday and realized that I wouldn’t be able to go on my 5 mile walk/run outside due to the crazy wind/rainstorm taking place.  I was officially strapped to the stationary bike instead, which makes life a little boring.  Plus, I didn’t get my Vitamin D from the rays.

Before I headed to the basement for my workout, I dug into a new arrival at my house!  I knew it was going to be a winner when I read “this package contains 6 apples” on the outside! How awesome is that?! Oh, and 70% less fat than other granola!

Vanilla Almond Galaxy Granola - Fruit Not Fat!

I had way too many handfuls of this. BUT it gave me lots of fuel for my 530 calorie burning bike ride!  It’s SOOOOO delish.  Better than any granola I’ve had to date.  Can’t wait to do the official review!  The only one I haven’t tried yet is the Not Sweet Vanilla.

Anyway, after watching Friends and biking, I was craving some veggies.  I wanted something simple, so I steamed some an entire bag of broccoli & cauliflower which I ate topped with mustard.  It wasn’t very photogenic, so I think this bag will suffice for a photo.

[source]

I also ate a banana & a weight watchers string cheese mashed with some fat free refried beans.  It was a mish mosh dinner, but I just went with my cravings!  Plus, I wanted to use up the last of the refried beans from the can I opened the other day.   I also took advantage of this break time to pack my lunch:

 
 

Broccoli slaw salad, egg whites, & a Light Flat Out with Sonoma Jack's cheese.

For the broccoli slaw salad, I mixed a sauce of SF syrup + low sodium soy sauce + chili powder to pour over it for flavor.  I also added some diced cucumber.  I’m officially addicted to the Light Flat Out wrap with Sonoma Jacks & Splenda.  It is sooo doughy & cream cheesy for minimal calories.  YUM.  The egg whites will probably be added to the salad.  I just have an abundance of eggs at my house right now (from the cracked stash the night of painting) and I needed to add some protein to my lunch.  I try to aim for about 300 calories for lunch (1/3 whole grains, 1/3 lean protein, 1/3 veggies).

Then back to the basement I went for some Ab ripper moves. I did 3 sets of 50 “in and outs”, 3 sets of 25 side crunches, and 3 sets of 1 minute planks.

[source]

Afterward, I showered up, did a little bit of closet organization (I was going to take a photo of before & after, but I was far too embarassed of the “before”) haha.  My Dad and I got to spend a little time together doing dishes and watching America’s Funniest Home Videos (I KNOW, totally old school).  It was nice.

Make sure you check out Heather’s Dish for your chance to win some free Greek Yogurt, this CheeCha giveaway at Apple a Day, or  Danica’s Fridge Makeover for your chance to win a $100 grocery giftcard!  Please don’t win this one, because I’d really like to! Haha.

4 responses »

  1. I am hoping to try some of that granola as well. It sure looks good. 🙂 I love your TV viewing options. Friends is my all time favorite show! And America’s Funniest is fun to watch sometimes too. Although I prefer the old school ones with Bob Saget as the host, which they don’t show anymore.

    Reply
    • Yes, definitely try it! I’ll be amazed if you don’t like it. The Vanilla is my fave so far, but the Raspberry is yummy too! We definitely have the same TV taste! 🙂 I really enjoy the good old shows too! Have you ever seen “The Wonder Years” or “Happy Days”? I used to love them! And more modern speaking, “Boy Meets World”! Now it’s all trashy reality TV it seems like!

      Reply
  2. it’s been mad windy here, too! and i woke up to a snow storm! i am not sure if i entered your giveaway yet, i will have to go do that now. i LOVE the steamfresh veggies. they are so convenient! my favorite is the one with water chestnuts. america’s funniest home vids?! hah, i forgot about that show. too bad danny tanner is not the host anymore! that is when i watched it.

    Reply
    • I know! This weather is like bipolar. It’s sunshiney and gorgeous out today! I love those veggies too. I’m way too lazy to cook up my own veggies everyday. Those puppies just pop in the micro for a few minutes and BAM, perfection. Also, did you ever try frozen peas?! They’re so gooood. And I’m with ya on the AFV. I miss Danny, aka Bob Saget. His TV name is much cooler tho 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

